We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
06/08/2017 07/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

    Calle 7 Infantes 9-45, Cartagena 130018, Colombia
    Hotel website
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    06/08/2017 07/08/2017
    Savings alert: 51% below average rate

    The price you found is 51% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$61/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$30
    View Deal
    Traveller (196)
    Room & Suite (82)
    Storyboard
    Hotel Quadrifolio
    401 reviews
    #1 of 155 hotels in Cartagena
     
    Hotel Casa San Agustin
    705 reviews
    #2 of 155 hotels in Cartagena
     
    San Pedro Hotel Spa
    425 reviews
    #3 of 155 hotels in Cartagena
     
    Alfiz Hotel
    486 reviews
    #4 of 155 hotels in Cartagena
     
    Overview
    • Excellent42%
    • Very good36%
    • Average14%
    • Poor4%
    • Terrible4%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Internet
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Laundry Service
    Free Parking
    Pool
    All hotel details
    Offers from El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
    Offers & Announcements: Package Deal
    Hotel Quadrifolio
    401 reviews
    #1 of 155 hotels in Cartagena
     
    Hotel Casa San Agustin
    705 reviews
    #2 of 155 hotels in Cartagena
     
    San Pedro Hotel Spa
    425 reviews
    #3 of 155 hotels in Cartagena
     
    Alfiz Hotel
    486 reviews
    #4 of 155 hotels in Cartagena
     
    {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (1,497)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages
    There are newer reviews for El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
    See the most recent reviews

    81 - 85 of 423 reviews

    Reviewed 1 October 2016

    I was here with a group of 7. We got an 8 person room for two nights and the total cost came to about $16/person USD. The staff was very knowledgeable and willing to speak English with us clueless gringos. Breakfasts were a bit meager...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank joshe504
    Response from Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena HostelResponded 3 October 2016

    Thanks a lot for your review! We´re glad your stay at El Viajero was enjoyable. We hope to have you again at one of our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento.

    Reviewed 26 September 2016

    Great location, handy to a large group of Cuban bars with Salsa music and mojitos, It does get hot this time of year, I found a pool at the Cuban 1940s bar (within 3 blocks) that kept me cooler. I did enjoy the place, the...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank CFEIII
    Response from Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena HostelResponded 26 September 2016

    Thank you so much for your comment. We are glad to know that your experience at El Viajero was great. We hope to see you soon at one of our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento.

    Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

    We stayed in the private room with en suite, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is not the best brcause of the lack of variety (toast or cereal) but bar is good and nice social areas with hammock and seats. Really lovely location in the old town...More

    Thank Lauren B
    Response from Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena HostelResponded 26 September 2016

    Thank you for your message! We are pleased to read your good comments and knowing that your stay was a good experience. We hope to see you again at our Hostels in Cartagena, San Andres, Cali or Salento.

    Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

    I was extremely unimpressed with this hostel and we have stayed in many during our stay in Colombia. The sheets were unclean and I had to move to a different room all three nights I stayed. The staff were rude, using their phone constantly and...More

    1  Thank emmadenning
    Response from Lugoco2, Propietario at El Viajero Cartagena HostelResponded 26 September 2016

    Sorry about that, Emma I will find out what night shift was so we can take further action. We are trully sorry.

    Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

    6 bed dorm is dirty and the sheets are filthy. The staff are extremely unhelpful and incompetent. They also move you out of your room without any warning and ignore you when you have a question. The salsa lessons are the best thing about this...More

    1  Thank shauna h
    Response from Lugoco2, Gerente at El Viajero Cartagena HostelResponded 19 September 2016

    Hi Shauna, sorry about your experience. We change the sheets every 3 days and give fresh ones for every new guest. Se ONLY move guests from rooms if they did not make the reservation complete because we are full allmost evreyday of te year. Best...More

    Hotel Quadrifolio
    401 reviews
    #1 of 155 hotels in Cartagena
     
    Hotel Casa San Agustin
    705 reviews
    #2 of 155 hotels in Cartagena
     
    San Pedro Hotel Spa
    425 reviews
    #3 of 155 hotels in Cartagena
     
    Alfiz Hotel
    486 reviews
    #4 of 155 hotels in Cartagena
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Internet
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Laundry Service
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Minibar
    • Things to do
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$16 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 23
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your El Viajero Cartagena Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Colombia >
    • Bolivar Department >
    • Cartagena District >
    • Cartagena
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (196)
    Room & Suite (82)
    Dining (19)
    Hotel & Grounds (235)
    Family and Play Areas (71)
    Bathroom (5)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
    Nearby
    Alfiz Hotel
    486 reviews
    .58 km away
     
    Hotel Quadrifolio
    401 reviews
    .42 km away
     
    San Pedro Hotel Spa
    425 reviews
    .17 km away
     
    Hotel Casa San Agustin
    705 reviews
    .33 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Moshi
    151 reviews
    .10 km away
    Carmen Restaurant Cartagena
    2,223 reviews
    .09 km away
    Bacco Trattoria
    633 reviews
    .09 km away
    La Mulata
    2,362 reviews
    .09 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Plaza de San Diego
    1,002 reviews
    .13 km away
    ChocoMuseo
    312 reviews
    .18 km away
    Iglesia de Santo Toribio
    128 reviews
    .17 km away
    Plaza Fernandez Madrid
    78 reviews
    .15 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Jaymee L
    14 March 2017|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from Samantha G | Reviewed this property |
    Yep! They called a taxi for us, we just let them know the time.
    1
    Vote
    Christina Y
    25 February 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Tory R | Reviewed this property |
    Yes, they never turned it off in our double room. That was great as I ended up catching a 24 hour flu while I was there and needed to sleep it off.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Try to find a way to cool down"
    Read review
    "Get the annex if you can! El anexo"
    Read review
    "A room away from the bar would be perffered. You can hear the music till around 11 or 12. Lockers with..."
    Read review
    "Me pareció todo bien . No tengo comentario"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing