We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

If there was a negative choice for a review rating, this hotel would have it! Exterior of hotel looks modern and new, inside common areas were typical, inside rooms were shocking!! The floors and furniture were soiled and disgusting. The beds were made with the cheapest, thinnest sheets available and to my late nite shock; was all that separated my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nechell B
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. We are scheduled for a full renovation to improve our hotel and our guest's experience. We will also inspect your room with our pest control provider to ensure there is no...

Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The bed and pillows were horrible - we didn't sleep a wink. When we first checked in the door to our room did not lock and when we approached the front desk she asked if we were ok with it not locking.... Um NO! She did put us in another room after we requested one. We stayed here because it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KTVB
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize that you found your bed to be uncomfortable. As well, I'm sorry that the lock on your door did not work; however, I'm happy to hear that we were able to move you to a new room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention....

Hastings, Michigan
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel is understaffed. It took almost 2 hours to check us in as only one very slow, poorly trained person at front desk. Stayed two nights and housekeeping never showed. Bed was extremely hard, sheets did not fit bed, and phone would not allow you to get an outside line.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon P
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

Jon - I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I want to personally apologize that your check-in process took so long. As well, I apologize that you had issues with your bed and the phone in your room. I will be meeting with my staff to ensure these issues are resolved...

Chicago, Ill
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel looks nice on the outside and they are doing some renovation work on the common areas. The room I had on the first floor was very large. The King bed was nice and it was nice having a fridge and microwave in the room. The furnishings were well worn. The carpeting was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdb327
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our grab-and-go breakfast and the size of your room. Still, I am sorry to hear that the overall condition of your room did not meet your expectations. As well, I apologize that you experienced some noise disturbance from...

Auburn Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Poor room quality nothing to do no pool no hot tub showers dirty doesnt drain well sold out hotel one person on staff barely speaks english very very slow all around bad expierience would never come back you can hear people walking in the room next to you upstairs hallway its loud dirty and cheap looking and feeling

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickbarg
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am sorry that the condition and cleanliness of your room did not meet your expectations. I will be meeting with our housekeeping staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. As well, I apologize that your shower did not drain well and that...

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very dissatisfied. Kitchen was not equipped with much at all. No cleaning products no dish soap no glasses. Only 2 burners and one didn't work. Bed was broke. Room was very dirty. No ice machines Nice fridge that's about it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deandoreen
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am so sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing due to the kitchen not being properly equipped and having items in need of repair in your room. Please know, we do not offer cleaning products in our guest rooms, but we do...

Boyne City, Michigan
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The outside of the building looks like a nice, reputable hotel chain. Inside is a different thing! The idea of a little kitchen is great and this could be a great place however, as soon as you enter the lobby it's all down hill from there. Cold, uninviting front desk area, thin walls (had to listen to people walking and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TKRMAR
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that your comments have been addressed with the entire staff and we are working to enhance our offerings. As well, I am coaching them...

Denville, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It was a pleasant stay. Just a normal hotel, with the bonus of a kitchen. One notable that so many hotel properties just can't get right; the water pressure was excellent in the shower and the temperature stayed consistent to what it was set at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dobby8
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am so pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant. I know we are just a normal hotel, with a bonus of a kitchen however, our company strives to provide great customer service and clean comfortable rooms. Also, We strive to provide a...

Milwaukee
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here for work while visiting Chrysler and it was not a pleasant experience. I understand the whole concept of not offering room service but the rooms should be clean and in very good order when you arrive. This hotel just felt very old and poorly maintained. The people staying there were a bit creepy and there were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NJtoSH
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am so sorry to hear that you felt as though the hotel was very old and poorly maintained. However, I do want to let you know that we are scheduled for a renovation in 2014. I do apologize sincerely for this matter. I...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Front desk is always helpful. Beds hard. The kitchen is ok if you like cold water to wash dishes, a fridge that does not work, door to garbage does not close, and doors to cabinets that need to be pried open. The bathrooms are a good size, but toilets make a leaking sound all night. If you are looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiah s
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am happy to hear that the front desk is always helpful. However, I am so sorry to hear that the mattresses were not of comfort to you and the kitchens are just okay. I do apologize sincerely for these matters. I will have...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
2.2 km away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#3 of 17 in Auburn Hills
307 reviews
1.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills
2.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#4 of 17 in Auburn Hills
566 reviews
2.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - I -75
2.1 km away
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
#7 of 17 in Auburn Hills
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive

Address: 3315 University Drive, Auburn Hills, MI 48326
Region: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Price Range: RM337 - RM438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Auburn Hills
Homestead Suites Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Homestead Suites
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive Michigan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Charlotte, Michigan

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to book on the 2nd/3rd floor. All the rooms face the parking lot, but at least you're higher up.”
Vee_fra_Norge, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
GlassHalfFull13, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that doesn't run along the road but the opposite direction since the hotel is in an L shape.”
3hutts, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Inspect your room well for burned out lights and broken appliances before settling in”
  • Cooktop Element up close
  • Damage at refrigerator
flintjarvis, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“It is convenient to Oakland University, that's the only positive thing I can write.”
johnfmarti, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5