We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oy's la Homestay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Oy\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 54: English reviews
Start your review of Oy's la Homestay
 Click to rate
Cascais, Portugal
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely, peaceful cafe, with great ambiance,comfortable seats, interesting photos on the walls. Good food - went for snacks only. Very good coffee. Had a nice time, staff very pleasant and helpful. Will go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbempis
BejoyMathew, Owner at Oy's la Homestay, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time out to review the cafe. You have left a review on the homestay page which is located in a different part of Fort Kochi but nonetheless we really appreciate the feedback for our beloved cafe!! Hope to see you back very very soon!!

Romford Essex
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Very nice cafe with great ambiance. Serve great coffee. The menu looked good too although we never ate here. Very cool and attentive staff. I would consider staying here if we returned to Kochi in the future

 Report
Helpful?
Thank curlylynn
bejoy m, Owner at Oy's la Homestay, responded to this review

Hello there! Thank you so much for your lovely review. Unfortunately, you have reviewed on the homestay page rather than the cafe! Either way we appreciate such wonderful feedback! Hope to see you back here soon :)

Pune, India
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

Overview: unsafe, unclean and overpriced. Go ANYwhere else for a more enjoyable visit. This is possibly the worst homestay in Kochi. The landlady has a pending case of attempt to murder against her in the Ernakulam High Court. Additionally, she habitually extorts guests by filing false cases against them (her brother is a policeman at the Fort Kochi Station). For...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wilder N
London
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

Went for lunch after reading good reviews, ordered a burger, which was the only thing on the menu apart from sandwiches. Took 15 minutes for them to inform me that they were out of fish and meat........left for somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackthekeenhiker
bejoy m, Owner at Oy's la Homestay, responded to this review

Hello Jack. I apologise that you did not have a positive experience at Oy's Cafe. We often only order beef depending on the demand so we can't always promise that on the menu. Since your trip we have now updated the menu to adjust to such changes. We hope you can look past this and come back to Oy's again...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Excellent Kiwi / Indian cafe. Excellent wifi and friendly service. We came here twice during our stay in Kochi. Prices are a little higher than other places but the place is very comfortable. There is a great menu and drinks are made with ice from mineral water

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmking1984
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2016

This is the best place in Kochi Fort for a healthy breakfast - large fruit salads, muesli and curd with eggs done the way you like and toast with butter and jam. If you're a coffee addict, the espresso is delicious. It has free wifi and is a great place to hang out with comfortable chairs and sofas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiziri
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 26 November 2015

We came several times here for breakfast, and we will definitely recommend it! Great food, really fresh and always with delicious fruit. Cozy and laid-back ambience, you will need time though: service is a bit slow. Good wifi connection! Also, they have a travel desk. For us they organised a driver for a day-trip to Munnar, which all went smoothly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astridmole
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewed 8 October 2015

I have never stayed at this place but yes I went there to see the place for my future stay. It was very nice place; I met the guy who runs this place, he was really cool. It is very nice Home-stay; room was also clean and with clean washroom. There is small sitting downstairs where you can get your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monicathakur20
Reviewed 22 March 2015

Stayed for a couple of days and mainly because we recognised the name from Lonely Planet - big mistake! The room was over priced, warm and with lots of mosquitos. The free wifi did not work at any time. We received no commitment and very minimum service from the owner and it really felt like she only wanted your money....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank busy2bee
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 22 March 2015

Over all impression: tidy rooms, tired, non enthusiastic land lady, expensive. In fact, it seems like they are getting customers because they're in the lonley planet.... Room rates: had to pay rs1200 for a fan double room...including breakfast but still! Too expensive for what we got. Not good value. We have read 500 in the lonley planet (quite old but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lankwaifong75

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.9 km away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#74 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
84 reviews
1.0 km away
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Vasco Da Gama Inn
#91 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
74 reviews
1.0 km away
Adam's Old Inn
Adam's Old Inn
#151 of 415 in Kochi (Cochin)
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Chiramel Residency
Chiramel Residency
#42 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
119 reviews
1.1 km away
The Travellers Inn
The Travellers Inn
#65 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
11 reviews
1.1 km away
Fort Bridge View Homestay
Fort Bridge View Homestay
#22 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Oy's la Homestay

Address: K B Jacob Road | near Basilica Church, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: RM62 - RM75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Oy's La Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oy's la Homestay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely opt for air con”
 of 5 bubbles Amel_Ibrahim, 22 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Best room is top floor, far left, facing the street. Great view, quite spacious, and comfy beds!”
 of 5 bubbles 12zachk, 15 Jan 2014 | Read review
“There are only three rooms - a/c is not necessary and is hard to control - we found it so cold we asked for it to be switched off after the first night, which then reduced the bill from 1800 or 1600 - we were quoted both figures at different times.... down to 1200. There are frequent power cuts but Oys does not have its own generator.”
 of 5 bubbles LyndaR411, 3 Feb 2013 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles emmaw191, 21 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Cannot comment on their other two hotels but the one located above the cafe is great”
 of 5 bubbles Jan_Bell123, 4 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5