We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This is a very nice hotel in a great location in Antigua. It is a block to the main square. The hotel is very nice with beautiful courtyards. The terrace has an awesome view of the volcano. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Overall, it is hard to beat this hotel in Antigua. I will stay there again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this amazing review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed you stay with us, it is always very comforting to hear our guests feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Management

Virginia
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Stayed there for only one night and got in late. My room was basic but clean. There was no closet or place to hang anything. The only window was small and high and opened out to the courtyard The location was great, on the main street where there were lots of shops and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LillaVirginia
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoyed your stay with us. We will take all of your comments into consideration to improve such as small window. Thank you once again and we hope you visit Antigua in the near future. Kind Regards,...

vancouver
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Excellent place to stay while exploring all Antigua has to offer. Right in the center of action and all paths lead to something interesting. We were there before Holy week and lots of preparations going on which we could see. Antigua is full of various treasures and definitely worth visiting. We were able to attend two services in two different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patsychom
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this amazing description! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed you stay with us, it is always very comforting to hear our guests feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Management

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 March 2016

We had a lovely stay at this hotel and enjoyed the beautiful interior courtyard. We were going off to Honduras for a five day trip--fantastic but dangerous--and we wanted to travel light, and the hotel offered to keep all of our luggage until we returned and were welcomed back like family. Fantastic roof-top bar and lovely breakfasts every day, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mira178
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this amazing description! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed you stay with us, it is always very comforting to hear our guests feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Management

Roswell, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 24 February 2016

I just came back from a trip to Panajachel and had the pleasure to stay at this phenomenal Posada. My husband and I stayed in beautiful suite with an amazing view to the volcano and lake Atitlan, goodness!! such a peaceful place to stay. We enjoyed watching the sunsets there, also the delicious breakfast, this was included with our staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana S
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this amazing description! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed you stay with us, it is always very comforting to hear our guests feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Management

Wellington
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Lovely old hotel in the centre of Antigua. Comfortable quirky room in a picturesque courtyard. Very friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. Pleasant roof terrace with views of an erupting volcano while we were there. Lovely gardens.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed you stay with us, it is always very comforting to hear that our service and our restaurant are excellent. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Management

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We stayed at this centrally located hotel for 4 nights at the start of our first trip to Guatemala. Our room was spacious and well equipped, with a good bathroom. The staff are friendly, helpful and speak excellent English. The restaurant serves a good breakfast on a veranda overlooking a beautiful garden. One night we sat on the rooftop watching...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisandrod
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this amazing description! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed you stay with us, it is always very comforting to hear our guests feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Management

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 21 January 2016

There isn't much to say about this property. It has very good views, food and service. The biggest thing it has going for it is the location. If you are travelling in the region I see no reason why you wouldn't enjoy a pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SSSUCHAN
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed you stay with us, it is always very comforting to hear our guests feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Management

Reviewed 18 January 2016

Excelent location... but that´s it... FOR A $250 I feel robbed. for that price, go to one of many nice boutique hotels instead of this place... the reasons: 1. I booked a room with one big bed and got a two bed insted... hard beds, very noisy bed tructure... and very old and lumpy pillows too... Impossible to sleep on....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro M
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoyed your stay with us. We will take all of your comments into consideration to improve such as the pillows and the liquid soap. Thank you once again and we hope you visit Antigua in the...

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 10 January 2016

First time I maneged to get to this place was a lunch just uppon arriving to the town. I was impressed by its charm and old style architecture. Then after one day I moved to this place from another hotel in Antigua. The property is well-preserved in its colonial construction, inside there is a good restaurant with live local music...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJRodriguez
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this amazing description! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed you stay with us, it is always very comforting to hear our guests feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Management

284 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (264)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (83)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 80 in Antigua
740 reviews
23.1 km away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#5 of 80 in Antigua
1,087 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#22 of 80 in Antigua
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 80 in Antigua
547 reviews
0.4 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#6 of 80 in Antigua
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Casa De Los Leones, today Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo conserves its ambiance that characterizes a colonial and antique home in Guatemala. Restored between 1968 and 1971 Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo is located just 2 blocks from the Central Park and in the heart of La Antigua. Its colonial design and ambiance will take you back in time. The hotel has 41 rooms each one of them wit their own history and uniqueness, will allow you to experience a stay that will be like no other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo

Address: 5ta Avenida Norte 17, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Price Range: RM587 - RM814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Don Rodrigo Hotel Antigua
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Antigua
#21 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
22 days ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms towards the back as they are farther off the main street and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 344dariap, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“front lake rooms in the first floor are great, because you can walk in the form garden”
 of 5 bubbles Momosinc , 25 May 2016 | Read review
“Any room away from the street would be nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles patsychom, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“try to choose rooms S500's as their views are magnificent.”
 of 5 bubbles J8627SKanas, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles alejandrom211, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay