We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Point Cusco

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Point Cusco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 96: English reviews
Start your review of The Point Cusco
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Came to Cusco on a mission trip and wanted to try the guinea pig and alpaca. The alpaca was absolutely incredible! The atmosphere of the restaurant was nice and it was really close to the main square.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Glassboro, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 February 2017

This is the second "The Point" hostel I stayed at while visiting Peru. It had a really relaxing, friendly vibe to it. I would definitely recommend it to any "easy-going" traveler visiting Cusco. During the day it is laid-back, while at night it is lively in the bar. The food was absolutely amazing no matter what was ordered and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hellokathandy
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Friendly smiling poeple, cleaning every day, great food, perfect service !! Many thank for 10 wonderful days 😚! All you need you will find here especally you can relax in the garden after hard Trips !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corina V
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I've been here for 2 days and it was a really bad experience. I booked in person one day before check in. When I arrived, the receptionist was so confused that she gave a bed that was already being used. I had to wait around fourty minutes to get my bed. It was an ensuited six bed room. The floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Débora A
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 29 July 2016

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights, the environment was really relaxed, very close to downtown, and a block away from a supermarket, excellent to meet new people since some of the staff are volunteering, but also the managers were helpful and friendly, it's one of the cheapest hostels around that has a bar (good for partying, probably not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pepedaniya
Adolfo C, Manager at The Point Cusco, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review, your suggestions help us improve cheers

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

As far as Peruvian hostels go (please no more complaints of losing water or bad wifi, that is just peru), the Point was fairly capably run with a friendly collection of permanent staff and volunteers. Located centrally and with a lively bar upstairs, the point is a perfect destination for backpackers looking to meet new people and soak up the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Toby W
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for 4 nights and me and my 7 mates had the best time. The beds are great and the people are all friendly. The staff are very relaxed about most of the rules (check out by 2, no bringing your own alcohol, etc). The WiFi is average but wasn't really a problem. The bar is good fun all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank connorbarbour
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

Yes this hostel is close to the city and for a decent price. But the place is very run down, wifi is terrible and often not working at all, the dorm room had no door handle or lock and therefor was continually wide open. The matresses are very old and can feel all the springs, tried to tell a staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieChick94
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

...to the point: + cheap, 25 for dorm + good location, one block from san francisco square + integrated bar with food and drinks + big garden area + good chicken soup - bar plays loud music every night!! Every night till midnight - the funk dorm, is super small and dark - no love for details. Everything seems not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oktschuss
ThePointHostelCusco, Gerente at The Point Cusco, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review. We are really sorry for the problems that you had with our staff, your comments help us to improve

Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed 1 May 2016

At a quick glance and tour of the property, it looks like a decent spot. Clean, spacious, natural light, a HUGE outdoor area in the back. Our beds were comfortable... too bad we didn't get to actually sleep. We've stayed at "party hostels" before, but they usually turn things down by 2am. Here the music, singing, loud talking (more like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sn0wgrl
ThePointHostelCusco, Gerente at The Point Cusco, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your review, your comments help us to improve

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.7 km away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#32 of 162 in Cusco
727 reviews
0.2 km away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 401 in Cusco
513 reviews
1.0 km away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#8 of 401 in Cusco
1,000 reviews
0.5 km away
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
#22 of 401 in Cusco
369 reviews
0.4 km away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 401 in Cusco
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Point Hostel Cusco is only two blocks from the city's centre. Opened in 2006, this hostel provides a fun, safe and relaxed atmosphere and makes a great starting point for your explorations of Cusco, Machu Picchu and the Sacred Valley. We can book attractions for you directly from our onsite travel center. Like all Point Hostels, you'll find our friendly staff to be some of the best in Peru. Also enjoy our restaurant, garden and loungh área. Our bar is one of the hottest nightlife spots in Cusco and after the bar closes at 1 am, our nightlife guides will take you out to the vibrant clubs and bars of Cusco. Visit us and enjoy the ultimate hostel experience! Please check out our websites for more info about our Hostel ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Point Cusco

Address: Meson de la Estrella 172, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Price Range: RM75 - RM195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Point Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Point Cusco staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Point Cusco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quieter rooms are in front or downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles hellokathandy, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the back should be quieter during the night”
 of 5 bubbles Pepedaniya, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose the 6 person dorm. The best price/ quality offer”
 of 5 bubbles nyken2015, 2 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Dont sleep in the Funky Room, ping poing table outside it where tools were playing it first thing in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Farlo9, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“when i was the they often use to have a party in bar at the frontside of the hostal, it's better to chose a room on the backyard”
 of 5 bubbles marta810, 2 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5