We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Periwinkle B&B

Expedia.comUS$207*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$230*
US$207*
US$230*
US$207*
US$230*
US$207*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Periwinkle B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Start your review of The Periwinkle B&B
 Click to rate
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We have stayed all over the island and chose The Periwinkle because of the excellent location just steps from some of our favorite places like The Brotherhood and the close proximity to the Steamship Authority. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, the bathroom was small but modern and spotless. The hosts are friendly and warm and went out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassie S
Gail N, Manager at The Periwinkle B&B, responded to this review

Dear Cassie, So happy that you and your group had a nice stay @ the Periwinkle over New Year's. It's nice to see the quiet and busy times on Nantucket. In the winter I feel like it is like a stage set. Glad that you enjoyed the convenience, cleanliness and staff friendliness. Hope to see you again soon.

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Not really as we had expected given the high score on tripadvisor. We found the description of the room was poor, the place was noisy with background music early in the morning, and the breakfast very limited. It is a nice and central location though, which made up for it in part, and the house keeper was very friedly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corinne L
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Cozy pre-Thanksgiving weekend on Nantucket. Couldn't ask for a better location. We had a family room in the back of the hotel..one queen connecting to a room with two twin beds. It worked great for us. Easy walk to all the great restaurants and a quick walk to the ferry. Gail was great at suggesting places to eat and of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rcbransfield
Gail N, Front Office Manager at The Periwinkle B&B, responded to this review

So glad that you all enjoyed our little family suite. And that you liked our nearby restaurants in town. You were smart to watch the weather knowing you were on an island. Hope to see you again soon!

Newtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We stayed at the Periwinkle B&B over the weekend of October 14-17. This is a charming house built in the 1800s and our room on the second floor reflected that charm. The location is excellent in easy walking distance to the Whaling Museum, ferries, restaurants, and other town sites. Breakfast includes juices, fruits, and fresh muffins. Our host and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis A
Gail N, Manager at The Periwinkle B&B, responded to this review

Dear Louis, Happy that you enjoyed your stay @ the historic Periwinkle Inn. Although the town starts to quiet down after Columbus Day, there is still plenty to see and do nearby. The ocean is still warm and Indian Summer is upon us with hot days and red maple trees in their glory. Hope to see you both on the...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Disagree with the review that says the inn is rundown and shabby: it's not new but is clean and comfortable. The innkeeper and staff are friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is the tiny breakfast room which tends to be taken over by the first family down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NSB22w
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We were disappointed with Periwinkle for reasons that included the dusty, cramped room, dirty bath, no common area other than stuffy b'fast area and the indifferent staff. Although we asked for dairy free b'fast options, they declined to provide them saying "She doesn't want the clean-up." I don't know who "she" is or what that means. How hard is it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FYICharleston
New York City, New York
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

I booked this property via the Hotwire blind site (where the hotel is revealed after you pay). It simply was the wrong choice for me and not a good fit. First off on arrival, nobody was in the public areas to greet guests. I finally called and was told to use a white phone in the hall. A woman came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James S
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

The Inn was very clean and had very comfortable beds. The breakfast in the morning was perfect for me because I just like a little something. The muffins were delicious and a good variety. Very close to walk to for a lot of shopping, restaurants and things to do or rent. The gardens in the back were very nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally O
Gail N, Manager at The Periwinkle B&B, responded to this review

Thank you or your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your clean room, staff, comfy bed & cookies. This is the time of the year when the guests seem to take advantage of the garden to sip on a glass of wine and tell war stories of their day on the island. Hope you can travel back soon...

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Very poor management with no communication. No one was there to help us check in and check out. Could not get anyone on the phone either, then received an email hours later. Employees not willing to work with guests around weather conditions. There were issues over the wrong price being advertised and charged to my card. Would not recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morgan R
Gail N, Manager at The Periwinkle B&B, responded to this review

So sorry that your time on Nantucket was interrupted by the weather reports & possible ferry cancelations. I was not there for your ck-in and ck-out, however there is seasoned staff who can answer questions or I could have been contacted right away by the inn phone #. We saw no records of any calls from you. The 1st that...

Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This was a last minute getaway for myself, and some times, especially in summer, you don't always get "the best of the best" at the last minute. However, this place was a nice surprise. The proprietress was very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The inn was spotless, the bed was SOOO comfortable, and everything has been thought of down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank samdanmom
Gail N, Manager at The Periwinkle B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your accolades for the Periwinkle Inn. We pride ourselves on our location, cleanliness & friendliness. Our garden is one of our special assets. if anyone informs us at the time of any disturbances, we rectify it right away. We are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to the magical island.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
241 reviews
4.2 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
259 reviews
0.1 km away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
270 reviews
0.4 km away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
445 reviews
0.0 km away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#3 of 38 in Nantucket
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Periwinkle Inn delivers wonderful Nantucket getaways in a great location with comfort, charm and personal attention. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Periwinkle B&B

Address: 9 N Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3521
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Price Range: RM858 - RM2,823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Periwinkle B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Periwinkle B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Periwinkle Guest House Hotel Nantucket
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Periwinkle B&B staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Periwinkle B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the first floor which was next to the breakfast area. It was very quiet and clean.”
rcbransfield, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Although this seems counter intuitive, rooms closer to the street might actually be quieter.”
samdanmom, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 is on the 3rd floor with private bath. It was bright with windows on 2 sides.”
840mitzib, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you are a group of 3, don't be afraid of the top floor triple. It felt bigger than it looks in the photos.”
Lorraine934, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with its own bathroom. Not all rooms have them. Some share.”
HighEndHippy, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$207* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$207
TripAdvisorUS$207
Booking.comUS$230
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates