We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Earth Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 280: English reviews
Start your review of Earth Lodge
 Click to rate
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Earth Lodge (now Eco Lodge) is a unique place. Up a tiny mountain road, followed by hiking the last few hundred meters downhill (UP hill to return!) We were pleasantly surprised by this mountainside oasis! It seemed there were folks there just enjoying the tranquility, some folks with a yoga retreat, and perhaps others just exploring! It's an earthy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pcochranak
New York, NY
Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing food, the best views of Antigua, and such cool cottages. We slept in the trees, felt safe, comfortable, and relaxed. Can't wait to go back! We had live music, relaxed in hammocks, and enjoyed talking to locals who were visiting for the entertainment. We even enjoyed doing our own Yoga with a view!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniet44
Charlevoix, Michigan
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

The location is awesome. The food was also very good. The facility itself spotless. To get to the lodge you walk down a dirt path for about 10 min passing colorful and cheerful welcome signs. Why not 5 stars, well the staff during my lunch visit never smiled, said hi or thanks. If the staff doesn't like people or smile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Upnorthtransplant1
Vancouver
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This is a lovely location with great views. We stayed in a tree house - bedroom with comfortable bed and veranda with a hammock in the tree, full bathroom at the base of the tree. Breakfast and dinner were good. Lot of available activities including morning yoga. Good for backpackers and others. Only down site is a very long walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EgyptTripper
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Amazing food, great views, avocado farms surrounding the area, decent living arrangements and bathrooms but with a nice hammock village. There was a tiny sweat lodge. It takes a while to arrive at the location, however our group was treated very well and had a wonderful relaxing time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haniel H
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We came with a large group and found the management here responsive to our needs, despite a lot of changes in our plans they gave us friendly service and we enjoyed feeling welcome and embraced by the people who were working and living there. I also love that the owners contribute to the local community and support initiatives to help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UnitySue
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with a larger group of friends. Owner was super accommodating and made sure we were taken care of when our shuttle arrived early before room was ready. Food and service are both excellent and rooms are comfortable and clean. Would recommend for anyone looking for a peaceful nights rest, just overlooking Antigua. Thanks again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

A friend recommended we go here. When we checked reviews we were put off by one saying they had given the room away after her plane was late and wouldn't refund her money. One of the owners replied without offering a refund. So we didn't want to risk looking there. But we went for the day. So disappointing. Food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
brihavey, Owner at Earth Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Robert, So sorry you didn't enjoy Earth Lodge. I would like to comment on a few things you mentioned just to clear up any confusion for those reading this in the future. First, we did actually refund the person's money from the past review that you had mentioned, we did that right away, I'm not sure why you think...

Roatan, Honduras
Reviewed 10 February 2017

This place is amazing!! We were greeted by friendly staff, checked in easily, and had a drink in our hands looking over the valley and volcanos within minutes. A great place to explore, relax and enjoy for all types. We stayed in one of the cabanas and WOW, what an amazing view!!! The beds were so incredibly comfortable, the water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissMandy77
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

I'm not sure where to start. I could talk about the scenery. I could talk about the tremendous food. Or I can mention the staff that makes you want to take them all home with you. No matter what I emphasize I cannot tell you how wonderful this place is. There are areas where you can have a peaceful time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nancyttravels

303 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (287)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
3.7 km away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
4.5 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 82 in Antigua
825 reviews
2.2 km away
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
4.1 km away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#3 of 82 in Antigua
280 reviews
4.5 km away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 102 in Antigua
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Earth Lodge is a rustic retreat located about 20 minutes by car from Antigua. We are known for our intimate setting, our amazing home cooked meals and our clean comfortable rooms. Perfect for nature lovers, Earth Lodge has one of the best views in Guatemala with 3 volcanoes visible in the valley below.Earth Lodge has a full restaurant and bar, serving breakfast and lunch from menus and a family style dinner each night. We are a family friendly establishment, with a full playground and field for children to play. There is ample hiking in the surrounding farm fields, plus a wide array of board games, books and movies to keep you entertained. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Earth Lodge

Address: Aldea El Hato, Antigua, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Price Range: RM35 - RM219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Earth Hotel Antigua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Earth Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bellevue, Nebraska

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Earth Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms vary by price; tree house is $47”
  • Sun setting on a volcano
  • Tree House - bathroom and, above, bedroom and veranda
EgyptTripper, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The dorm beds are comfy and even the tents were nice. All the rooms were lovely.”
UnitySue, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There is a good variety of accommodation to suit all budgets”
jackmD8240VK, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Prepare your driver of the route. It becomes quite difficult for an inexperienced driver wants the gravel road begins.”
713alyseb, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The tree house is in high demand and has the best views”
487traveller, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5