We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Resort

Booking.comUS$184*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

623 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 613: English reviews
Start your review of Sunset Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We recently traveled to the Cook Islands for the first time and absolutely fell in love. The resort is very nice with one of the best snorkeling spots on the island. The rooms are quite large and come with a kitchenette. We didn't really use the kitchen besides the fridge for our drinks but is a very nice option. Beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tatartot1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The place is our go to for complete R & R, the warmth, the pools, the comfortable rooms, The superb snorkeling ( I think better than the eastern side of Raro) We eat well, we sleep and we read. We always come home relaxed. This last trip was our third and we will be going again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
Simi Valley, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from our trip to Raro and to say it was amazing would be an understatement. Sunset resort was beautiful, the grounds are so nicely kept and the rooms were perfect. We stayed in a garden room (room 11) but our friends had the beach front studios and they were not disappointed. Our room was lovely, the kitchen came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie P
Tim C, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We believe our resort offers guests a little piece of Paradise and a chance to re-connect. We dont have a night club but its an easy drive into town for those who would like a lively night life scene. We do have 4 nights of restaurant...

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had read good things about this property before we went our selves. We were not disappointed. The rooms look like the pictures posted. The A/C was perfect,the beds were very comfortable. Very quiet most of the time,there was one small loud group in this 37 room villa.We were right on the pool area.With no kids it was pretty quiet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KcirtapNosnibor
Tim C, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Its great to read that you feel the resort self rating at a 3.5 star is under rated :-) we aim to under promise and over deliver for our guests. You did make mention of daily tropical breakfast which is complimentary in our room rates. I do hope...

West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went with another couple for 5 days. Each of us booked a sea side room which definitely made the holiday. The property is very well maintained. The Units have kitchens which was a bonus however we only used the fridges. There are two pools and were refreshing. The best snorkelling on The island is right in front of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tl5070
Tim C, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia orana Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The resort was at over 85% occupancy the week you were with us so its nice to read you felt you had the beach almost to your self. We often get comments on the good snorkelling available in front of the resort so its great that you had...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a group of four couples celebrating a 70th birthday. This was our third stay at Sunset Resort. This time we spent a lot of our time at the resort, swimming in the pools or snorkelling from their beautiful waterfront. There is shade, Cape Cod chairs, loungers and hammocks on the beachfront. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are pleased to read that you decided to have a 70th Birthday celebration while us staying at the Sunset Resort. We love it when our guests return. Please make sure you are signed up to get our quarter newsletter so we can keep you updated on things happening...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here during Easter traveling with 1 other couple. We had a poolside 2 bedroom place on the upper level. The resort is about 5 mins drive from Rarotonga airport. We hired a car which was cost friendly and easier to get around with 4 people. The resort is located in a convenient place as well. It's about 10...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RegNZ
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Lovely spot for a relaxing holiday. Our ground floor, poolside room was lovely and spacious. Complete with kitchenette, this room offered all the amenities you need on holiday. Sliding doors opened out to the pool area, very handy after a dip in the pool, and the patio area was nice to relax in with a cold beer. The happy hour...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georgina F
Tauranga
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Took a 5 night package via hello world. Good pick up at airport and shown to room 28 which was good except for the road noise. Breakfast included which was pretty basic as expected,messy way of displaying food with glad wrap attempting to cover food. Not sure if same applies to all raro but only 1 TV channel with very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimmoTauranga
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Cook Island TV can be limiting if you are used to the availably of satellite channels but as you mentioned most of our guest are out doors enjoying the island or down load shows prior to coming on their holidays. We do offer a large selection DVD's for...

Reviewed 9 April 2017

My friend and I got a deal through Costco travel. We booked our rooms at Sunset resort for a good deal with air!! Our room came with a king size bed but we unzipped the middle and separated into 2 twin beds which worked out great! It had a full kitchen! Came with a refrigerator, microwave, dishes, etc.... The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Koy S

415 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (409)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (146)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
11.2 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
11.2 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.1 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
11.2 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.4 km away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Arorangi
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunset Resort is a 3.5 star property and is idyllically situated on the sheltered western side of the island only minutes from Avarua township. The secluded beachfront location provides guests with an unspoilt view of Rarotonga's crystal clear aqua blue lagoon and breathtaking sunsets. This personally managed, privately owned resort has an intimate atmosphere that will make every guest feel welcome and ensure they experience the magic of Rarotonga and its people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Resort

Address: Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range: RM853 - RM1,257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Resort Rarotonga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Resort staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea View suites, but all the suites are good and all have kitchens.”
784alans, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“The beachfront Studios are worth the extra money, you cant beat the location.”
solotraveler, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“I visited several rooms of friends made during our stay. For view an ocean view,for quiet left side of pool facing the property from road.”
KcirtapNosnibor, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“We have always been happy with a second floor poolside room. Very private.”
775gailc, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Go for the Oceanview rooms if you can afford it, they are single level, step out onto the grass then down to the beach.”
  • Poolside room as viewed from the sliding doors to the pool
, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$184* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$187
PricelineUS$187
Hotwire.comUS$187
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates