We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kiikii Inn & Suites

Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (13)
Pool & Beach (4)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The KiiKii Inn & Suites is locally owned and operated, lending it an intimate, comfortable feel. The KiiKii is not a five-star foreign-owned resort, which gives the place its unique charm. It’s laid-back and local, and a great place to meet people. The KiiKii Inn & Suites front yard offers one of the island’s best, most consistent breaks for surfing – and the hotel’s got an outdoor shower and a pool for post surf-session recuperating. ​ The KiKii Inn & Suites has a range rooms and prices that can accommodate students and budget travelers, but it also offers deluxe waterfront rooms from which you can watch whales breach during winter and outrigger paddling teams racing through the water throughout the year. Whether you’re backpacking on a budget or looking for a safe, family-friendly environment, you won’t be disappointed with KiiKii Inn & Suites Rarotonga.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Paid Internet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
76Reviews
51Photos
4Q+A
23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 28
  • 11
  • 8
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I was allocated a room with a sea view, relaxing to sit and watch the waves crash over the reef, i would advise asking for one of these rooms. The room itself was quite basic, cleaned daily and had all the essentials inc TV, fridge, cooking rings & microwave. The pool was great
Read more
Response from Napa N, Manager at Kiikii Inn & Suites
Responded 22 Nov 2018
Kia Orana Sean, We are very glad to hear that you loved your stay with us! As I ca read you made the most of your stay and enjoyed all the details that we've been putting in place for our guests to enjoy their holiday with us. This hotel is the oldest private accommodation on the island and it still needs some work to bring it up to date. We are improving every day so next time you will have a even more enjoyable holiday in Rarotonga! Kia Manuia (Good luck!) from all of us here at Kiikii Inn & Suites!
Read more
We had the unfortunate experience of staying in two different rooms. The first night we were woken by dogs in the rubbish bins located too close to our front door. When we awoke in the morning a rodent had been feasting on a loaf of bread we left on the bench in the kitchen.
Read more
Response from Napa N, Manager at Kiikii Inn & Suites
Responded 22 Nov 2018
Kia Orana, Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are very sad to hear that you had an awful experience during your stay here. I wonder if Reception was aware of your poor experience? We could have done many things to improve the conditions of your stay while you were still here! This hotel is the oldest private accommodation on the island and its buildings were neglected for a long time until 3 years ago when management changed and started the renovations. It is a long term plan and it is slowly coming together, that's why our rates are very affordable in comparison with the average hotel night around Rarotonga, especially for families. We have maintenance staff on site that are working every day to improve the premises. Our rates are competitive so our calendar is usually full. This is why appliances needs replacing every so often and why you saw staff walking around fixing and replacing faulty appliances. Sometimes guests brings this to our attention and we usually fix it on the spot. We bring all our white ware from New Zealand and we buy quality as well but after so much use they need replacing. Our TV's are flat screen, brand new as well. We didn't know that your TV wasn't working otherwise we would have fixed or replaced it. Also, because we are very close to the ocean and our lagoon area is very rocky, rats tend to nest in the rocks and sometimes find their way up to the property. We have a contingency plan in place to deal with this issue but every so often the odd rat can skip this. We apologize for this. We are working on bringing some technology from New Zealand to completely avoid this awful situation. We have never had a complaint about a smelly mattress before (95% of our beds are brand new) so this is something that we could have fixed for you on the spot if we would have known about this. All our beds have a waterproof mattress protector that is changed after every check out. Some of our rooms have a solar system for hot water which is, sometimes, hard to regulate. If the problem wasn't fixed then we apologize. If Reception would have known of your bad experience we could have moved you to a different room at no extra cost or compensate somehow. Regarding your experience with guests dragging sun loungers inside the rooms at night time, it is a surprise for us to hear this because we have never heard of this before! We usually host some locals coming from overseas to visit their families but we make it very clear that no visitors allowed, especially after hours. We do not do long term rentals over here and we have strict regulations for all our guests. We have never heard of this behavior before and we are grateful that you brought it to our attention so we can brief our night staff regarding this issue. As manager I wasn't aware of your situation and I apologize that I could not do anything to change your experience. We hope you can give us another chance in the near future so you can have an enjoyable experience with us. Kia Manuia (Good luck!)
Read more
The unit we had was old, the shower leaked out into the bathroom floor so got wet feet every time went to the toilet. Needs a tidy up.Then we moved into a better unit only to have a staff member keeping a chicken tired up to the fence out our back door with no room to move at
Read more
Response from Napa N, Manager at Kiikii Inn & Suites
Responded 22 Nov 2018
Kia Orana, We deeply apologize for your bad experience. This is the oldest private property on the island and we are undergoing renovations. The custom regarding chickens here in Rarotonga is that they all freely wonder around the island. If you can catch it then it is yours. We have never heard of our staff doing this and of course, never heard of them tying animals to the fences at the back of our rooms. We are going to set a protocol in place for staff not to do this anymore on site. Please in the future, if you come across an unusual event like this, please approach Reception or management staff to clarify whats happening before acting on it. Sorry if this situation offended you but it is the local custom. Kia Manuia
Read more
The best holiday. Clean, friendly, local and unpretentious. Comfy beds, great pool and right on the beach. Not a swimming beach but you can play in the waves. Whales. Good kitchen. Our 2nd visit. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Response from Napa N, Owner at Kiikii Inn & Suites
Responded 20 Sep 2018
Kia Orana, Many thanks for reviewing us online. We really appreciate your awesome experience at Kiikii Inn & Suites. We hope to be even better when you visit us next time. Kia Manuia
Read more
Stayed here for a week during August. Absolutely loved it here, the location was great. The staff were friendly, and Hayley at reception was able to find us a car to hire, and also managed to organise 6 fresh flower head eis for us all, at the very last moment! Thank you Kiikii.
Read more
Response from Napa N, Manager at Kiikii Inn & Suites
Responded 22 Nov 2018
Kia Orana, Many thanks for such a happy review! We are glad that you loved your stay here with us. We ensure that our staff does their utmost when it comes to serving our guests. Please email us when you come back so we can give you a special! Meitaki Ma'ata and Kia Manuia
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & Beach
Deluxe ocean-view room
KiiKii deck & seaview
Room 17
from our balcony
shower commode
PreviousNext
123
Ring KiiKii they have a service, the airport pretty much only has one flight come in at a time so all hotel/resorts have people outside to escort you. You can book a transfer with KiiKii
1 vote
Does the Kiikii Inn offer breakfast?
Kia Orana, The Kiikii doesn't offer breakfast for now but it will very soon. Also there is a 24 hours mini market/ATM/gas station/Takeaway Shop at 5 - 7 mins walk away, turning right. The rooms have tea/coffee facilities and you can get everything else from SuperBrown store.
0 votes
Show all answers
Sorry for the delay. The hotel organised pick up and drop off to/from the airport
2 votes
Does this Motel have any type of internet?
No...but you can purchase a WIFI card from Telecom which works at the KiiKii - or Telecom has internet/computers available at both offices in Rarotonga... Bon Voyage Dennis
0 votes
Show all answers
"Sea view room"
"Don't go there"
"Value for your money; lower level is better than upper level."
"Both cottages are the same!"
"Stay elsewhere"
PreviousNext
12345
PRICE RANGE
US$63 - US$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kiikii hotel avarua
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsRarotongaAvarua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing