We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,976 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,967: English reviews
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Berkeley for one night following a nephew's wedding. The room was clean and nicely decorated and had a bit of an ocean view. The only drawbacks - parking is $10/night and there is no free wifi. We did have a bit of fun looking for the ballroom in which my husband had his Junior Prom 47...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank black325
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and welcome back! We hope you don't wait 47 years for your next visit...Come back again!

Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Bellman, Theo Brown was outstanding! Despite computers being down, keys not working, wedding parties arriving all at once... Mr. Brown managed to keep MANY people very happy. He went out of his way to ensure our stay was enjoyable!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ehealeynha
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. Sometimes things happen at the worst time. Thankfully we have a great team that always pulls together. Please come back and visit us again!

Long Island, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

The renovated rooms were great. Nice lobby to sit and talk. Helpful and warm staff, from check in to checkout. Even the valet. Theo Brown was a nice sendoff. Reminding us to take our cell phone chargers. Staff was great. I would come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rdnr2016
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review! We agree our new rooms are great. Our team works very hard to see every guest enjoys their visit to The Berkeley Oceanfront. See us again please!

Philadelia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very accommodating and helpful. The front desk, our parking attendant, everyone was thoughtful and friendly. We got in an hour early in time to make our appointment, and we had a beautiful of Asbury Park and the beach! We were able to walk everywhere and even could watch the sun come up over the water from our room. Very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithfA8544OX
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us again very soon!

Jamaica Plain
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful in off-season. quiet and very comfortable. Hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. No restaurant available off-season. Nice food and fun available in short walk. Room was clean with magnificent ocean view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 89arthura
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review! We agree that off-season is just as fun and fabulous here at the shore. Come back and see us again!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ok for the price but the condition of the room was poor. Dresser didn't stay closed and had leather handles instead of knobs that were ripped off. Leather chair worn. Table tops water damaged. Shabby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lightpocket
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. However, we are continuing to upgrade our guest rooms. We hope you come back and see the progress we are making.

Fords
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not worth the money I pay for the night. Not happy with the Room! It was such an unpleasant stay. The room was very dirty and filthy. It looks like it was never clean, just the beds were made. The bathroom was very dirty. It needs a new bathroom tub. The remote for the tv didn't work and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryannd783
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that your visit was not enjoyable. Your comments are surprising and out of character for us. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our room product. Your concerns will be reviewed with our housekeeping team and addressed.

Whiting
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a very poor experience. Bed was awful. Room hot - used air. Services were almost non existent. Very noisy on all floors. No restaurant open - I realize it is off season - but if you are hosting a wedding then services should be available The little stor in Lobby was a disgrace - dirty - Woman at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B7806LTkennethm
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry for disappointing you during your visit. We will review your concerns and make the necessary changes to see that our guests have an enjoyable visit.

New London, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, nice rooms but some attention to detail is in order. Got a suite for a weekend in Asbury Park. Reservation needed adjusting as the picture was of the room I requested but the description was of a double king room..not what I was seeking. Took a few emails and calls to sort this out ahead of my arrival....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gigface
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our team works hard to see that every guest has an enjoyable visit. It was nice to see that you recognized their efforts. We will look into your concerns and see that they are corrected.

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

poor housekeeping solution to wet carpet at room foyer/bathroom entry that leaked in from hallway where there had been some kind of major water leak - put down blankets to absorb. (Also, we later discovered made carpet in closet wet, affecting shoes!) By morning, blankets were soaked, carpet still wet, and it smelled! Went to front desk who asked us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbaracA3250MJ
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry for the troubles you experienced during your stay. There are no excuses for these issues. I can assure you we will look into each of your concerns to see that we take the proper corrective actions. Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns.

302 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (272)
Viewed
Room/Suite (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.3 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
165 reviews
0.7 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
276 reviews
8.8 km away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
145 reviews
8.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
299 reviews
3.3 km away
Super 8 Asbury Park
Super 8 Asbury Park
#6 of 6 in Asbury Park
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As historic Asbury Park's premier boutique hotel, The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel enjoys a prime location along the New Jersey shoreline just steps from the famed boardwalk. Designed by noted Beaux Arts architect Warren Whitney of New York, the hotel recently underwent a renovation of historic proportions and is poised to experience the renaissance of this nineteenth-century seaside destination. Modern luxuries complement the classic grandeur of this 238-room famous hotel, with a nod to the Victorian architecture and oceanfront glamour of Asbury Park's storied past. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel embodies everything that is the revitalization of the famed Jersey Shore and itself represents the rebirth of this cultural icon. The Berkeley offers a bar and restaurant during the summer season only. Parking is available in our lot at an additional cost. Parking is provided on a first come, first serve basis as it is limited. The Berkeley prides itself on being a pet friendly hotel. Pet friendly rooms are offered on a designated floor at an additional cost. A complimentary coffee service is available daily from 7 AM to 11 AM for all overnight guests. For questions or concerns, please reach out to the email provided on our general information page. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Price Range: RM551 - RM911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
over a year ago
6 months ago
Hudson, New York
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
6 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Its pet friendly on the 4th floor”
 of 5 bubbles rotololaw, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Hotel thinks it's luxury, guests do not”
 of 5 bubbles alicat227, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is a roof deck accessible only by the center elevator. Great views of the Jersey shore on a clear day.”
 of 5 bubbles jmtaylor311, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Seek out Theo Brown, the doorman--great guy and a pleasant way to wait for the shuttle :)”
 of 5 bubbles Anelia1, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for ocean view, corner room was very large”
 of 5 bubbles lmetcalf, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay