Ginger Kochi, MG Road

Ginger Kochi, MG Road

Traveller (167)
One Bedroom Suite
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#62 of 396 hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Nestled in the vibrant heart of Kochi, Kerala, Ginger Kochi MG Road, one the best hotel near Kochi Airport, offers unparalleled comfort and convenience at an attractive price. Designed for both work and play, this Lean Luxe hotel offers 73 well-appointed rooms, Qmin - our signature all-day diner, a state-of-the-art Fitness Centre, Swimming Pool and more to ensure a seamless stay. Ginger Kochi, MG Road also features a meeting room with a guest capacity of 25 people and a spacious banquet hall, adding to its versatility for various events and gatherings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Modern
Languages Spoken
Hindi

Location

Doraiswami Iyer Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682035 India
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 72 out of 100
72
Kochi Airport
22.6 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles535 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Located in the heart of the city, Ginger Kochi, MG Road hotel garners praise for its prime location and value, offering travelers a comfortable stay at an affordable price. While the hotel's service is generally commended for the staff's politeness and professionalism, there have been a few mentions of slower service at check-in. Guests appreciate the clean and cozy rooms, despite some noting their compact size and occasional maintenance issues. The hotel's amenities, including the swimming pool and in-room services, receive mixed reviews, indicating some areas for improvement.
Location
Central
Rooms
Basic
Value
Affordable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
535Reviews6Q+A63Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 246
  • 174
  • 52
  • 30
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
rajesh Ghy wrote a review Jan 2020
Guwahati, India
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the hotel during .y first visit to Kerala and I believe u may find better hotels at the price .
Reception ok
Restaurants definitely need to improve on service .it is slow
Rooms good
Bathrooms are old
Amenities good
Need to place tooth brush paste and
Room slippers
Robes etc
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TJSINSON, General Manager at Ginger Kochi, MG Road
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear sir thank you very much for reviewing us , we would like to express our sincere thanks for staying with us , thank you very much for bringing the listed points to our notice, we assure you that we will take serious care in rectifying the issues , as we are committed to offer a guest maximum possible satisfaction we will definitely improve the service standards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alfred wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very safe and hygienic hotel with good safety measures from the entrance to the room. Friendly and prompt resposive staffs made my stay more comfortable .The location of the hotel is a great advantage,as it is centric to many tourist destinations.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SINSON T J Dunes Hotels, Owner at Ginger Kochi, MG Road
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Dear sir we would like to thankyou for being our valued guest , we are very happy and thankful to you for chosing to stay with the dunes cochin , hope you will choose to stay with us again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Audra J wrote a review Apr 2024
Secret Harbour, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 2 nights. Excellent staff, room is small but clean, aircon works well but there was a low drumming noise outside the double glazed window. No opening window. Bed is clean and comfy. Safe and fridge in room. Lift works well. Towels are fine. Good breakfast variety. Nice cool clean foyer.

Easy walk to modern mall with cinema, KFC and Taco Bell, other restaurants and shops.

More like a business hotel than resort. Pool had algae, we told them but nothing was done by the next morning when we left. Gym was hot, but it had been a couple of very hot days.
Overall, a nice stay, just don't expect resort facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Perhaps, if it is , ask them to put the aircon on in your room before you arrive!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ginger Delight Specialist, Owner at Ginger Kochi, MG Road
Responded 30 Apr 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted to hear that you had an overall pleasant experience during your two-night stay. It's great to know that you found our staff excellent and that your room, despite being small, was clean and comfortable. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise outside the window and the absence of an opening window. Your feedback regarding the pool and gym facilities has been noted, and we will address these issues to ensure a better experience for our guests in the future. We're glad that you enjoyed the breakfast variety and found our foyer cool and clean. Additionally, we're pleased to hear that our hotel's location made it convenient for you to access nearby amenities and attractions. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an even better stay in the future. Warm regards, Hotel Manager Ginger Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vineeth V wrote a review Dec 2023
Ajman, United Arab Emirates
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It's a heavily understaffed property. When I checked in, only 1 lady was attending to customers. After raising the issue of delay, she called in her colleague. Property is located centrally which is an advantage. During the stay, experienced multiple power disruptions. The most scary one was when I was stuck in the lift. No emergency power backup for lifts. I was stuck in for almost 5-7 minutes. No phone is available on lifts to call in such situations. The bell option on the lift to raise the alarm doesn't work. I was almost on the verge of a panic attack. When I raised the concern with reception, the lady didn't have a clue about the issue. Spoke to GM Rajesh, but the only thing he could do is to apologize and call the technician. I am not sure why such issues are not detected during the regular checkups. Don't bother to go for in-room dining as they will take their own sweet time to deliver. Additionally, no one picks up calls when you dial in-room dining. If you arrange for a callback, you will never hear back. I had to call the GM at 11 pm, to follow up on my request for a plate and spoon as no one bothered about my request even after more than an hour of placing the request.

