We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vasco Homestay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vasco Homestay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vasco Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed here for only one night, and by accident (it's a long story of public transportation fiascos and sudden changes of plan). The building is very interesting historically; there are claims of Vasco da Gama living and dying here, which, even if unsubstantiated, bring a certain mystique and romance to the place. The room was interesting but a bit...

3Thank Laurel G
Chandigarh, India
Reviewed 17 August 2012

A great location (right next to St. Francis Church). Nice big airy room. Basic but functional with old world furniture and paintings. A great way to relax in Kochi The owners are helpful. The breakfast could include more items though!

Thank anuragc1971
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I stayed at the Homestay in March 2012 for three days/Nights and at the beginning everything was fine, Mr. George seemed to be a very kind and helpful man.. It's true, that the rooms are very large and that it is a historical place - but if you travel alone it's really too expensive because you don't need 3 beds...

1Thank Elisabeth A
georgesantosh, Owner at Vasco Homestay, responded to this review

First of all thank you, for staying with us ,I never asked you any rent when you checked in because ,its was all decided earlier by many letters and reply's and accordingly you agreed to pay me,..While staying with us and till the time you left you where so kind and happy Now I am really sad to know your...

Reviewed 29 April 2012

An old building, large rooms, comfortable beds, clean and well maintained, the St.Francis Church visible from the windows, a very friendly Mr.George and most things a short walk away made this a great place to stay at Fort Kochi. Nope, all wasn't perfect - they forgot to add the toiletry (and we forgot to ask since we were carrying some...

Thank Sameer S
Marseille, France
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I have stayed in Kochi for 3 nights and have totally loved the place. Sort of a tamed Indian city...Vasco Homestay was perfect for me, i had a vast room in a very good and quiet location.

1Thank Antoine P
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed at this 500 yr heritage homestay for a couple of nights in Feb 2012. Great location as everything is within walking distance.Mr. Santosh the proprietor is a charming helpful man. They offered breakfast with the room rent but it was a bit of a disappointment. I was hoping for a more hearty breakfast than the two slices of bread...

Thank samgurung
georgesantosh, Owner at Vasco Homestay, responded to this review

Thanks for being my guest.While staying with us for three nights of your honey moon days we where open and friendly. We guided you and also arranged transportation If you had openly said or put a word that you are not happy with this breakfast individually (small pot of Coffe 300ml or Tea,two slice of Bread ,jam and butter &,300ml...

Harderwijk, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed in Vasco House for three days in February 2012.We found it an Ideal location to see Fort Cochin.For Rs.50 we had a three wheeler tour of Ft.Cochin with a running commentary of the sites we were passing!! Regarding the guesthouse itself we found it cosy having an old world charm.The rooms were with high ceilings of colonial times...

Thank Natarajan S
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 23 February 2012

George and his wife are absolute delights. Helpful, accommadating. We were picked up at the airport and arrived late. George kindly made us feel at home with some fruits and tea. We stayed for 6 nights.The rooms are huge, with a private sitting area, mosquito nets for the beds. We still sprayed ourselves when outside the net. Great corners if...

1Thank Ruby R
Umeå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at the Vasco homestay for 2 nights. I can certainly recommend this accommodation. The room was spacious and clean, 2 beds covered with mosquito netting. Vasco homestay is located in the heart of Cochin within walking distance of everything. The price, 1500R per room, breakfast included. The owners were very nice and helpful. This was the best accommodation...

1Thank Anna S
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 18 December 2011

It is an excellent experience to stay in heritage 500 years building with great maintenance.As it was our marriage anniversary we stayed there and Santosh had done good decoration with flowers,Rooms are very big and have chess, carom board,good variety of books. Also this place is very near to all visiting places in cochin. I really loved and will visit...

Thank Pradeep P

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (26)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Room/Suite (7)
Family/Play Areas (2)
View from Room (1)
Dining (2)
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (13)
Room/Suite (8)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Bathroom (4)


  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Heritage Portuguse house which is about 500 years old building believed to be the residence of Vasco Da Gama (Vasco House) the Portuguese Navigator who found the sea route to India ,died in 1524 on Christmas Eve,and his tomb stone is in St:Francis Church. WE have two executive rooms and two basic rooms,We have our Coffee Shop serve breakfast also take advance orders for keralan Lunch and Dinner and a Travel Desk where we arrange House Boats and other package tours in Kerala ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vasco Homestay

Address: Rose Street, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: RM75 - RM101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vasco Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Vasco Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasco Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vasco Homestay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Big rooms,bedroom and living room area.lots of space”
stephenmA9561SH, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the room facing Rose st, which we loved.”
  • Our room.
alisha_2046, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Corner room is huge with high ceiling and fans (no air con). Pretty hot at night but they will give you more fans if needed.”
amysala, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We had a huge family room with breakfast included but cheaper options are available.”
tammer2016, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Both are very good, for what I saw.”
alicetq, 7 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5