We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Ave. Omar Torrijos Herrera Clayton Clayton, Panama Canal, Panama City 7336 Panama
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$79
View deal
Vio.com
US$64
View deal
HolidayInn.comUS$79
Booking.comUS$79
Lol.travelUS$85
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (205)
Room & Suite (144)
Dining (61)

About

#42 of 135 hotels in Panama City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Panama Canal. Enjoy a relaxing visit to Panama City, located on one of the wonders of the world, the Panama Canal. Its exceptional location in front of the Miraflores Locks, its proximity to major shopping center in Panama, Albrook Mall, proximity to ecological attractions and golf courses, easy access to the Tocumen International Airport, makes our hotel the perfect option to combine business, shopping and ecotourism.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
976Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 406
  • 349
  • 151
  • 38
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
arini965692 wrote a review Oct 2022
New York City, New York1 contribution
Nice place. Good food. Rooms very big and clean. Very close (walking distance) to the Ciudad del Saber and all the UN offices. Convenient if you want to visit el canal. Downtown at 10 minutes drive. Airport only 30 minutes. Strongly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bill K wrote a review Oct 2022
4 contributions5 helpful votes
Clean rooms, Spacious area to work in lobby area, breakfast variety and quality is very good. Only issue was at check in - it seemed very confusing when making reservation on the IHG website - and notification of the confirmation was not received at the front desk. Actually happened 2x - so I recommend calling front desk and not using IHG website until they figure the timing out.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Do not use IHG website using points. Check in will take at least an hour before they verify...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Panthera2013 wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom99 contributions91 helpful votes
We stayed over two different weeks, for a total of 6 nights at this hotel. We had chosen the hotel because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and completely agree with these reviews. The hotel is well located for the canal, overlooks it and has stunning gardens. The 5 and 6 floor rooms that are canal facing have amazing views where from your bed you can watch the ships go by. The Miraflores locks are just opposite the hotel, a 5 minute taxi ride and 20 minute walk (open from 08.00-18.00). The hotel restaurant is very good with buffets and Ala-carte to choose from. We ate here 4 times and enjoyed the meals each time. The staff at reception and in the restaurant are very friendly and helpful. Leonela and Rey at reception were especially helpful with information about the area. Our only negative with the hotel is that they only have arrangements for taxi transport with private companies that are expensive while they could make an effort to have a couple of local taxis (yellow cabs) that are trustworthy and cheap. The room prices were reasonable and the rooms (double or king beds) are spacious and clean. There is a fridge, coffee machine, hair dryer and iron in the room. We loved our stay here and would stay here again if we visited Panama again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The canal facing rooms from the 5 or 6 floor are great but may be a bit noisy due to the road and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catia Thomas, Propietario at Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Responded 28 Sep 2022
Dear Pantera 2013 Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us we will shear your feedback with the staff. It's something they takes great pride in, so we value your comments and recomendations, .We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Catia Thomas General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Greg T wrote a review Sep 2022
Plainsboro, New Jersey215 contributions103 helpful votes
+1
Positives- —Very friendly Front Desk Staff —Daily maid service (a rarity in USA nowadays) —Great water pressure —Plentiful hot water (although the markings on the shower control was reverse) —Great A/C — Kehrig coffee maker (and four pods) in the room —You have to get a canal view room - it’s worth it!!! You see ship traffic 24/7. There are large trees in front of the hotel. Try and get a room on floor four and above. Anything less and you’ll see virtually nothing. —The breakfast buffet is good and has varied items. Negatives- —The hotel is out in the middle of nowhere. There is one restaurant in the building next door. Other than that, no other places to eat or shop without driving there. —My bed was a bit caved in the middle (it needed replacement). —Despite what some of the reviews say, the Miraflores Visitors Center is NOT within walking distance. It is visible from the hotel and not that far away (as the crow flies), but we humans walk (and don’t fly) and you have to walk way down the highway, then cross over the highway and a bridge thing, then back up a long service road. And there is no sidewalk half the way. It would easily take an average person 45 minutes to do this. —The hotel shuttle to the canal visitors center only runs at 10:30a. First, it should run more often. But assuming that they can only run one shuttle a day, 10:30a is the worst time because you get there at the very end of the morning ship traffic and miss almost “everything” (they run only one direction of ships in the locks every four hours or so, wait a couple hours, then switch directions). We took the shuttle and missed most of the ship action. Then took a taxi back to the hotel (they’ll want $8, but you can bargain down to $6). Then we took a taxi back to the visitors center at 1:30p and saw 6-7 ships, including four Panamax. —There are no hooks in the bathroom Summary- I would definitely stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Get a canal facing room!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catia Thomas, Propietario at Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Responded 28 Sep 2022
Dear GSTgst Thank you for your review, for us is a plasure you had injoid your stay. We will be looking out at each sugestion you had inform on your review Willing to have you at your home Holiday Inn Panama Canal Best regards, Catia Thomas General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joana P wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
The hotel is very nice. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms is complete. Bring plug adapters if traveling from abroad. Nice sheets and tools. The breakfast is really good and employees were very friendly. Location is also very convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the front and at a top level, so you can see the ships through the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catia Thomas, Propietario at Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Responded 28 Sep 2022
Dear j9947JIjoanap We apreciate you review, happy you had enjoy your stay willing yo visit us soon Best Regards Catia Thomas General Mananger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
suroginie wrote a review Aug 2022
Geneva, Switzerland171 contributions19 helpful votes
Great staff that treats you like family. Rooms are well kept and maintained, thank you Graciela great job. Luris and Rey at the front desk check in is quick. Griselda at the bar/restaurant is very friendly and helpful. The Manager has a hands on approach as you can always see her around I will always return to stay here location is good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catia Thomas, Propietario at Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Responded 28 Sep 2022
Surogine Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Catia Thomas General Mnanger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AzRat wrote a review Aug 2022
Arizona1882 contributions644 helpful votes
August 2022 - Two night stay. We stayed at this hotel because of it's close proximity to the Miraflores Locks (3 minutes drive). The hotel was very good - recognized for IHG membership at checkin, given a high floor room on the canal side. Staff was friendly. The hotel is on the site of the City of Knowledge tech campus and the site is a former U.S. military base. Room was okay - this is an older hotel in need of a refresh - but the room was clean, expected amenities, safe needed new batteries (maintenance man fixed within minutes of checkin), comfortable bed, view of canal. Some electrical outlets didn't work but otherwise room okay maintained. The aircon units are old style under window mount and although a bit noisy worked perfect. We had booked a Canal view room but the key was a high floor room to see both Miraflores and Cocoli Locks. We had coffee daily at the Lobby lounge (very good cappuccino), lunch at the Lobby restaurant - club sandwich with fries, also good and decent value. We ate dinners at the nearby Tavern which had a nice happy hour and varied menu. The hotel offers a shuttle to the Visitors Center at Miraflores which only runs once a day (10 am depart - returning at 6 pm). We took the shuttle not realizing the Visitors Center Museum and Imax are closed, (Covid) although admission to the viewing platforms is still possible. However we were told the next ship transit wasn't until 3 1/2 hours after our arrival - theres basically not much to do without ships transiting and no restaurant or beverage other than vending machine. We took an Uber back to hotel (less than $3 - taxi wanted $8) then returned at 1;30 as the transit resumed, and had a great time. Tip - there are 'ship mapper' websites that show ships positions in the Canal to help time your visit! These are not specifically hotel problems but be aware the shuttle only makes one trip daily. Otherwise a very comfortable stay at a decent Holiday Inn with a friendly staff. The extra price of a Canal View room was worth it and try to get a high floor.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Catia Thomas, Propietario at Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Responded 28 Sep 2022
Dear AzRat We are happy you had enjoy your staywith us All your feedback are welcome , it help us to emprove our service willig to see you soon best regarrds Catia Thomas General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ramsés D wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Overall was very good, just a few Details with the pool, which had a few bugs. But overall great. Good food, good Service, comfty bedroom. And its close to many Restaurants or plaza's if you want to walk, or buy something to eat.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stephanie M wrote a review Jul 2022
12 contributions
We stayed here with our high school tour group and it was clean and nice. They restaurant food was good as we stayed a few nights and had to eat there several times and the kids liked it. It is close to the canal and conveniently located. It is located on the old US army base area of Calvin hence the fenced area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Guido B wrote a review Apr 2022
Haiku, Hawaii93 contributions119 helpful votes
Affordable, clean hotel within minutes from the Panama Canal Visitor Center. Spacious rooms, loud air condition, friendly staff, good coffee shop. Other restaurants in walking distance. Staff organized mandatory Covid test for return flight to US in private room in hotel for return flight. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Canal view rooms … sit on your bed and watch huge ships go by …
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn city of knowledge hotel panama city, panama city holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Panama City
LOCATION
PanamaPanama ProvincePanama City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
137
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN PANAMA CANAL: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 439 Photos (Panama City) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Panama Canal?
Nearby attractions include Panama Canal (1.2 km), Canal de Panama (1.2 km), and Centro de Interpretación de Ciudad del Saber (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Panama Canal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Panama Canal?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Panama Canal?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Panama Canal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Atlantic & Pacific Co, Paddy Mick's, and La Taberna del Canal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Panama Canal?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Panama Canal have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn Panama Canal offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Panama Canal?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Panama Canal offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Panama Canal?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Panama Canal?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Capilla San Jose (7.7 km).