In no way the property and service can match IHCL standards. If location is all that it counts, travellers can opt for the property, if not, there are better options available for the same or lesser prices.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ginger Delight Specialist, Owner at Ginger Kochi, MG Road
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review with us regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced during your visit. We take all guest feedback seriously and are always striving to improve our guest experience. Regards, Hotel Manager Ginger Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean159 wrote a review Feb 2023
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a few nights at the start of our most recent trip to India, after having sat in reception for five hours as there was no room available for early check in after a 10 hour flight and we were not even offered a cup of tea, the place is basically tired. Our room wasn’t anything special and quite frankly disappointing. We had breakfast included in our package which was also uninspiring. The rooftop pool didn’t look like there had been any recent attempt at cleaning it and I doubt I would have even washed my wellingtons in there it wasn’t nice. See photos they don’t lie. As for the spa option, again see photo not welcoming at all. I have no idea why a UK tour operator would opt to put guests in this hotel as there are far better options to chose from. This hotel is also one of many “dry” hotels in this time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, The Grand just down the road is much better.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sumithran wrote a review Jan 2024
Navi Mumbai, India
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is just off the MG Road and the location is the only good thing about the hotel. The check-in took quite some time as the receptionist could not confirm my payment though it was done through the IHCL website. Rooms are very small and not well maintained. There is no luggage rack and wifi speed is quite slow. The biggest issue is that nobody attends to the phone calls to either for in-room dining or reception. The breakfast buffet is average in taste and variety and refilling is quite slow. Some dishes are also never refilled unless you request for them. I couldn't believe this is a IHCL property even though the branding is Ginger. To top it all, it is highly overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ginger Delight Specialist, Owner at Ginger Kochi, MG Road
Responded 30 Jan 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review with us regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced during your visit. We take all guest feedback seriously and are always striving to improve our guest experience. Regards, Hotel Manager Ginger Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lalitha k wrote a review Aug 2022
Singapore
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel looks so nice on the website but the real thing is not seen there. The bed,pillows were horrible there was no doormat put at the bathing area and water come into the whole area very discusting. Am the sure the management look into these complaints for better service to customers. Put a toel hook to hang your towel behind the door not ahead of the toilet bowl. Extra blankets and pillows has to be put in the cupboard for use. This hotel needs to be refurbish for a pleasant stay. Location good. This review is done with a view of further improvement
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SINSON T J Dunes Hotels, General Manager at Ginger Kochi, MG Road
Responded 16 Dec 2022
Dear sir many thanks for writing a positive review like this , actualy even after doing our maximum efforts to make a guest happy with professional attitude , we always belive that there is always a room for improvement that is why we are always looking into even negative comments positively . we are more than happy to understand and ready to correct the issues you have pointed out we hope we will have another chance to serve you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anupama c wrote a review Jun 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hi friends,

We visited from US with my family to meet my friends and family after pandemic.

We did not have plan to visit This hotel then on the way to my home town alappuzha we got late so had a sudden plan to go to dunes hotel. Instead of staying at the random hotel we were taken by my beastie to Dunes hotel

Wow!

It was amazing experience and very natural place.

ar the entrance, ground office great welcome by

staffs with flowerised smiles ! We got beautifully decorated rooms which is very convenient and peaceful sleep.

Very hygienic and very well maintained!

delicious breakfast,

I did not count each time the items but more than variety breakfast. Just tasting 1 spoon each items my tummy got so full. South indian, north indian and continental! Oh my God! Waiting for my next vsit with few more days stay!

We love pictures taking, each side of the lobby with nicely painted walls! Simply superb!

Ohh!it is taking big story to complete.

Thanks to the staff such a wonderful
Stay

Cannot wait until next visit! Hope you have fun!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SINSON T J Dunes Hotels, Owner at Ginger Kochi, MG Road
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Dear sir we would like to thank you for writing such a wonderful review ,we were blessed with your presence , and thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve you , we are very happy to understand that your stay was comfortable . we hope you will choose to stay with us again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DorrisET wrote a review Oct 2023
New Delhi, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable stay and central
Location. Ashima at the reception was warm and welcoming - always seen her working with a smile on her face. Some
Recommendations for the hotel - to have basic amenities placed in the room like bathroom slippers, tissues and bath robes. We were also lucky to get an upgrade. Overall good stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ginger Delight Specialist, Owner at Ginger Kochi, MG Road
Responded 24 Oct 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. Your feedback motivates us to do better. We value your patronage and sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you again to Ginger Hotels. Regards, Hotel Manager Ginger Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Connector57095591144 wrote a review Sept 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place with great service and good view of the city. I recommend this hotel for anyone who is visiting kochi for official and unofficial purposes. The location of the hotel is at City centre and accessible to all the facilities within the city. The hotel staff are nice and friendly. Thanks to Jerin, avanthika and vibin for good hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ginger Delight Specialist, Owner at Ginger Kochi, MG Road
Responded 5 Oct 2023
Dear Guest, We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, especially the service provided by the hotel team. Thank you for your recognition of their efforts. It inspires us to keep raising our levels of service and helps us understand our guests even more. We do hope that you will visit us again soon and look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Hotel Manager Ginger Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from HarishankarDunes
Kochi (Cochin), India
Dear Sir, We can arrange the same; please drop an email pointing total pax, date and etc.
Aman D asked a question May 2017
Damoh, India41 contributions21 helpful votes
Is market located near hotel ?
Answer from studdharris
Kochi (Cochin), India10 contributions1 helpful vote
yes it is at the heart of the city there are malls and a very famous sareer shop know as jayalaxmi
Escape04271106718 wrote a tip 18 Jun
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for extra pillows they're quite thin."
Read full review
Viraj Pai wrote a tip May 2024
India32 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the traffic in peak hours to reach the hotel. "
Read full review
Kheena A wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The only drawback would be related to the swimming pool which may contains a high amount of chlorine! Becareful if you have sensitive eyes!"
Read full review
Audra J wrote a tip Apr 2024
Secret Harbour, Australia112 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perhaps, if it is , ask them to put the aircon on in your room before you arrive!"
Read full review
433sagi wrote a tip Mar 2024
Bangalore10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You can call helpdesk for tooth brush and paste. They dont keep while providing the room. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kochi (Cochin) area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 170 - RM 226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Dunes Cochin
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaErnakulam DistrictKochi (Cochin)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
73
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GINGER KOCHI, MG ROAD (R̶M̶ ̶2̶4̶1̶) RM 217: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 196 Photos (Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ginger Kochi, MG Road
Which popular attractions are close to Ginger Kochi, MG Road?
Nearby attractions include Centre Square Mall (0.2 km), Salem Marthoma Church (0.4 km), and Jayalakshmi (0.10 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ginger Kochi, MG Road?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Ginger Kochi, MG Road?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ginger Kochi, MG Road?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Ginger Kochi, MG Road?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ginger Kochi, MG Road?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pai Dosa, Barbeque Nation, and Pai Brothers Fast Food.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ginger Kochi, MG Road?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Ginger Kochi, MG Road have airport transportation?
Yes, Ginger Kochi, MG Road offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Ginger Kochi, MG Road offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Ginger Kochi, MG Road?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Edappally Church Complex (5.3 km), St. George Orthodox Koonan Kurish Old Syrian Church (3.8 km), and Aspinwall House (4.8 km).
Does Ginger Kochi, MG Road have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Kochi (Cochin) HotelsKochi (Cochin) Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)Hotels near Ginger Kochi, MG Road
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire