We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Travellers' Choice award winner
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$128*
Great Deal
US$130*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,072: English reviews
Start your review of AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautifully maintained, charming,quiet for a holiday break. Amazing array of food both Asian and Western. Loved the atmosphere and the walks on the beach. No touts on the beach front. Clean,comfortable rooms. Not bothered by insects or birds. Intimate and private surroundings. Dilkie Umagiliya Colombo

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dilkie u
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dilkie U, Thank you for staying with us at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa. I am glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and I hope to see you back again at the resort for another relaxing vacation. Regards, Roshan Fernando

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We travelled to Sri Lanka over the busy period in April. We are a family of four with a disabled adult daughter. the journey there was long & tiring but as soon as we arrived at the resort we began to relax within the beautiful frangipani the sounds of waves crashing on the hotel beach and the welcoming smiles from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank luscious515
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Luscious515, Thank you for taking time off your busy schedule to leave a comment with regard to your recent stay with us at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa. I am glad to note that my team members took very good care of your family, specially your daughter. Once again, I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay...

Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in November last year for around 9 nights. Every room smell of damp from the air conditioning, showers leak water all over the bathroom floor, ants around the sink, dirty hairdryer, bad mastic around the shower door. We moved rooms but the problem was still the same. Management seemed interest in the problems and fixed them but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyBexley
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This resort is awesome! Had a wonderful time with my folks there! The staff is so kind and always willing to help out with a genuine smile on their faces. Food out here is delicious as well and we enjoyed a variety of different dishes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadee P
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nadee, Thank you for your comments with regard to your stay with us at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa. Glad to note that you had a lovely time with us. Regards, Roshan Fernando

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for a few days in April 2017 - the hotel is wonderful. Clean rooms, beautiful ocean view and great food. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly as well. The hotel is right next to bentota train station making it very convenient to travel down to Galle. We will visit again :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lieve P
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am glad to note that you found our rooms to be clean and the food to be very tasty. Most of all, thank you for considering to visit us back again! Regards, Roshan Fernando

Länghem
Reviewed 1 week ago

I can reccomend this hotel. The room was not first quality but next to, clean and well functioning. The restaurants served first class food and were very clean. There were two big pools but I did not use them, instead I swam in the ocean since the beach was next to the hotel garden. It was wonderful to swim in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller-Langhem
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa and for rating the food served at our restaurant as "First Class". As you have mentioned, the beautiful Indian Ocean is just a hop, step and a jump away from the hotel and an early morning dip in the ocean is the best way to start...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Avani Benthota, very lovely place to stay for holidays. Very friendly staff. Specially thanks you Mr. Mahesh Rajapaksha, Assistant Food & Beverage Manager , AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa. Thank you Mr.Mahesh for your excellent service. Keep it up!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ishara922
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ishara, Thank you for staying with us at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa. I am glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay here with us. I will also share your comments with Mahesh and he will be glad to note that you have enjoyed his services. Thank you once again and hope to see you back at...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Location was lovely very friendly and helpful staff . so relaxing and wonderful setting right on the beach. Facilities are excellent. They had huge beds, good- sized and well equipped bathrooms. The common areas were spacious, airy and beautiful furnished.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alex13sg
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. I am glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay here with us at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa. Regards, Roshan Fernando

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although the hotel looks nice but the services are very poor! The staff cant understand english properly! Rooms have loads of insects and bugs on the bed and the house keeping team service is very bad! We asked them to change the room but no one did anything. also we asked them to clean the room but again no one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alia A
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Alia A, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was saddened to note that you had not enjoyed your stay with us at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa and that we failed to meet your expectations. I would like to assure you that your comments are very valuable to us and...

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived to the hotel at 3:00 pm. The check-in time was officially at 2:00 pm. However, the room was not ready upon arrival. I know this may sound as a sad story contradicting the title of the review, but the good story will follow. After a warm reception by the hotel staff, we were approached by the Rooms Division...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adel A
General_Manager_SLML, General Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Adel A, Thank you for your lovely comment. At AVANI, we look into all the details that matter to ensure that our guests will enjoy a seamless stay with us and we are glad to note that you appreciate our efforts. Hope to see you back at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa for another vacation. Regards, Roshan Fernando

1,335 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (832)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (152)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
6:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (321)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (440)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Beach (27)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (66)
Viewed
Family Friendly Pool (21)
Viewed
Main Swimming Pool (30)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
Standard Room (44)
Viewed
Superior Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.9 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 km away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#4 of 9 in Induruwa
158 reviews
5.1 km away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#9 of 30 in Bentota
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Price Range: RM515 - RM1,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Serendib Hotel Bentota
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
42 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (42)

Questions? Get answers from AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms face the ocean. Quiet and comfortable.”
dilkieu, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay unless refurbished.”
MyBexley, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the top floor are called "Standard" & Rooms on the ground and 1st floor are called "Superior"”
  • Water Leak from the A/C
  • Water Leak from the A/C
harindug, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are good.”
don2jako, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms with sea views”
611sunseekers, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$128* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$130
Expedia.com
TripAdvisorUS$128
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates