We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shangri-Lanka Villa

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Shangri-Lanka Villa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

483 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shangri-Lanka Villa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 438: English reviews
Shipley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at shangri lanka villa for 3 days while visiting Sri Lanka and what a wonderfull place. It was a late booking but we were made so welcome by Rohan and Karen. Nothing was too much trouble. I’m quite fussy about eating curry and spicy foods, but wow the food was soo good. The chef (also called Rohan) was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy F
Crewkerne
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Having travelled around Sri Lanka for 2 1/2 weeks we experienced some super guest houses and hosts/staff. We always hoped that we had made the right choice at Shangri Lanka for our final "chill out" week. Within minutes of arriving we had no worries. We were given a lovely welcome by Raymond and his team and although we were early...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stopped for two nights at Shangri-Lanka villa on 27 and 28 December 2013. Our driver had problems finding the place, but if you have Google maps, its on there! (Buy an Etisalat sim upon arrival at the airport just as you leave the terminal - 300Rupees or £1.50 for 1GB of data!!). We used it as a base to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank renegadesi
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Overpriced in all areas. Food was terrible and we were charged $45 for 10 burnt prawns supposed to weigh 500grams, oh and a tomato. We should have checked the menu before agreeing to their proposal on the first morning, if we wanted to try the jumbo prawns for dinner. They were far from jumbo. We argued the costs when presented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
shangrilanka, Owner at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this review

Sorry my husband and I were on holiday during your 2 night stay. We do take holidays but it does not alter anything here either way Raymond is sorry to have disappointed you with your bill but was at a loss as to what you were complaining bout apart fro you not wanting to pay it We are very open...

Hounslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Karen and her husband could/would not be bothered to say hello to us.The room we stayed in had no internet reception, see-through curtains, bathroom doors that locked from outside and not inside, the bathroom windows with easy access to peeping-toms, the kitchens with dogs walking in and out all the time, the swimming pool with no life saving equipment, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashwinshah
shangrilanka, Owner at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this review

We are so sorry for your mis-understanding regarding your stay in October at our boutique guesthouse and are glad of the opportunity to explain As you booked your tour with Aitken Spence we had no control of your expectation of a large resort hotel with eat as much as you like buffet food like the other hotels on your tour....

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A great find. Wonderful food and great service. We enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly recommend to others. The villa offers comfort, hospitality and also great valid for money. Thanks to Karen and her team.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 231jane
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Karen is a rock star. From the moment we got in touch to express our interest in staying at Shangri-Lanka Villa, to the moment we left Sri Lanka to return to the UK, Karen and her team expertly catered to our every need. We were in Sri Lanka for 10 days, so wanted to spend the first half travelling around...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BMHI
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Incredible experience of how a hotel should take care if its guests. We were able to chill in the most peaceful, lush green environment whilst getting personal attention from a team of very efficient and polite staff who fulfilled our every request with a smile. But the relationship started with a warm and helpful hand from its owners, Karen and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 27Kay
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Wow! What an amazing place! We spent 13 nights at Shangri-Lanka Villa after a few days in Dubai. Right from the start everyone was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotless and the view across the countryside was lovely. Each morning we ate our breakfast on the balcony, watching amazing birds frequent the garden. One...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PcDb
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Great team of staff. Very friendly and helpful - organised everything from tuk tuks to drivers. Big beautiful rooms to relax in or spend some time by the lovely clean pool. You can even grab a massage if you like. Also a great location for exploring both the Bawa gardens!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nyenyezi S

476 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (396)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (19)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.8 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
2.6 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 21 in Bentota
797 reviews
1.9 km away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
3.5 km away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Price Range: RM553 - RM671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shangri-Lanka Villa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shangri-Lanka Villa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unit 1, on the ground floor, has a bathtub. Unit 5, upstairs, has a lovely view”
al416902, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are very spacious and beautifully decorated”
Z2058DGanneb, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have balcony or patio and same high standard of decor/bathroom”
leamfoodie, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Second floor room for three was very beautiful and quiet”
futbolgirl, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The two we stayed in were beautiful and absolutely huge - other guests said the same thing about their rooms”
703lyndab, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$131
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates