We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Rey Don Felipe

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

687 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 264: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Rey Don Felipe
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed one night before going back to Santiago. Room was avarage, kind of needs to update for example the carpet.. Bed was really hard and uncomfortable. Room was still clean. Traffic noise is pretty loud from outside. And room was really really cold. Jacuzzi was nice extra, but sauna.. Nice thing to have but it was really different at least...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Cape Charles, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We don't understand the negative reviews given to this hotel. We were here twice to and from EcoCamp in Torres del Paine. We had the same room both times and it was extremely clean and spacious. The staff was accommodating though there was confusion about breakfast the first day. An early breakfast was arranged but apparently the night staff did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtm221
Enriquepuq, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review

Dear guest, We really appreciate your comments and support. Certainly we aren't perfect, but we always try to provide a good service. Thank you very much for your words, that motivate us to continue working hard and to make all our guests feel satisfied with our service. Enrique Garín Gerente

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was spacious, quiet and very clean. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. We had one evening meal in the restaurant and it was our best dining experience in Punta Arenas. The food was very good and reasonably priced.The staff were very helpful and friendly. We stayed three nights before heading off to Antarctica as this was one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrillerBurlington
Enriquepuq, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review

Dear guest, along with our greetings, we sincerely appreciate the time you have set aside to express your opinion about our service, we are glad to know that the time you spend here was great. All the best, Enrique Garín Gerente

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't ever stay in this hotel. Dated furniture. Horribly worn and dirty looking carpet. Ugly breakfast area and mediocre food. Do me a favor and stay at the Dreams del Estrecho. Beautiful,modern and cheaper

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enrique R
Enriquepuq, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry that our service has disappointed you. Yours words are a strong incentive to find a way to always offer a better service to our guests. Regards, Enrique Garín Gerente

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in at about 11 am on a Saturday morning. The front desk graciously let us into a room early. After being jet lagged, I was ready to unload our luggage and get out on a walk. It didn't occur to me until after we hauled all of our luggage into the room that we actually were placed in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sundance1
Enriquepuq, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay. Your comments motivate us to continue to work and providing welfare to all our guests. Best regards, Enrique Garín Gerente

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had two separate one night stays here. On our first night we were given a room at the front of the hotel. I t was a Friday night, the internal and external noise was awful until the early hours. Traffic noise all night. We asked next morning to be given a room at the back for our next stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank llewellynroger
Enrique G, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review

Dear guest, We really regret that our services were not what you expected. Punta Arenas is generally a quiet city and our location is in an even quieter neighborhood. So it is not at all common to receive comments like the one you leave us. Best regards, Enrique Garín Gerente

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this hotel as a treat before going home. The other places I stayed were better for the money. Hard bed, terrible breakfast, no coffee, hard as rock pastries, the guy was still setting up half an hour into a full room eating. Stayed in lesser stars that had better beds and way better breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lady154914
Enrique G, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review

Dear guest, We really regret that our services were not what you expected. Usually our guests appreciate the work we do to serve them. Kind regards, Enrique Garín Gerente

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I didn't book this hotel; the travel agent booked it since I had an overnight stay before heading to Patagonia. I can't speak to the value for your money... Pros: Clean. Location is great and staff was very friendly and nice.. I'm pretty sure they are all high schoolers working the desk but they were great with my crappy Spanish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjschaef
Enrique G, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate your opinion and important feedback. We will work harder to improve. Kind regards, Enrique Garín Gerente

Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was adequate, it faced the back looking over a small car park so no traffic noise, but we did hear fighting cats and barking dogs in the night! No hot water in the morning for a shower. A bit of a walk to the main square and all the restaurants in that area and as we didn't arrive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleWiltshire
Enrique G, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate your opinion and important feedback waht you leaves us. We will work harder to improve in these areas. All the best, Enrique Garín Gerente

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night with family. Very good internet. Not such a new hotel, but well kept. A little far from the coast so not much in the way for views from bedroom windows. Staff very friendly. Rooms clean and confortable. Breakfast similar to other hotels in town. But dining room a little tight. Overall good place for overnight stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fhw4121
Enrique G, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our services. We are very grateful for your feedback. All the best, Enrique Garín Gerente

191 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Arenas hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
Hotel Dreams del Estrecho
#2 of 25 in Punta Arenas
696 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
Hotel Cabo de Hornos
#4 of 25 in Punta Arenas
744 reviews
1.0 km away
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
Diego de Almagro Punta Arenas
#12 of 25 in Punta Arenas
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Finis Terrae
BEST WESTERN Hotel Finis Terrae
#11 of 25 in Punta Arenas
236 reviews
0.3 km away
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
La Yegua Loca Hotel Boutique
#5 of 25 in Punta Arenas
140 reviews
0.6 km away
Apart Hotel Quillango
Apart Hotel Quillango
#8 of 25 in Punta Arenas
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A first class hotel Located in Punta Arenas, the capital of the province of Magellean's, which comprehends from Cordillera del Paine on the north to Cape Horn on the south. Suited by the Strait of Magellan's in Brunswich peninsula, is the continental city farthest south in the world, and a supply port for the Antarctic traffic. At just two blocks of the city's main square, we provide you 45 warmly, large and comfortable rooms, decorated elegantly, with good taste and simplicity. Attended by a courteous and bilingual staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Rey Don Felipe

Address: Armando Sanhueza 965, Punta Arenas 6200729, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Price Range: RM487 - RM864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rey Don Felipe 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rey Don Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Punta Arenas
#1 Business Hotel in Punta Arenas
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Arenas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta Arenas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Rey Don Felipe staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Rey Don Felipe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask specifically for a room on an upper floor!”
 of 5 bubbles Sundance1, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles Q202ZKjanw, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the lobby floor are very loud”
 of 5 bubbles dclighttraveler, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you don´t get a room looking on to the parking lot.Ask if there any with a view I never asked”
 of 5 bubbles Juan57, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any room I believe would be fine”
 of 5 bubbles 362charlesl, 14 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5