We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chez Daniel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chez Daniel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chez Daniel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 189: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hotel Chez Daniel is an adorable hotel on the outskirts of Antigua. It has a B&B feel, with lots of greenery and plants throughout the property. Upon our arrival, Marleni welcomed us at the door and was very friendly, giving us suggestions on where to go in town for banks/ATMs, travel arrangements/tours, and grocery stores. Our room was on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LM10101
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

A high class hotel, quiet, 10 minute walk from the center. Great garden and view if the volcano! I spent 4 night there, suitable for friends who are not looking to party all the time, families and couples. Very safe. Simple breakfast included. Clean, roomy, lovely!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimiSegen
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 20 March 2014

If I am ever back in Antigua again, I would come back to Chez Daniel. Correspondence for booking and answers to questions via email was very responsive and helpful. We arrived at 11pm at night and someone was there to greet us. We also left at 4:30am and they left out croissant, tea and coffee for us as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen466
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at Chez Daniel for two nights. Before we even got there it was obvious that this was a special place. Our correspondence with Marleni was fast and efficient. The place itself is in a great location to walk the entire city of colonial Antigua. And for longer stays I can't say enough about the kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveleratlarge322
Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent two nights at Chez Daniel and we were very sad to leave! We were welcomed by Marlene who gave us a map of Antigua and showed us where the Chez Daniel was located, the bank, supermarket, and where she recommended going in regards to sights, restaurants, etc. We told her of a few things we had planned on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abby_Mapes
sanjoseca
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed at Chez Daniel two different times in Feb 2014. First time we arrived in evening; they were waiting for us and service was very helpful. All our needs were met; rooms were very spacious and large comfortable bed. Daniel visited us at breakfast on all three days we were there and gave us helpful tourist hints. Good basic breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank by_ourselves
Vancouver, BC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Having been to Antigua several l times I can say Chez Daniel is where its at! The rooms are spacious and very private with many added touches including divine linens and a wonderful shower/bath. Daniel is a wonderful and attentative host. Included is a continental breafast and full use of a fully equipped kitchen. The garden /patio is very relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danna l
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights at the start of our tour in Guatemala. It was a great place to begin. Marleni and Daniel were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Fresh towels every day and constant hot water. It is in a very quiet location and we slept very well (even managing to avoid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobcatbindi
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I will start with the good.... rooms are spacious and Marleni is wonderful! Marleni will call your transportation, made some reservations for us and is a delight to be around. She's the one to ask for restaurant recommendations. The place appears to be safe as well. If you are looking for "location" - please, look elsewhere. Not a cafe in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krazed4koots
ChezDaniel, Owner at Chez Daniel, responded to this review

I don’t think that we need to dignify this reviewer’s critique, you can just look at all the other reviews and decide for yourself which version is true, this person’s version or everybody else’s. This person made a last minute reservation cancelation of the last two weeks of her stay, during our peak season and demanded a full refund or...

reno, nv
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Marleni not only makes travel and tour arrangements, she is a fantastic teacher. She will give you a good rate for an hour in the courtyard. We were hooked up with a private driver, Alfonso. He took us to 6 stops outside of Antigua. Off the beaten path. You need some Spanish to understand him, speaks clearly and slowly. He...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrini

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.7 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 81 in Antigua
783 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 81 in Antigua
402 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#3 of 81 in Antigua
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#17 of 81 in Antigua
415 reviews
0.5 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#8 of 81 in Antigua
611 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#4 of 81 in Antigua
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choosing to stay Chez Daniel ensures that your visit to Antigua will be both a relaxing, economical but most of all, memorable. When you arrive Chez Daniel, you will be greeted by the comfortable, quiet and secure atmosphere of our B&B, with its majestic view of all three volcanoes in our Panchoy valley and numerous photographs that display a more profound and intimate view of the Guatemalan culture. It is the perfect place to start your exploration of Guatemala and Antigua. The rooms are very large, elegant and light filled, with ample bathrooms including a bathtub, and are equipped with flat screen cable television. We provide all the ease and comforts you will need to have an unforgettable experience in your home away from home, Chez Daniel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chez Daniel

Address: Calle de San Luquitas No. 20, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Price Range: RM276 - RM299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chez Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chez Daniel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Chez Daniel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs room if you can - great view of the volcano”
 of 5 bubbles jerrywas, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We liked the rooms on the main floor with a beautiful view of the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles DebraNor2017, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great.”
 of 5 bubbles alisonleslie, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“First floor rooms have a terrace with table and chairs”
 of 5 bubbles marianneduenki, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The upstairs rooms open on to a wide balcony with a terrific view of the main volcano”
 of 5 bubbles TimW24, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5