We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

A Place to Stay Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
A Place to Stay Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for A Place to Stay Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Sainte-Alvere, France
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Just spent a nice trip to Antigua ensconced in the always reliable PTS. They have a tasty breakfast and good coffee included in the reasonable price, and they have upgraded the bathrooms and common seating area significantly. You honestly can't go wrong here- Guatemalan owners can arrange shuttles/trips for you, you can store your luggage if you are heading off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Supergringo
Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

This is a great hostel with warm and welcoming hosts, a lovely communal patio and great complementary breakfasts with coffee. When traveling it is rare to find a place where you instantly feel like family, place to stay is this kind of place. Great location next to the market. First stayed here 5 years ago they recently made a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MadameLPS
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Really nice hostel if you're looking for something more quiet. Raul, Carrie en Raul's brother are very friendly and very helpful. They also have a lot of cats, which is nice. Good location as well, everything is from walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oscar D
Offenburg, Germany
Reviewed 26 June 2016

After six month on the road, it was our longest stay. We've been here for two weeks. The Hostel is very clean got a good free kitchen for use and very nice Staff. Thanks to Kerry and Raul. We had a great time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lillianchomenko
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

The most wonderful staff I have experienced in a hostel! Raul and Kerry, Fernando and Antonia went out of their way to ensure I was totally comfortable. Anything I needed was joyfully accommodated including transportation! As a traveler w mobility limitations I was given a private room downstairs for cost of dorm as they were not full. Breakfast every morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simone S
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Heard about this place from backpacker friends and it certainly lived up to expectations. Awesome free cooked breakfast. Rooms are tidy and a very fair price. GOOD hot showers. Great location right next to the markets, and a reasonable walk to the Central Park. Very helpful hosts who organised our hike up Volcano Acatenango for much cheaper than anyone else...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel B
Reviewed 15 March 2016

I am an avid nomadic backpacker itchy footed traveller and have trekked to many countries, many continents and stayed in many hostels but by far I was so impressed with A Place To Stay. Raul and Kerry are so warm and accommodating and make one feel right at home from the minute you arrive. The common area is so warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

The bathrooms were always really dirty and the dorm room floor was not cleaned the whole week that I stayed. Only one bathroom has a sink and there is no soap to wash your hands. The shower temperature was lukewarm at best, felt very cold when the general temperature of the hostel was cold, and was very uncomfortable when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
KerryCruz, Owner at A Place to Stay Hostel, responded to this review

I wanted to reach out and apologize that it seemed you had a very negative experience at our hostel. I had no idea that you were unhappy and I would have been willing to help if you had just asked. It sounds like we didn't do a very good job of orienting you to our house as we have 3...

Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed at A Place to Stay with 2 friends on a visit to Antigua. The hostel is clean, Raul and his wife are extremely friendly, and they were able to accommodate us in a private room at the last minute. The hostel has a nice, relaxed vibe and offers a delicious free breakfast which is cooked to order, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We stayed at the place to stay in Antigua for 3 nights in a double room which came with a double and a single bed. The location is good, near the bus terminal and the big market where you can buy lots of yummy food. The owners are very nice people and are very helpful. They made our stay very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C J

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
411 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
1.0 km away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 102 in Antigua
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hostel Capitan Tom
Hostel Capitan Tom
#14 of 102 in Antigua
134 reviews
1.1 km away
Somos Hostal
Somos Hostal
#6 of 102 in Antigua
57 reviews
0.6 km away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#10 of 102 in Antigua
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A small family owned and run hostel with an excellent reputation in the local community for over 15 years. We have the best value in town offering single, double, and triple private rooms with shared bathrooms and two dormitories for solo and/or budget conscious travelers. Some of our perks include: hot water showers, well equipped kitchen, free hot breakfast and coffee, free WiFi, towel use, baggage storage, shuttle bookings, discounted tour arrangements, laundry services, bicycle parking, terrace view, safe available, barbecue grill, filtered drinking water, open air lounge for socializing and dining area. Our home has a relaxed vibe and a welcoming atmosphere for all. Our guests enjoy meeting new friends, playing with our cats, bunny rabbit, and turtle, cooking in our small but efficient kitchen, and creating spontaneous jam sessions in our cozy lounge area. We pride ourselves on having a clean, safe, fun, and community oriented place to stay. We enforce the city of Antigua's curfew of 12:00am (midnight) and lock our front door with no re-entry after this time (no refunds) so make sure you are back by then! Come join us for a night, a week or a month and find more than a place to stay...find your home away from home. Please note: Cancellation Policy: 2 days before the arrival Check In: 13:00 (early check in upon request& availability) Check Out: 11.00 (middle of the night departures require 24 hour advanced notice) Payment due upon arrival, CASH only! Sorry we can no longer accept USD, only local currency. Breakfast and coffee is included, served exclusively between 9.00 – 10.00 am Taxes are included. Directions: Head to the large Artesania market. There is a restaurant Pollo Campero on the corner near, which is near the Artesania market. If you are facing Pollo Campero, walk for 50 meters down the road that is to the left of Pollo Campero. Then take the first road on the left where you will see a black door with the number 42 written on it. You have found A Place To Stay. Alternatively take a Tuc Tuc (a little three wheeled car) or regular Taxi to to A Place To Stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about A Place to Stay Hostel

Address: 5ta. Calle Poniente | Callejon Landivar # 42, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Price Range: RM74 - RM222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A Place to Stay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from A Place to Stay Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from A Place to Stay Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in double/triple rooms, one upstairs and one down and both were great”
rachandphil15, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you're with a group, I recommend getting a private room, as the price difference with the dorms is minimal.”
nicolask77, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“First floor is better I think in general in Antigua due to ground floor being humid.”
28rajal, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Any room is a good room”
donnellharris, 4 Jul 2015 | Read review
“good luck, not my first choice”
devildog0800, 2 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates