We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 428: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
 Click to rate
Kiamesha Lake, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

An outstanding establishment! spotlessly clean,, dedicated pleasant and knowledgable staff,excellent shuttle service, and delicious breakfast. a special thank you to the manager who so kindly recharged our dead battery on a frigid january morning.we will stay here again! Thank you soo much!! Jim&Sandy

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alexandra l
Ojonesy26, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Jim and Sandy, Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We think we have the best staff around! We hope the next time you are in Albany you will consider stopping back to say Hello! Shannon Jones Director of Sales and Marketing

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First off . sketchy area - for two girls arriving at night after all day travels - we had to park in a sketchy parking lot across the street and walk to the entrance. Not a good start prior to even checking in. Check-in was quick and seamless however - no mention of being an IHG gold member - or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebecca w
Ojonesy26, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Rebecca, We are very sorry you did not have a good experience at our hotel. The city of Albany is working very hard to improve the surrounding area and recently received a grant to improve the streets surrounding the hotel. As the city of Albany is trying to improve the area, we are making improvements to the hotel. We agree...

Amityville, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was a little concerned when I learned the hotel was undergoing renovations. The hotel has made every effort not to inconvenience the guests and there were no complaints about noise or dust. The rooms and hallways have been renovated, brightened up and repainted. The rooms have been made even more comfortable with more power outlets and built in USB...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ed M
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Ed M,, Thank you for your review. Renovation is approaching the last leg of the race and we are trying not to inconvenience our guests as best as possible, thank you for recognizing this! The breakfast area and then the front desk, and wallah, fully renovated hotel! Hope you are back to see the finished product. Tom Rivera General Manager...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for the night to attend a concert at time union square which is 10 mins walk from hotel. Room was very clean, quiet at night and decent breakfast. Definitely recommend if you're in the downtown area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gleijs8563j
Gettysburg, PA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here while attending a convention at the Palace downtown. One of my reasons for choosing this hotel was the availibility of a shuttle. It was very nice to have a shuttle to take us to dinner and pick us up and take us to our meeting and pick us up. The price of a tip is way less...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paymeami2
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Hello paymeami2, I am happy to receive feedback from you. It is nice to learn that our shuttle service worked well for the purpose of the convention you attended. Further, I am glad that you liked our room decorations. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I look forward to hosting you again soon! I'm definite my colleagues echo...

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 20 January 2017

A word about the front desk manager: Sam Adams conducted herself as an exemplary hostess/manager; a model of courtesy, friendliness and professionalism. If you needed a primer on how to handle oneself in the customer service industry, her conduct would serve as an ideal standard. I wish her the best in all of her future endeavours. R Hoover

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ptatahead
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

R Hoover, Thank you for taking the time to recognize Samantha. She is the mold which we hope to follow in how she handles guest service. Tom Rivera General Manager gmalbany@dchotelsinc.com

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We were received very good although the lobby was a little dirty. The room is comfortable cable is not that good. Really out of the city but really close to the state capital buildings and museums, sight seeing made easy. Buses ran close but the sight of the hotel is not as pretty. Cheap and comfortable enough

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elynb1978
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Elynb1978, Thank you for sharing your review and glad you were able to enjoy the sites of Albany. As our renovation progresses, guest rooms being completely done, we are now moving onto the lobby and breakfast area. Unfortunately at times, condition reflects cleanliness. We were last renovated in 2007 so its a long time coming! We are sorry to hear...

buffalo
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Good price friendly staff great room and indoor pool. Shuttle to local restaurants free parking and you can leave car when going to nyc. I I'll definitely come back breakfast included east access from highway

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davecind
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

davecind, Thank you for sharing your experience. The direction we want to be heading in! Tom Rivera General Manager 518-434-4111 gmalbany@dchotelsinc.com

Lyons, New York
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We were pleasantly surprised at how nice our room was, all new upgrades. Very comfortable. Loved the new little entrance way in the room with the convenient shelf! Always nice to have the continental breakfast. They have the best cinnamon rolls, don't they!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Donna M, Thank you so much for your review. We are ecstatic you enjoyed the fruits of our guest room renovation! And yes, we have the best Cinnamon Rolls :D Tom Rivera General Manager 518-434-4111 gmalbany@dchotelsinc.com

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Needed a inexpensive hotel as we travelled from Michigan to Rhode Island via Niagara Falls. This fit the bill perfectly and we have never been disappointed by a Holiday Inn Express. Upon arrival we were quite concerned with the location and parking. The neighborhood had a much less than safe appearance and I was afraid to leave my truck unattended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Rebecca M Thank you for your review and happy you were pleased with the service of Samantha. We do take note to your concerns of safety. We have installed 25 cameras and do employee a security service for the grounds. Albany has been revitalizing the downtown area for the past couple of years, and our hopes is that this same...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.6 km away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#14 of 50 in Albany
995 reviews
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.7 km away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
1.8 km away
TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center
7.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire Plaza, the ideal location. For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to Verizon, General Electric and the Port of Albany. Our hotel in Albany is also near the Legislative Office Building and State Offices. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Rensselaer Amtrak Station. Or if you're flying into Albany Airport (ALB), we'll pick you up there, too. We are easily accessible to I-90, NYS Thruway I-87 and I-787. We have the only free hotel parking in Downtown Albany. Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany Hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours, professional theatres, parks and the Hudson Riverfront are all just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Newly updated guest rooms and public spaces will make your stay memorable. With many restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you can have the choice of fine or casual dining. To stay in touch, our WIFI is throughout the Hotel and FREE. When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the downtown difference. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown

Address: 300 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Price Range: RM502 - RM831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Albany Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
South West Scotland
Moriah, NY
New York City, New York
over a year ago
New York
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles Canajun1, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Restaurant up the road was not good, bit cheap and nasty but actually quite expensive :(”
 of 5 bubbles susanbT7005JU, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hotel has some covered parking. Might be important in the winter.”
 of 5 bubbles Billooltewah, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be away from the freeway side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles TomB265, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask NOT to face the highway!”
 of 5 bubbles Carriebomb, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5