We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sokdee Residence

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sokdee Residence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sokdee Residence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 57: English reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2015

There are two buildings in this hotel; the front is the pricier and more luxurious one. We stayed in the fan room in the back building (2nd floor). The price is very reasonable, only 70,000 kip for a spacious, well-decorated, and very clean room. The wifi works very well, the best during our Laos trip. The little desk and two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wirunwan P
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 May 2015

Hotel is very well located. Walking distance from Riverside and main attractions. We have room upstairs at the front of the hotel. It has a balcony perfect to watch the Alms Ceremony in the mornings. We could see the Monks walking receiving presents from Lao people from 6am.... And back to sleep for another hour before our day trip. Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naty M
Vientiane, Laos
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Only one Word: Great! a wonderful service of the staff and owner with efficiency to help, large and well-furnished rooms. it is easy to get to Wat Xieng Thong and Mekong River. The best place of my trip in Vangvieng and Vientiane. we will stay again next year for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianMounthanivong
Reviewed 22 January 2015

My wife and i stayed at this residence for four days, it,s mostly completely made of wood . We took an upper room with balcony , overlooking the main street. If you awoke early enough [ the local cockerels will see you do ] . You can see the monks walking for alms in the mornings . This visit included...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mike b
sokdeeresidence, General Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Thanks for your review and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Sokdee Residence. Thanks for highlighting the problem you had at breakfast, we are working on ways to improve this so hopefully, if you ever come back, your stay will be even better! Chris Peake General Manager

Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2014

We stayed at the Sokdee Residence as a group of 3 families with 6 kids between us, for 10 nights! Mr Soulinda was really friendly and helpful with all of our requests and he organised day trips for us. He worked really hard to keep us all happy. They were really accommodating of all our kids, although they need to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chay K
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review

Dear Chay Khamsone, how are you ? please say sa bai dee or hello to every one's i miss your all's Thank you very much for your comment i am very happy to meet you and all of your groups of three families stayed at the Sokdeeresidence. because this is my first experience and i will do my best why...

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Wow, what to say about Sokdee. Well I suggest you stay in the rooms facing the street, they were the nicer looking ones. The room we stayed in had an beautiful view overlooking the quaint, quiet mountain-town streets. The room was clean, except for the beetle my significant other found in the washroom. Room cleaning only came around once during...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank adam s
Crescent Head, Australia
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

In a good central location with clean large rooms, the staff are most helpful, you can watch monks take alms at sunrise from your balcony,you it's go to the falls and swim in the beautiful blue water, magical

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wayne E
ireland
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This is a good place to stay- but considering I chose it from a guide for travelling on a budget- it was pricey. 50 US a night is a lot for Laos. The rooms are nice- cool and have shutters which helps the sleep in- but the aircon was really noisy- it's too hot to go without- so that challenged....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vickyfromsa
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your reviews we hope to see you a gain in luangprabang good luck to you

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I was nearly a victim of this common Luang Prabang scam (which would have cost me $200) while staying at this guesthouse - http://www.lonelyplanet.com/thorntree/thread.jspa?threadID=2349776. I cannot be sure the staff of the guesthouse were involved, so I will try to recount just the facts from my view point: I rented a city bicycle around the corner (less than 100 meters...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gustavo P
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your reviews we are very sorry about this problem we will improved this problem very soon. but this reviews should be for sokdee guesthouse not for Sokdee Residence.

Oakland, California
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I got a room at this place on quick notice because the French guy I knew was staying there and said it was cheap. Like $15 a night cheap. And that says it all. The sink continually dripped. The walls were paper thin. The hot water-unreliable. At one point I asked where my sandals were and one of the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn P

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 km away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#33 of 68 in Luang Prabang
130 reviews
1.0 km away
Rama
Rama
#58 of 68 in Luang Prabang
98 reviews
0.2 km away
Xieng Mouane Guest House
Xieng Mouane Guest House
#39 of 68 in Luang Prabang
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#29 of 68 in Luang Prabang
197 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 68 in Luang Prabang
227 reviews
0.1 km away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#32 of 68 in Luang Prabang
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sokdee Residence is a beautiful traditional Lao style building - superbly located in the heart of the old town of Luang Prabang.With a choice of double or twin beds the Sokdee Residence features just 8 guest rooms which are all pleasantly presented, comfortable and exceptionally clean. All Guest rooms offer modern amenities such as air-conditioning, cable television, fridge and mini bar as well as a private bathroom. The simple yet sophisticated style of dark wood and Lao decorations create a pleasant environment. All guest rooms open up to a communal balcony on which guests can take in Luang Prabangs city life, meet other travelers or just lean back and read a book. The comfortable furniture and the ambient surroundings invite the guest to stay and simply relax.Located in the center of Luang Prabang, the Sokdee Residence is just a stroll away from the delightful Mekong River as well as the main street with its bustling Night Market. Perfect to enjoy a walk through the charming city - along the Riverfront and past by some of Luang Prabangs ancient temples. Numberous restaurants, cafes and shopping options are nearby. The citys attractions and sights can easily be explored by foot or bike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sokdee Residence

Address: Ban Vat Nong, Khounsawa Rd, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Price Range: RM156 - RM218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sokdee Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sokdee Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokdee Residence Hotel Luang Prabang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sokdee Residence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Balcony rooms and rooms in the front are the nicest.”
 of 5 bubbles travelcheapandeat, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Bring a plastic bottle to refill it, instead of buying more bottles every day.”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The front rooms are nice with the patios”
 of 5 bubbles esySF, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Top floors, more expensive but worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles 269lutherl, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Rooms upstairs with balcony are the best”
 of 5 bubbles 58natym, 10 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay