We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Cartagena Plaza

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Cartagena Plaza
Hotel Cartagena Plaza
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cartagena Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Showing 121: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

I do not know where to start. When we arrived we didn't got any proper welcoming . The guy in the reception was stressed and almost like he was boughterd by our appearance. The cleaning was terrible and they didn't made up the room until in the afternoon when we arrived from the beach.! One day I borrowed the shuffle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for contacting us, for us it is very important your opinion as it allows us to improve the delivery of our services. We regret that your stay at the Hotel has not been to your liking, we apologize for the inconveniences presented and we hope that your next visit will meet all your expectations. Cordially,  ...

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Smelly rooms (cheap perfume). Hot water faucet did not work. Beach in front ugly. Pushy street vendors incessantly harass you. Staff courteous and breakfast ok. Cartagena is beautiful but city beaches are awful. Playa Baru is beautiful but not worth the awful crowds, bad food, and harassing vendors. Do not recommend this hotel or Cartagena unless you stay in old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mfirpi
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest opinion. We have sent your comments to the processes involved. It is very unfortunate to hear that you do not recommend Cartagena de Indias as a tourist destination, but we hope you will give us another opportunity to show you that we have improved. Please let me know if you would like to discuss the...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

My wife an I visited Cartagena and purchase an all inclusive plan from Orbitz to stay at the Cartagena Plaza Hotel, we got to the hotel and they couldn't find our reservation, we were asked to step aside for about 30 minutes while they searched for the reservation. After that everything went downhill, they stated that Expedia sent them the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PLau1977
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review
Google Translation

Queremos darle las gracias por tomarse el tiempo de escribir su opinión acerca de su experiencia en el hotel Cartagena...

Sao Leopoldo, RS
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

It's supposed to be a 4-star hotel. I'd not rate like that. It's a very good hotel, but there are many things to improve. Especially if they want to be a real 4-star hotel! The worst thing about it is the elevator. We needed to use it, we were on the 9th floor with a baby using a stroller -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to improve our service. We will make sure that your complaints are transmitted to everyone. On the other hand, I will personally supervise them.

Reviewed 28 November 2016

AC (not central AC) and hair dryer did not work the first night of my stay...the repairman said it needed freon...tried to change rooms but couldn't because they were full for my first night...we hardly slept. The next day we changed rooms and I asked for a discount for the first night and I was told that someone from service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Radha A
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Radha A Yours sincerely, We appreciate and value your comments, these allow us to take the necessary actions and adjustments to improve the quality of the service that has characterized us. We hope to have it again with us to demonstrate the quality of our services, we tried to communicate with you several times and it was impossible because...

Reviewed 20 October 2016

I was a few weeks ago at the hotel and the experience was wonderful, great pool, beach really beautiful, the food, shops around and tours available within the hotel. However, I'd recommend instruct a bit more bell staff (not all) as there was one, I think Crisitian is his name, although I served well. I felt very uncomfortable, to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jhon M
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments for us are very important, as these help us better day after day. we will consider your User Input and take corrective action immediately to situations how are you not returning. I hope on your next vacation.

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Awesome location in Bocagrande, walking distance to everywhene (I even walked to the walled city!) right in front of the beach, be sure to get sea view room, and an awesome array of breakfast options, juice bar, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alantau
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Alantau We thank you for devoting some of your valuable time to leave us your comments, and allow customers to know the impression that like you, we prefer. We appreciate their valuable observation on the Servicesand and facilities. We hope very soon give a warm welcome soon and witness our improvements. Best regards Aura Amador Lopez Customer Service Coordinator

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Very well located. Dorm room is huge (at least the one I was in - beachfront). Staff very attentive. Minor flaws: very busy elevators, people in the pool not very polite (albait this is not, technically speaking, hotel's fault).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andre M
Clinton, New Jersey
Reviewed 29 July 2016

I was in Cartagena on a beach vacation. If you have the opprotunity to stay on the executive floor take it!!! Its a private floor with its own concierge (Afredo is a great attentive person), dinning, laundry service and much more and all this at an average price that will not break the bank... The beach in front of thehotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brucestarnes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Traveling with grandparents, smaller children and food allergies. The location is great, just in front of the beach and a short drive to all of Cartagena city attractions. We came to the hotel in the morning and were able to change and enjoy the beach. The front desk staff was very thoughtful and gave us one of the rooms a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adriana B
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Adriana B Our daily mission is to create memorable and pleasant stays at our guesthouse, therefore we are always giving our best to keep this promise. Our aim is that you leave the hotel satisfied and completely happy. We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel in Cartagena. Kind regards, Aura Amador López Customer Service

1,031 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (771)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (147)
Viewed
View from Room (86)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (117)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (223)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (215)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Executive King Room (25)
Viewed
Junior Suite Room (35)
Viewed
Ocean View Twin Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Suite Room (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
0.5 km away
Hotel Dorado Plaza
Hotel Dorado Plaza
#112 of 148 in Cartagena
971 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#66 of 148 in Cartagena
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#29 of 148 in Cartagena
1,390 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#15 of 148 in Cartagena
808 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Cartagena Plaza is located just 10 minutes away from the Rafael Nuñez International Airport and only 5 minutes away from the historic downtown. In front of the beaches of Bocagrande and steps away from casinos, boutiques, restaurants and banks. 311 standard rooms, suites and junior suites; Panoramic swimming pool on floor 18 with the best view to the Walled city and modern Bocagrande, also, recreation and entertainment for adults and children and “Pelikanos” Kids club. Delight your palade in our Le Place buffet Restaurant, with the best national and international food, or enjoy gourmet dishes in Kazabe Restaurant and Sushi Bar. Also, business center with wide band Internet, WI FI (FREE) in all the hotel, room service, safe deposit boxes, phone services, laundry, nursery, cafeteria, Rezak Bar Club Disco, luggage room,parking lot. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Cartagena Plaza

Address: Cra 1ra No 6-154 . | Barrio Bocagrande, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Price Range: RM362 - RM618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartagena Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Cartagena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Cartagena Plaza staff and other travellers.
48 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (48)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Cartagena Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The taxi driver outside the hotel can give some price and ask you raised price after.”
 of 5 bubbles Promodpuri, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Have more TV channels in English.”
 of 5 bubbles 133vidyag, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The executive floor (10th) offers personalized attention.”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“away from elevators, lots of Colombian families with noisy kids that run, but this is the culture...”
 of 5 bubbles johnpF7974KU, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles rmarti17, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5