We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 118: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff here are really welcoming and helpful, our room in the budget accommodation was great, better than many at other resorts, Showers are hot and bed was comfy, We found the restaurant a bit pricey, but the coconut muffins are awesome! Would recommend this place to anyone who need to get away from the bustling city and beach scene

Helpful?
Thank Thedukeofjim
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for you review – we are delighted you enjoyed you stay with us. We are blessed with our great staff who – in true Fijian style – make our guests fell welcome. I understand what you are saying about the restaurant prices – unfortunately hotel taxes are very high and so we are unable to match prices in... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had such a relaxing two days staying at the eco lodge. Brian and Val were extremely hospitable and answered any questions we had on the walks around the park. We stayed in a budget room with a view of the lake which was perfect for us. The lake is really beautiful and you can even take kayaks out onto... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe P
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are so please you enjoyed your stay with us – it means we and our staff are doing our job properly! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in Fiji and hope you come back and see us one day. More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful location , stayed room 19 budget. View was beautiful..problem with mosquitoes bit that was fixed with electric mosquito thing you put in wall from front desk. Bathrooms were good. Rooms had thin walls ..can hear neighbors. Other complaint is staff would hang out by budget rooms to smoke which I wish they did elsewhere since I hate smoking. Easy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neerjamd
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and apologise for the staff smoking in that area – this is against company policy so we are very glad you have brought this to our attention. Our restaurant – unfortunately – is subject to hotel taxes which are far higher than standard restaurants have to pay –... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros: Well, the location is beautiful, the bungalow spacious and the views from the porch really nice. The setting of the restaurant is nice as well. Cons: the place is totally run-down. Mould everywhere, smelly sheets, pillows, mattress. I actually put a towel onto the pillow because the smell was unbearable. The bathroom had never been renovated in its entire... More 

Helpful?
Thank OneWorld22
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not have a pleasant experience and we do ask guests to bring issues to our attention so we can deal with them at the time. Yes, we do have problems with mould which are not due to cleanliness but to the climate we are situated in and the buildings all being made of timber. We... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our three night stay but it was possibly too long. The restaurant was good with excellent food. Happy hour was disappointing due to the lack of other guests. We have been to other small resorts and the owners have made this a real feature - not sure why it wasn't the same here. Local staff were helpful and... More 

Helpful?
Thank NZRed
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and were happy with our restaurant. I am sorry you were disappointed with Happy Hour – to us, with Fiji's strict drink driving laws, this means Happy Hour is mainly discounted prices at the bar for in-house guest, so do get some outsiders, but not many. We... More 

Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Very cozy! Exactly what I was looking for! Unfortunately the pool was not open. The pool area might be used in Summer with a bar, it must be very nice. Not in town but not far from it. You can take buses or taxi. Free wifi was a life-saver! The restaurant is very beautiful, all with wooden walls with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank OlavoGasp
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I apologise for the pool not being open, there was a problem with the pump one morning – unfortunately these things happen – usually at the most inconvenient time! Our restaurant is indeed very popular and as for the free WiFi we firmly believe that this... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

the Australian couple running this wonderful place create a most hospitable and friendly place where one can just 'hang out'. the staff are really friendly and even though we had a fair bit of rain there (well it is in the rainforest :) ) we just enjoyed relaxing, playing board games and going for walks.

Helpful?
Thank Kerts
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Kertz – we are delighted you enjoyed your time here and had the opportunity to relax which is often what we all need when travelling. For us the best part of the job is meeting our guests and our wonderful staff feel the same. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in Fiji. More 

Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

I was looking for a place to stay while catching up with friends in Suva, and this was recommended. What a lovely retreat from the chaos in Suva. My friends were each able to share a meal on the deck overlooking the lake. I had a lovely studio room, with en suite, and private court yard. There is a pool,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ozziegiraffe
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your valuable input. We do have a problem in that there are limitations to how much information we can enter in the room descriptions on booking sites and we are unable to add the description ‘limited disable access’ – usually it is ‘tick the box’ style entry. After reading your review we will definitely have... More 

Darwin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Very Quite and peaceful place to go and relax, Just Perfect, Would love to go back. Love the National Park and Waterfalls, Can feel and smell the freshness of nature. To easy to make online booking. very safe for families with children.

Helpful?
Thank Di S
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us – a little haven just a short distance away from the hustle and bustle of Suva. We hope we have the opportunity to come back one day. More 

Wallis and Futuna
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Excellent journey and accomodation. Veri nice and helpful people. I've been got in touch with a forest agent for guiding me on birding tours as the guides were not available at that period. Many thanks to Vido and to everybody at Colo-i-Suva Rainforest Eco Resort.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yvesmicheld2016
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to organise a bird watch walk while you were here. More 

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
10.0 km away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 11 in Suva
376 reviews
9.8 km away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 11 in Suva
421 reviews
9.1 km away
Quest Apartments-Suva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
9.6 km away
Peninsula International Hotel
114.1 km away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort (previously known as Raintree Lodge) offers world-class accommodation, food and atmosphere on the edge of a waterfall-filled rainforest just 15 minutes north of Suva CBD, Fiji's bustling capital city. Guests may choose from a range of accommodations that cater to independent travelers, couples, groups and Bird watchers -- tucked on the edge of lush foliage that buzzes with exotic birdlife. The Rainforest Eco Resort is ideally situated for seeing the Fiji's unique endemic birds. All but 2 of Viti Levu's endemic birds are found within a few kms of our resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort

Address: Princes Road | P 0 Box CS001, Colo-I-Suva, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raintree Lodge)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Price Range: RM125 - RM192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we stayed in a room that looked over the lagoon/lake”
 of 5 bubbles Kerts, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best View ever”
 of 5 bubbles 99dis, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Acknowledging the commendable eco-theme and intent of the resort, we suggest adding just a little more space around the vanity sink in the bathroom (specifically Bure 7). Thank you. ”
 of 5 bubbles deonnadi, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I have only stayed in a room on the lower floor of the budget lodge & then on one on the upper rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles catann50560, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you want a room with a shared bathroom, ask for a room with a pond view. Lots of birds!”
  • The resort is awesome. This is the view of the pond from our room deck.
 of 5 bubbles Ginger0110, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay