We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tantalo Hotel \/ Kitchen \/ Roofbar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 387: English reviews
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 12 May 2016

I went to Tantalo last month for a place to have some drinks with colleagues and it was great! We headed up to the rooftop bar and had an amazing view of the city skyline and a bit of the old buildings in the neighborhood too. The drinks were a little pricey, but delicious and worth it for us. As...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ieatmycaketoo
Jacob L, Public Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review

Thank you for enjoying our atmosphere and drinks! We'll take your observation about the loudness; it's something we've been continuously working on. Thanks again for recommending us, best regards!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

We stopped in for drinks around 10. The bar downstairs is nice and the rooftop is beautiful. Very interesting crowd. Good drinks. There were so many people smoking that made it very uncomfortable to us. We are not use to being around smoke in the US and are a bit more sensitive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julialeigh78
Jacob L, Public Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're happy to know you enjoyed our atmosphere. As much as Panamanian laws regarding cigarette smoke have gotten better in the last decade, we agree in that there's still more that can be done. We're sorry for those inconveniences. Hopefully we can have you again soon, best regards!

Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

I have been to Panama twice now and every time I'm in town I head straight to Tantalo! This place has it all. The food is excellent and the rooftop bar is full of life! The service is great the music is awesome and the atmosphere overlooks the city and I've never had a bad night there! Look no further...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tgc76
Jacob L, Public Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review

Delighted about this review! Thank you so much for bringing that beautiful vibe overtime you come around Panama. Always welcome here, best regards!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

We decided to try this place on a Saturday night. The food was amazing here. The empanadas were amazing as well as the grilled chicken and Panamanian sausage. We went upstairs to the bat after the meal which wasn't that big, since half was roped off for VIP. The drunks were $7 to $9. I had a strawberry gin drink...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie G
Jacob L, Public Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review

We're happy to know you enjoyed our cuisine concept. Hopefully we'll be able to impress you more on your next visit to our roof bar. It does get pretty busy and fun, worth the wait for sure! Best regards and safe travels.

Reviewed 23 April 2016

The service is horrible. The entire time we were at the restaurant the waitress did not help us at all. We watched as she set and ate. Yes she ate her food while we were waiting on an update to the status of our order. She didn't ask us if our food was ok. She continously walked by us. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Just Deas
Jacob L, Public Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review

First and foremost we want to thank you for voicing your opinion and sharing your experience with us. We are terribly sorry to know you did not receive the usual standard of quality we work so hard on offering day in and layout. If you could only help us by telling us which of our staff members was, because just...

Reviewed 21 April 2016

Tantalo has a great MODERN atmosphere, eclectic, Retro, all in one. The rooms are themed and very spacious. LOVED the shower bathroom floor, it was covered in wood. The restaurant is tapa style, AMAZING food they say its small portions, but you will be pleasantly surprised at the size of the tapas. The drinks are fantastic we had mojitos all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francis V
Jacob L, Public Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review

We appreciate your detailed review. Thanks for enjoying so many aspects of our business! Always welcome here in Tantalo, best regards!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 12 April 2016

I had heard about this place months before my visit and had it on my list of places to go. We happened to go on a food & drink tour of Casco Vieja in which the tour ended with cocktails on the rooftop at sunset. The dining room area was very lively and we thought we were going to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShesSavvy
Jacob L, Public Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for enjoying our ambience, service, food, and views! We are delighted to receive clients like you that match our atmosphere perfectly. Best regards! You're always welcome here in Tántalo.

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Tantalo before a cruise. We loved the location in the Casco Viejo and had a huge suite with three balconies. We loved it Then, around 9 the rooftop bar started. The music was so loud and the bass so strong that the water glasses next to the bass rattled. This stayed this way until...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KenFBWI
Jacob L, Public Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tántalo. While we are comforted to know you enjoyed the size and ambience of your suites, we do lament very strongly that your early A.M. touristic experiences were harmed by the late night noise. We do make a strong effort on communicating this to our customers but we understand fully if you weren't...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Don't miss Tantalo if you want a hip experience in the old city. We had a lunch and a dinner there with drinks. Its Tapas style so you can order an assortment. Our favorite was the eggplant, sushi and beef dishes.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven F
Jacob L, Public Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending us as one of the top go-to spots in the old city. Eggplants & sushi are ceraintly among our favorites! Good choices. Safe travels and best regards my friend!

Encinitas, California
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Room was really unique and comfortable, restaurant was great, customer service was great and the rooftop bar is stunning but its can get pretty loud even 2 floors down. Great for a night or two of partying but don't stay here if you want to go to bed early.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JesseandSean
Jacob L, Public Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and for that friendly heads-up about the vibrance of our place. Thanks for enjoying the different aspects of our hotel, hopefully you'll join us sometime in the future for more fun and comfort!

245 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (117)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 km away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#61 of 116 in Panama City
49 reviews
0.2 km away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#44 of 116 in Panama City
79 reviews
0.2 km away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#31 of 116 in Panama City
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#47 of 116 in Panama City
31 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Casa Panama
Hotel Casa Panama
#58 of 116 in Panama City
159 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Casa Nuratti
Hotel Casa Nuratti
#81 of 116 in Panama City
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel is created with the mindset that we u different spaces as one commercial organism that is constantly evolving throughout the day / night. Tantalo is a 12-room hotel, a restaurant featuring a communal kitchen-style atmosphere serving shared comfort dishes influenced by ingredients from around the globe, the lively ground floor bar / lounge and finally the only public outdoor rooftop bar / lounge in Casco Viejo with incredible views. Each hotel room features individually designed custom art by different local artists ensuring that no two rooms will be the same. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar

Address: Avenida B Calle 8 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Price Range: RM500 - RM899 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar Panama/Panama City
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Panama City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Manhattan, Kansas
over a year ago
Salt Lake City, Utah
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles tmasdupuy, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you're planning on staying with kids ask what's the decor of the room beforehand ;)”
 of 5 bubbles 202danielf, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MikeHep, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Geo Orga room is huge and on the corner with multiple balconies. Get this room!”
 of 5 bubbles samtL8193YP, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Bring earplugs for a quiet night sleep. Rooftop bar is a great place, but music can be a bit loud. Ear plugs are the answer.”
 of 5 bubbles Alemaphgiel, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5