We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tropic of Capricorn

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$29*
US$15*
Great Deal
US$29*
US$29*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 340: English reviews
Start your review of Tropic of Capricorn
 Click to rate
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is conveniently located at the main backpacker stretch at Waialoaloa beach. We had booked a quiet twin room, but the room was a double room and very noisy out to the beach front where all the restos are, and a wedding was going on next door. The Management did all they could to provide us with an adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlueVoluntours
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I’ve found an oasis on the main island of Fiji near NADI International Airport. It’s called the Tropic of Capricorn (TOC) where I was greeted with the most warm Fijian smiles and their promising ‘can do’ spirit. The first warm hospitality individual I met was Akeneta Masiyasa. I was nearly a week later than scheduled and there were several other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ríchard S
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived from Samoa and booked this Hotel for our 8 hours layover in Nadi. The free Hotel shuttle was not at the airport to pick us up, even though I got in contact just before the departure in Samoa to arrange the "free shuttle". We ended up taking and paying for a taxi after looking and waiting for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andi B
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. The room we were given looked like a prison with no windows and had a very bad smell (room 103). We booked the "budget room" according to the pictures and the description for that room category. We found out later that they were taken from the sister hotel next door and the reality does...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2sunflower
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

My room at tropic of Capricorn had bedbugs. So I chose to get out of there asap. There was no apology from management, nor was there compensation. But, my main concern here is to make other travelers alert of the bedbug issue. My advice is, go for a hotel with top rating instead, it is actually worth the extra money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Smithzonian
the_fiji_islander, Guest Relations Manager at Tropic of Capricorn, responded to this review

Bula bula, Thank you for the feedback. Our staff are absolutely apologetic and concerned about this issue. Our specialist has investigated the situation and although he was unable to spot any bugs, the room has been 100% sorted. Like all good tropical properties, our Housekeep Team employs a powerful range of preventative measures to avoid and remove bugs. Travellers can...

Monte Verde, MG
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room 103 was incredibly mouldy and honestly, unacceptable. We asked to change rooms but "all other rooms were booked". I have a strong mould allergy, and I had one of the worst nights of my life. The staff and food were great though. Its a simple place (its cheap so I didnt expect luxury), but the mould was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janamaia
the_fiji_islander, Guest Relations Manager at Tropic of Capricorn, responded to this review

Bula bula, Thanks for the feedback! We have shared your review with our housekeep team and investigated the comments with our Management. You are right! Room 103 has quite suddenly developed some mould spots on extreme surfaces. It seems we have a mysterious small drip coming from above the ceiling. Sincere apologies for the situation, and that we were too...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in an ocean view double for 6 nights, because it was only $80fjd a night. Crazy cheap! The room was small, but comfortable, good aircon powerful shower and aaaaamazing sunset views. The hotel has a pool, but we didn't use it as it's right on the beach, lots of sun beds, hammocks and bean bags making it all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gem M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 7 nights and i could of stayed longer! The hotel itself, especially for the low price, was brilliant. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, air conditioning (which was needed!) good food and was on the beach. But for me its the staff that made it such a good stay. From the first moment you get there they are friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have absolutely nothing but positive things to say about this hotel! From the moment we arrived we were greeted with open arms by all members of staff. Our room was just what we asked for absolutely no complaints, the hotel offers 2 swimming pools plus the beach is at the back of the hotel with amazing sunset views. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh A
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Tropics is an amazing hotel/hostel. The food is very good, all the rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It is only a few bucks more expensive than bamboo but absolutely worth it. It's the place to be in Nadi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eins1zwei2

385 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Other (81)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (198)
Viewed
8-Bed Dormitory (15)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Beach (29)
Viewed
Beachfront Deluxe Room (40)
Viewed
Superior Beachfront Room (31)
Viewed
Swimming Pool (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.0 km away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.1 km away
Aquarius On The Beach
3.3 km away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#11 of 26 in Nadi
175 reviews
1.6 km away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
1.5 km away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#10 of 26 in Nadi
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Catering for budget minded travellers, Tropic of Capricorn offers beachfront bliss, seamless island connections, easy airport transfer, free WiFi and spectacular sunsets. The location provides 180 degree ocean views spanning Denarau Marina, Mamanuca Islands, Yasawa Islands and the Sleeping Giant Mountain. We have a great selection of rooms, featuring Budget Doubles and Oceanfront Privates. All accommodation includes hot showers, comfy beds and air conditioning. All guests are welcome to enjoy the large breezy lounge, cocktail bar, swimming pool, beach deck and beachside sun loungers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropic of Capricorn

Address: 11 Wasawasa Rd | Newtown Beach, Nadi, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Price Range: RM74 - RM193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic of Capricorn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Tropic of Capricorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Of Capricorn Hotel Nadi
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropic of Capricorn staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Ludwigsburg, Germany
6 days ago
7 months ago
Amman, Jordan
over a year ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Tropic of Capricorn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Articulate your dream in your chat w/pro receptionist. Ask to tour what's available & what's coming available! You may be surprised! :-)”
45r_chards, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try elsewhere”
Yukonvic, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Garden views down floor and the sea view”
singhshaneel86, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Spring for the ocean view room. It's not THAT expensive, and why stay at a beach hotel and not see the ocean?”
not2bestopped, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms offer real sea view but little space”
simonne_13, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$15* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$29
Hotels.comUS$29
TripAdvisorUS$15
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates