We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Smiling Hill

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Smiling Hill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Rooms not very clean Mosquitoes in the restaurent area..lots of them. Pool stinks.. dont even think to go in Location poor....far from city No phone in room Cleaning staff comes without informing.. without knocking the door. .. Evn after booking was made..when we went there...we were informed that room was allocated to someone else..had to wait for half an hour... More 

Helpful?
Thank roy30466
Douglas C, General Manager at Smiling Hill, responded to this review

Wow! It seems you had a most unfortunate experience and we are sorry for that. We are surprised at the comment re room cleanliness as our cleaning staff are very diligent and our feedback from other guests is typically very positive. I apologize also that you had to wait before your room became available. We try to allow early check-ins... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Its huge. You get comfy beds and 2 bathrooms. Nice living room and fully equipped kitchen. The breakfast was average but it was decent. We were abit confused when we arrived as we requested for someone to pick us up at the ferry terminal but no one was there. We ended up taking the taxi but some drivers may not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naddie S
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2016

As the taxi drove us through some very poor areas, we were sceptical. But it was wonderful! Our two roomed apartment was clean, cool and spacious. A short walk to the main complex, good pool, great food and we couldn't ask for better friendlier service. Douglas and his staff were always on hand to help us.

Helpful?
Thank Asha P
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

What I like about this place is the flexibility, the hospitality, clean place and nice people. I work in a service industry so I am very particular about service and cleanliness. When we decided to book at smiling hill I did not really expect too much. We paid for 2 nights for 5 people $274 SGD (includes 3% surcharge for... More 

Helpful?
Thank jonag747
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2016

My friends celebrated my bachelor party and it was an awesome party with 11 other guys.. We were given separate pool side location for the party which lasted whole night and it's very reasonable. The staff were very friendly and since we liked a bit spicy food, we were also given a chance to cook our self which is another... More 

Helpful?
Thank XUV5OO
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

After reading review from nocompromise2015 I totally agreed with the reviews. My partner and I were there for Xmas Day lunch as well . Thinking that it was owned by a Bule (white), it should be good . However, there was no Xmas feelings in the air except for repetitive Xmas carols. Food was a disaster. Like what nocompromise2015 mentioned,... More 

Helpful?
Thank FizaZul

Travellers are raving about these Batam hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Thought I'd give this place a try out. Visited for Xmas lunch. From the start the journey there was very depressing especially when one is nearing the location. Nothing to rave about. And when we arrived it was like no man's land..no one showed the way knowing we are tourists and not locals. Ask for the drink list and was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nocompromise2015
Mortsel
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

I spend around 10 days at the hotel. A clean and nice place. Everybody was very friendly. If I visit Batam again, I will definitely go there again. Ok, maybe the room is not the most modern, but the friendliness of the staff and nice pool made it all worth. I also loved Goodies! Great place, good food and lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank N
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I was looking for a place to do leadership training with about 14 people. After considering several places I finally landed on this place. It doesn't fit into the category of hotel or resort but it suited our needs absolutely perfectly. We hired 3 X 2 bedroom apartments which each had a fully equipped kitchen, lounge and dining room -... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HowardMyers
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed in two bedroom serviced apartment, as two couples, set up is great well equipped if you stay longer and choose to cook in, got cable TV so easy to chill out and relax at night, Pool is cleaned daily whichnimproves impressive, kids will join you and talk as kids tend to do but they are pleasant and not rude,... More 

Helpful?
Thank 354sineadj

66 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Batam hotels
5.9 km away
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
4.1 km away
I Hotel Baloi
I Hotel Baloi
#1 of 21 in Nagoya
258 reviews
3.2 km away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
#1 of 6 in Batu Ampar
535 reviews
2.7 km away
Grand I Hotel
Grand I Hotel
#15 of 94 in Batam
333 reviews
9.9 km away
Nongsa Point Marina & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
SMILING HILL GUEST HOUSE & SERVICED APARTMENTS ...... Is a unique accommodation alternative located in the heart of a local community on the Indonesian island of Batam. We offers a range of very comfortable and affordable short and long stay rental apartments, studios and guest house rooms especially tailored for the needs of expats while being perfect for local travelers too. FRIENDLY Western management and ownership, with a wealth of local knowledge, upbeat and helpful staff, pleasant laid back atmosphere, excellent and well-maintained facilities and great food ... Is a winning combination that makes Smiling Hill one of the most popular places in Batam for expatriates to gather and relax, especially for family groups. It is very conveniently located within 2 klms of Harbour Bay Ferry Terminal and down town Nagoya and Jodoh.... Where the shopping is great an the local culture is vibrant. If your looking for an opportunity to connect with the local culture whilst in a comfortable and supportive environment this is the place ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smiling Hill

Address: Palm Hill Bungalows A/18 | Batu Ampar, Riau Islands Province 29457, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Price Range: RM214 - RM348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smiling Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Smiling Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Smiling Hill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“free space..”
 of 5 bubbles XUV5OO, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles HowardMyers, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay