We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Downtown Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Downtown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Downtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 99: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I have stayed in the hotel for two weeks and everything was very good. English speaking staff, and all of them are very nice. The breakfast is very good too. Definitely recommend for those who come to Sofia.

Helpful?
Thank Armando Z
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Clean and comfortable rooms; reliable wi-fi; polite, friendly and helpful staff, competent in fluent english; rich breakfast; convenient for the market; pretty close to lots of sightseeing and nice restaurants and bars. Reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Evi788
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I'm not in the habit of running my fingers along shelves, ledges and picture frames, like a mother-in-law eager to find fault, and then exclaiming at the dust, but it was so obvious in my room at this hotel that I could only surmise that all the cleaners are blind. Weeks of dead flies and dust on light fittings stare... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank abager
LubomirParmakov, General Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for coming at the Downtown hotel. We are extremely sorry that your stay wasn’t as pleasant as the first time that you were here, according to your words. However we couldn’t find any record of your name in our files. Our staff did everything in their power to make you feel more comfortable by offering you... More 

New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Good find for Sofia. Central location with many attractions and shopping within walking distance. Very friendly staff with about 90% fully understanding English. Large room that was well decorated and just felt nice with a good view. Bathroom was well equipped. The air conditioning did not work in the room but that is expected of Europe in Summer. The window... More 

Helpful?
Thank samwil212
GretaZGergova, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for reviewing us! We are truly pleased that you appreciated our attention to detail. We always try to stand out. For your next visit please be kindly reminded that whenever you have an issue with the room or service, you can always ask for assistance at the Reception desk. Our staff will make sure to help... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The staff were able to speak and understand English very well. The rooms were large, well serviced, and the breakfast bar was amazing! The hotel staff were extremely helpful, and the central location of the hotel meant that we were able to walk to most places. The museums and attractions were within easy taxi range. An excellent Hotel, and I... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John A
GretaZGergova, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for the excellent review! As it has been said before the most important thing in the hospitality business is location, location, location ... We are glad that you have appreciated ours. Looking forward to welcoming you again. More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was in Sofia for business. The Hotel was located to reach everything in the Centre of the town walking. The room was big, clean and well equiped. The staff was friendly and we got very good recommondation of Restaurants off the beaten track. If I need to go to Sofia again, I would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Karl-Heinz E
GretaZGergova, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Winning a returning guest is the best reward for any hotel. So thank you for the great review and looking forward to welcome you back. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This central four star hotel has a touch of the Grand Budapest Hotel, miniaturised. Beautiful stained glass ceiling in the lobby, a tiny lift, rooms with wallpaper and comfortable, solid furniture, clean, a good bathroom w bath, hot hot water. Staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is standard for this part of the world, generous with cold and hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lailaf62
GretaZGergova, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We were thrilled by your lovely and out-of-the-box review! The comparison to the featured hotel in the movie made us smile. It would please us very much if each of our guests enjoy the classic, old feel style. What made us even happier is that you managed to catch the spirit of our beautiful capital. We hope that... More 

Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have been in a business trip for two nights in this hotel. The room was a regular one, clean and with a good bathroom. The personnel at reception was polite and fast, and very collaborative. The ratio price quality was good enough.

Helpful?
Thank RobyRamone
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Arrived at the hotel having booked a room in advance. Was told that the tour operator had overbooked and there was no room for me. They said that the tour operator should have told me. They then said that they will take me to a hotel that was 10 minutes walk. I was in the car for 20 minutes to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RadioT8
NeliHTsonova, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, First of all we are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused. Please understand that situation like this is extremely unpleasant for both sides. We do believe that the tour operator should have informed you about your relocation in a timely manner, so that you could make your decision whether to keep you reservation or not. We went the... More 

Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Clean, spacious and comfortable. It would be perfect if there was a mix of pillows, all 4 were hard and not very thick. A soft fluffy pillow would have been wonderful. Even though there was a reasonable choice of TV channels I struggled to find anything other than sport or news in English. The breakfast is adequate but is mostly... More 

Helpful?
Thank awayalot Z
GretaZGergova, Public Relations Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive and detailed review. We are truly sorry that the sleep quality did not meet your expectations. Next time you are staying with us, please do not hesitate to ask our team for anyting you feel is lacking from you room or breakfast. More 

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Central Park Hotel
#11 of 128 in Sofia
255 reviews
Oborishte
BEST WESTERN Art Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spend the day absorbing all the vibrant culture, exclusive shopping and distinctive cafés that the capital has to offer, then return to the deluxe hospitality of the 4-star hotel Downtown, Sofia, Bulgaria.Located in the Sofia city centre the boutique hotel is within walking distance from the major financial institutions, historical sites and tourist attractions, in close proximity to the National Palace of Culture.Sofia International Airport as well as the Central Bus & Rail Stations are 15 minutes drive.Known for its unique architecture, elegant interior and attentive service, this luxurious 9-storey building combines home-style coziness and a peaceful atmosphere.Hotel Downtown comprises of 59 stylish rooms and suites with intimate atmosphere, all of them elegantly appointed and offering a comprehensive range of facilities: soundproof windows, working area, free high-speed Wi-Fi internet, individually controlled air conditioning, in-room safe, satellite/pay TV, minibar. En-suite bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer, telephone and extended choice of bathroom amenities, bathrobe and slippers are available to the guests.Restaurant seating 45 guests, lobby bar, 24-hour room service, 2 conference rooms, business centre, minibus transportation from/to Sofia Airport, non-smoking floors, laundry, pressing and dry cleaning, free of charge car parking complete the guests’ pleasant stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Downtown Hotel

Address: Stadion Vasil Levski 27, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Price Range: RM303 - RM687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Sofia
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sofia
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Downtown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were upgraded to a superiour double room at no extra cost”
 of 5 bubbles Peter20144, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on 6th floor in a corner "apartment" room. I think this is the best option for views and to avoid road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles gillcatling, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Better on higher level to avoid water and toilets water noise from other levels...”
 of 5 bubbles Sarthe1973, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Take a duster with you!”
 of 5 bubbles abager, 15 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Prices are very reasonable, so splash out on an upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles A5836PUjohna, 16 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay