We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Fernandina

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Fernandina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 78: English reviews
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016

The hotel has its attractions, such as location near the main drag and a laid back ambiance, but it also has some issues with providing hot water in a reliable manner. The staff is great and willing to help. Breakfast could definitely be expanded from the basics currently provided.

Thank Michael G
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel has seen better days. It's not run down or in bad condition but you can sense it's seen better days. The location is fine, a 5 minute walk from the Main Street where you can find a good choice of restaurants and not 10 minutes away you can find Calle los kioskos which is a street lined in... More 

1 Thank Eddie L
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2016

We only stayed 1 night but everything was great! Thankfully they had an english speaking front desk staff who was very informative and helpful and kind. Our room was perfect. Beds comfortable, bathroom spacious. AC worked. No TV. The pool looked nice but we didnt have time to swim. The food was delicious but we didnt know what we were... More 

Thank Tiffani M
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

The rooms were clean but Spartan and shabby. The bathroom had a shower that belatedly delivered warm water but only if you left it running. - - not a sound practice in a location where fresh water is a scarce resource. The service was extremely poor. We waited an hour for more than the single towel that had been left.... More 

Thank ptesche

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Ayora hotels

Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

We were assigned room 9 in the back corner if the hotel and after being there for an hour, and unhappy with the place, found a nuch better hotel just a block away... the Hotel Silberstein. The desk manager who was very nice seemed rushed and overworked because he had other responsibilities that took him away from the office, leaving... More 

1 Thank BillyTraveler
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Lovely hotel with a wonderful staff, clean rooms, refreshing swimming pool, excellent breakfast, great location for touring Santa Cruz, Bartolome and Santa Fe Islands. We were on a land-based tour with BikeHike Adventures, and really enjoyed being able to connect to the local culture, along with the extraordinary wildlife.

1 Thank AVF4849
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
516 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2015

There are fancier hotels in town with better views - and much higher prices - but "the Ferd" is a clean, comfortable, reasonably-maintained place to stay in PA. It is a couple of short blocks' walk from the bustling waterfront. The Ferd has a pleasant outdoor courtyard to socialize in, as well as a modest outdoor pool. Rooms are simple... More 

1 Thank ROCtraveler30
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2015

This hotel is a nice find, off the busy streets but very easily accessible. Close to the Charles Darwin Research Station and an easy walk into town. The rooms were spacious, kept very clean, and had AC although we never used it because the weather was so nice. The staff were very helpful, especially Teo who helped us with arrange... More 

1 Thank 25Paul
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Level Contributor
264 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights as we left our catamaran. The room was clean and looked after every day. The breakfast was very average but you could eat. The staff were ok, some nicer than others but not very friendly. Is just in the outskirts of town but well placed to walk in (and get a little exercise) value... More 

Thank Karen M
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
472 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

Good hotel with great breakfast that is available before all tours. Nice rooms but no tv and wifi is poor but was not a problem for us as we were out the whole time but good to know if that is important to you. Good stay and only about three blocks from the restaurants in town. Nice place

3 Thank JA Experiences N
HotelFernandina2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fernandina, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate that you have taken a few minutes to leave us your comment. Is nice to hear that you had a good experience with us. Fernandina Hotel helps protect the environment by using electricity as little as possible for this reason we have no TV in the rooms expect you to know and understand our reasons allow... More 

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (54)
Room/Suite (7)
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Family/Play Areas (6)
View from Room (3)
Bathroom (1)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (9)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
276 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#9 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
86 reviews
0.3 km away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
764 reviews
0.4 km away
Cucuve Suites
Cucuve Suites
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
23 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#11 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Fernandina is a warm and welcoming place where you can stay either alone, with family or friends and enjoy your visit to the Galapagos Islands, allowing us to provide you an excellent service as you deserve. We offer 22 rooms with air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and WiFi. We are located in a very quiet residential area just 10 minutes from the Charles Darwin Station and few minutes from the main attractions of the town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Fernandina

Address: Av. 12 Noviembre y Piqueros, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Price Range: RM835 - RM1,095 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Fernandina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fernandina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandina Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Fernandina Puerto Ayora, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Fernandina staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Fernandina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All of the rooms come with free wifi but you need to be patient in accessing the Internet.”
 of 5 bubbles K7928TYmichaelg, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed a second floor room which was out of the way a bit of the coming and going of other guests.”
 of 5 bubbles 25Paul, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Doors mostly face an open patio area. Upstairs rooms will have less foot traffic in front of the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles FamilyofG, 6 Jan 2015 | Read review
“The rooms are inside a court so noise was not a problem. No view to speak of, so any room is probably okay.”
 of 5 bubbles Ioannisutah, 8 Dec 2014 | Read review
“not recommended!”
 of 5 bubbles Attyev, 11 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay