We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Cartagena Plaza

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Cartagena Plaza
Hotel Cartagena Plaza
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

For just a few dollars more, you can have a butler, private check in, check out, lounge area with private breakfast, lots and lots of help. We ate at the buffet dinner one night, and will not repeat that. The food was overlooked, as in many buffets. Breakfast, however, was good. ( the executive breakfast does not include eggs, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent location. Clean ample rooms for two adults and two children two beds plus sofa bed. Little dated. $2.50 taxi ride to the Old City. $6.00 taxi ride to the airport. Lunch Dinner buffet not a bad deal at $15.00/ person but many restaurants in area offer better option if you don't mind walking. Bad choice to try to catch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmarti17
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The rooms are in a good size and the staff in the kidsclub are nice. That's probably the only positive things about this hotel. The hotel are warn out and the cleaning is bad. Some days they didn't even clean until 5 in the evening even though we were out all day. The pool area is small and they only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rasmus J
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Rasmus, thank you for contacting us, for us it is very important your opinion as it allows us to improve the delivery of our services. We regret that your stay at the Hotel has not been to your liking, we apologize for the inconveniences presented and we hope that your next visit will meet all your expectations. Cordially,  ...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
8 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I do not know where to start. When we arrived we didn't got any proper welcoming . The guy in the reception was stressed and almost like he was boughterd by our appearance. The cleaning was terrible and they didn't made up the room until in the afternoon when we arrived from the beach.! One day I borrowed the shuffle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for contacting us, for us it is very important your opinion as it allows us to improve the delivery of our services. We regret that your stay at the Hotel has not been to your liking, we apologize for the inconveniences presented and we hope that your next visit will meet all your expectations. Cordially,  ...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Smelly rooms (cheap perfume). Hot water faucet did not work. Beach in front ugly. Pushy street vendors incessantly harass you. Staff courteous and breakfast ok. Cartagena is beautiful but city beaches are awful. Playa Baru is beautiful but not worth the awful crowds, bad food, and harassing vendors. Do not recommend this hotel or Cartagena unless you stay in old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mfirpi
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest opinion. We have sent your comments to the processes involved. It is very unfortunate to hear that you do not recommend Cartagena de Indias as a tourist destination, but we hope you will give us another opportunity to show you that we have improved. Please let me know if you would like to discuss the...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

My wife an I visited Cartagena and purchase an all inclusive plan from Orbitz to stay at the Cartagena Plaza Hotel, we got to the hotel and they couldn't find our reservation, we were asked to step aside for about 30 minutes while they searched for the reservation. After that everything went downhill, they stated that Expedia sent them the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PLau1977
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review
Google Translation

Queremos darle las gracias por tomarse el tiempo de escribir su opinión acerca de su experiencia en el hotel Cartagena...

Sao Leopoldo, RS
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

It's supposed to be a 4-star hotel. I'd not rate like that. It's a very good hotel, but there are many things to improve. Especially if they want to be a real 4-star hotel! The worst thing about it is the elevator. We needed to use it, we were on the 9th floor with a baby using a stroller -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to improve our service. We will make sure that your complaints are transmitted to everyone. On the other hand, I will personally supervise them.

Reviewed 28 November 2016

AC (not central AC) and hair dryer did not work the first night of my stay...the repairman said it needed freon...tried to change rooms but couldn't because they were full for my first night...we hardly slept. The next day we changed rooms and I asked for a discount for the first night and I was told that someone from service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Radha A
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Radha A Yours sincerely, We appreciate and value your comments, these allow us to take the necessary actions and adjustments to improve the quality of the service that has characterized us. We hope to have it again with us to demonstrate the quality of our services, we tried to communicate with you several times and it was impossible because...

Reviewed 20 October 2016

I was a few weeks ago at the hotel and the experience was wonderful, great pool, beach really beautiful, the food, shops around and tours available within the hotel. However, I'd recommend instruct a bit more bell staff (not all) as there was one, I think Crisitian is his name, although I served well. I felt very uncomfortable, to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jhon M
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments for us are very important, as these help us better day after day. we will consider your User Input and take corrective action immediately to situations how are you not returning. I hope on your next vacation.

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Awesome location in Bocagrande, walking distance to everywhene (I even walked to the walled city!) right in front of the beach, be sure to get sea view room, and an awesome array of breakfast options, juice bar, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alantau
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Alantau We thank you for devoting some of your valuable time to leave us your comments, and allow customers to know the impression that like you, we prefer. We appreciate their valuable observation on the Servicesand and facilities. We hope very soon give a warm welcome soon and witness our improvements. Best regards Aura Amador Lopez Customer Service Coordinator

961 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (701)
Viewed
View from Room (80)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (125)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (24)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (203)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (215)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Executive King Room (25)
Viewed
Junior Suite Room (35)
Viewed
Ocean View Twin Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Suite Room (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
0.3 km away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#62 of 146 in Cartagena
559 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Dorado Plaza
Hotel Dorado Plaza
#122 of 146 in Cartagena
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#24 of 146 in Cartagena
1,326 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#15 of 146 in Cartagena
759 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#17 of 146 in Cartagena
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Cartagena Plaza

Address: Carrera 6 - 154 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Price Range: RM388 - RM749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartagena Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Cartagena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Cartagena Plaza staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Cartagena Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles rmarti17, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for central AC in your room”
 of 5 bubbles 162radhaa, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want to stay, I'd recommend 10th floor,it is quiet and very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles jhonm376, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the 10th floor is great!!! Private access only”
 of 5 bubbles brucestarnes, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at 10th floor are the best !”
 of 5 bubbles fhedmont, 31 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay