We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Villa Pumalin

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Villa Pumalin
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Villa Pumalin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 33: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I don't submit reviews that aren't 5 star, as I don't like to hurt a business, however in this case I will break my personal rule. Many hotels I stay at simply don't get a review. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! The room was OK, clean, well appointed, good size with very nice verandah. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nzdiver
campLuang_prabang, Owner at Villa Pumalin, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for taking you time to write about your stay in Villa Pumalin. I just would like to apologie for the inconveniences caused when you were staying with us. We had a special traditional blessing party for my new born son. I'm sorry that we could not give you enough care.

Paris, France
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Depending where you stay in Luang Prabang, it can be blissfully quiet or plain noisy. Long before dawn, monks chant and roosters crow. Then motorbikes pass by and construction projects begin. So many new hotels and guest houses are being built that that they are often side-by side, so there can be noise from inconsiderate travelers next door. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hal38
queensland
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Rooms are large and dark because they are all dark wood. Location is really good, one building back from the river and close to food and night markets. Breakfast was basic, but ok. We found it to be very quiet apart for the usual morning roosters! Fairly basic but comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunshinecoastal
Johannesburg
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We booked to stay 4 nights at this guest house but there was some muddle up and when we arrived we were put into a room at the next door guest house with many apologies and a promise of the front room upstairs when we moved in the next day. And so it was. They upgraded us to a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paula M
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this guesthouse,but it did'nt take them that long to open the safe in my room and steal all my cash and credit card,and then be so unhelpful about it,i have an idea who it was,but no proof,all i can say is he worked there,so people,beware, locked safe or not you will be relieved of your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david h
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I was very pleased with my stay here, the staff are friendly, and helpful . The bedroom is spacious and comfortable too, I would recommend this hotel to others . The hotel is situated at a very convenient place , walking distance to the Mekong River, where the restaurants are located. Also the market place is close by.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank B_b767
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed one night and were so impressed with this lovely place that we decided to return after a trip up river. We needed four more nights and were offered an upgrade for the same price. The staff especially the guy who took our breakfast order were so helpful and pleasant. It is a good spot for the river and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian S
Brazil
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I did not like the location of the hotel I stayed in for my first days in Luang Prabang. Walking along the town, found this nice guesthouse which proved to be a very nice alternative, for a much cheaper price, actually half of what we were paying. The superior room is not spacious. In fact, there is too much furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CariocaBrazil
New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Definitely one of the nicer places in town. It's not on backpacker alley, so the noisy 20-something crowd and cheap eateries are far away. Sadly room 101, a king bed, is the first room adjacent to the check-in counter and dining tables for breakfast. By 7am, you'll hear a lot of clinking of cups and plates from the included b'fast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KKua
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I booked through the hotel website which required me to open an account with a third party booking service and pay for the rooms using my visa. I did this and received confirmation from the company that I had paid; however, I did not receive confirmation from the hotel. I emailed the hotel and was told I would have to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gbonez

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 km away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#23 of 68 in Luang Prabang
356 reviews
0.0 km away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 68 in Luang Prabang
227 reviews
0.0 km away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#22 of 68 in Luang Prabang
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#12 of 68 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
0.0 km away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
266 reviews
0.0 km away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#29 of 68 in Luang Prabang
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Villa Pumalin

Address: Ban Hoxieng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Price Range: RM200 - RM307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Pumalin 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Pumalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pumalin Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Villa Pumalin staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Villa Pumalin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower floor is cooler during hot time of year.”
 of 5 bubbles Travelfan, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Ask for room 101 if you need reliable WiFi. The signals are strongest there.”
 of 5 bubbles KKua, 15 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Don't go there at all.”
 of 5 bubbles Nzdiver, 2 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have a small balcony”
 of 5 bubbles sunshinecoastal, 10 Dec 2012 | Read review
“If u can ask for a front balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 61BrianS, 5 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay