We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Club Raro Resort

Save
Share
483 Avarua Rarotonga Tupapa Ara Tapu Road, Avarua 0000 Cook Islands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (411)
Pool & Beach (87)
Room & Suite (67)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 20/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Club Raro Resort
Updated 20/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Avarua
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on the Northern Coast of Rarotonga, Club Raro Resort sits on the edge of the Pacific Ocean with spectacular views out to the reef break and beyond. Club Raro Resort is located a short 10-minute drive from Rarotonga International Airport, and just a 5-minute drive from downtown Avarua. We have a selection of room types that will match your needs. From Garden and Poolside family rooms to Adults Only Ocean View rooms and self catering options, we have something for very traveller. Club Raro has one of only two swim-up bars on the island. Our team at RUMBA bar can serve you everything from our local Cooks Lager to your favourite cocktail or glass of wine. Palms Restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Come and join us at Club Raro Resort, where you will arrive as a guest and leave as a friend.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Kids pool
Street parking
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Aerobics offsite
Billiards
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Car hire
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
359Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 131
  • 79
  • 40
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Steve wrote a review Mar 2020
North Sydney, Australia10 contributions
Very tired hotel. They have stopped serving cooked breakfast even though we paid for it. We showed them the booking with breakfast. They were totally disinterested. Staff were general welcoming. On our arrival, at 7am we were told the room would not be available until 2pm.. They didn't offer a payment to get in early although the room was empty. On that first day we decided to have breakfast ( which we had to pay for) and cost us $52 ($26.00 each ) for the continental breakfast which consisted of toast or weetbix and a few homemade buns. It's cheaper at the Sheraton. Very disappointed. Would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from ClubRaroSalesM, Guest Relations Manager at Club Raro Resort
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Kia Orana Steve, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is very important to us. It is however, disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please be assured we have passed on all your feedback to all relevant departments to be reviewed further. While we understand you would not stay with us again, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us on your most recent trip to Rarotonga. Kia Manuia, The team at Club Raro Resort
Read more
DL2Some wrote a review Mar 2020
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota843 contributions260 helpful votes
We stayed here for three weeks while volunteering on the Island. Our room was in an older part of the resort and could benefit from some updating. Having said that, the food was good and the staff were amazing - helpful, friendly and warm. Located on the north side of the island, it was wonderful to sit on the edge of the ocean and lap up- the sea breeze.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from ClubRaroSalesM, Guest Relations Manager at Club Raro Resort
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Kia Orana DL2Some, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is important to us. It is so lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it was an absolute pleasure having you. We are indeed in a great location on the island where our guests can enjoy the beautiful view of the ocean. And that sea breeze is wonderful on a hot day! It is also wonderful to hear our staff were able to help make your stay that much better. They all do an amazing job and we are very proud of them. We have passed on your feedback regarding the condition of the resort, however we are happy to advise our maintenance team are hard at work renovating all our rooms and we would love for you to come back to see all the improvements. Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were here doing some amazing work in Rarotonga. We thoroughly enjoyed having all the volunteers stay at our little slice of paradise. Kia Manuia, The team at Club Raro Resort
Read more
CMelissa wrote a review Mar 2020
Vancouver, Canada144 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful views overlooking the ocean and lovely pool to cool off after a hot day exploring the island. Excellent customer service and very friendly staff. Good food at the restaurant, which can also be ordered to dine on the patio overlooking the ocean- highly recommended to enjoy at sunset! Beach is not very swimmable, but you can rent free snorkel gear, towels etc and explore any of the other close by beaches. Rooms are basic but very functional. Car rental and tour booking services on site. Would definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from ClubRaroSalesM, Guest Relations Manager at Club Raro Resort
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Kia Orana CMelissa7, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such lovely feedback, it is very important to us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were able to help facilitate that. They work very hard and we are so proud of them. We couldn't agree more, we are in a fantastic spot on the island with exceptional views of the ocean. The perfect spot to relax while enjoying a beautiful meal created by our amazing team in the kitchen. Please rest assured we have passed on your feedback to all relevant departments. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we would love to see you again in the future. Kia Manuia, The team at Club Raro Resort
Read more
noa723 wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto29 contributions3 helpful votes
This is a basic motel, on a less desirable beach as it's rocky and has a concrete deck overlooking the ocean, which is ok as far as looking at the ocean, but not a very natural entrance to the ocean. The motel was somewhat tired. Would go back to another location next time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: ocean front rooms best but you pay a premium
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from ClubRaroSalesM, Guest Relations Manager at Club Raro Resort
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Kia Orana noa723, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is very important to us. We are in a great little spot on the island with an excellent ocean view, however we are on a coral beach and can be quite rocky. Please be assured we have passed on your feedback regarding the condition of the resort to our maintenance department, however we are happy to say we have recently started some renovations around the resort which we are all very excited about. Thank you for staying with us and while we understand you would choose to stay somewhere else on your next trip to Rarotonga, we would love the opportunity to see you again and show the improvements we are making. Kia Manuia, The team at Club Raro Resort
Read more
257Neryl wrote a review Feb 2020
Newcastle, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
We up graded to the Tamure Rooms they were very nice . Yes the pool is a little sad but the beach and sunsets were amazing. We enjoyed our stay very much great place at a great price . The cocktails at the swim up bar were great and all the night meals we purchased there were really good.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from ClubRaroSalesM, Guest Relations Manager at Club Raro Resort
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Kia Orana 257Neryl, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is very important to us. It is so lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our gorgeous Tamure Rooms. It is also wonderful to hear you were able to enjoy our scrumptious cocktails at our swim-up bar. It is the perfect place to spend an afternoon in the heat! Our bar staff do a wonderful job mixing up tasty treats for our guests to enjoy. Likewise, our chefs do an amazing job creating delicious meals for our guest and please be assured we have passed on your feedback to all bar and kitchen staff. Thank you for choosing Club Raro and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. When you return, please email returnees@clubraro.co.ck so we can put together a deal for you. Kia Manuia, The team at Club Raro Resort
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
club raro hotel avarua, raro hotel avarua, raro resort avarua
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsRarotongaAvarua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Club Raro Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Club Raro Resort?
Nearby attractions include Tik-e Tours (7.9 km), Titikaveka Beach (7.6 km), and Te Rua Manga (The Needle) (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Club Raro Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Club Raro Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Club Raro Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Club Raro Resort?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Club Raro Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Mooring Fish Cafe Rarotonga, Antipodes, and Tuoro Tapas Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Club Raro Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Club Raro Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Club Raro Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Club Raro Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Club Raro Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wreck of the Matai (2.2 km).
Does Club Raro Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.