We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Goldi Sands

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

776 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 592: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Goldi Sands
 Click to rate
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a promo room with Thomsons which showed a room with a balcony with sea view. This was booked months before we went and there was nothing to say that all the promo rooms had been booked out. We arrived around midnight and were allocated Room 101 which lived up to the name of the TV show since it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shrimp50
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review

The promo room is a little smaller (3 square feet less than the Standard Deluxe Room). If the guest has paid for a promo room, he gets a promo room which is cheaper than the Standard Deluxe Room. The room is without balcony or terrace. We have only 6 Promo / Eco Rooms and they are the fastest selling rooms....

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived at this hotel at nearly midnight following many months of eager anticipation having booked 11 months previously. What could possibly go wrong? First impressions count but I was feeling a little apprehensive when the lady in the front of me in the queue at check in returned to say the room was totally unacceptable, only to be told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank binonatrip
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review

The promo room is a little smaller (3 square feet less than the Standard Deluxe Room). If the guest has paid for a promo room, he gets a promo room which is cheaper than the Standard Deluxe Room. The room is without balcony or terrace. We have only 6 Promo / Eco Rooms and they are the fastest selling rooms....

wiltshire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at Goldi sands hotel , lovely hotel staff very friendly and helpful food was excellent lots of choices , we asked for sea view room, our room was one of the cabanas which was more or less right on the beach needed updating but was fine, I understand they are replacing these with a block of 60 rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janel50
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review

We are very happy to read your comment and for your stay with us. We are glad that your stay was a memorable one and that our staff made it an enjoyable one too. It is indeed a pleasure to have you with us again in Feb 2018 and we look forward to welcome you back to Goldi Sands Hotel....

Highworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arranged transfer from the airport through the hotel. This went very smoothly. We had a sea view room which was very good, all the amenities with a nice balcony. The restaurant has a typical buffet dinner, which we had the first night (second night we went out of the hotel). Staff try to get guests to buy wine and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review

We thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and thank you for taking your time to write on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you were happy with the room and the food. We apologize that the staff made you uncomfortable by trying to sell wines and lobsters. This, we will definitely look into. We do have the...

Devizes, Wiltshire, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose the hotel because it was near the airport. A lot of hotels in Sri Lanka are 3 hours or more from the airport and that is too much after a 10 hour flight. Very happy that we stayed at the Goldi Sands. The location is great on a beach which is much better than Goa. We asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bowerhill
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly, let me say that if you have stayed in any three star hotel in India or Goa you will not be disappointed with Sri Lanka's Gold Sands Hotel - it is definitely a cut above three star - if there was a three-plus - it's what I would give it. The rooms are a similar standard to Premier Inn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John J
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review

We thank you very much for selecting Goldi Sands Hotel to spend your vacation and for writing on trip advisor of your recent stay, for the benefit of other travellers as well. Your review is very encouraging and we were very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you find the staff is eager to help and...

west sussex
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

1st, The hotel is only 3*. So do not expect too much. The staff are excellent, and try their best to help. But when it comes to getting a better room than the one allocated on arrival you may be in for a long wait. Avoid rooms 9 -18 , they are on the ground floor and next to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geordiecarver
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 weeks and had a great time. The hotel is clean, the food is good, the staff are really nice and everything you need for a relaxing holiday is within walking distance. On 2 of the days we did day trips - one to Galle and the other to Kandy. Both trips were excellent and let us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AandA_8
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review

Thank you so much for selecting Goldi Sands Hotel for your vacation and thank you for taking your time to write to Trip advisor for the benefit of other travelers. It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us and we are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you felt young. We...

Storrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed ourselves at Goldi Sands. We arrived at night Columbo airport which is only about half an hour away.. we did not bother getting a visa as you can buy visas in Columbo airport and cheaper than getting a visa online in the U.K.. go to the Visa counter near the immigration queue and you can pay in pounds sterling....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank nigelsuzi
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your stay at Goldi Sands Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience. We were delighted to read your comments and are sincerely thankful for expressing your reviews for the benefit of visitors who visit Trip Advisor. We shall definitely share your comments with our employees. Please do visit us again and we look...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I just had day out with my family to this place, seems the place, the food and beachfront is good. But the hotel was very much crowded, the pool and the poolside was not that spacious. May be the peak season or due to the weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NadeeshaR
goldiNegombo, General Manager at Hotel Goldi Sands, responded to this review

We thank you for selecting Goldi Sands Hotel for your family outing. Yes, during the peak season we run at 100%. Please do visit us again and we assure you of our best services and personal attention at all times. Warm Greetings...

854 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (513)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (113)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (175)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (267)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Standard Room (26)
Viewed
Standard Room - Sea View (37)
Viewed
Suite (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.3 km away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 42 in Negombo
1,339 reviews
1.0 km away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 42 in Negombo
436 reviews
0.2 km away
Jetwing Beach
Jetwing Beach
#5 of 42 in Negombo
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 42 in Negombo
956 reviews
1.6 km away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#13 of 42 in Negombo
1,054 reviews
1.2 km away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Hotel Goldi Sands

Address: | Ethukala, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Price Range: RM380 - RM1,134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldi Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Goldi Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldi Sands Hotel
Goldi Sands Negombo
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Negombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Goldi Sands staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question
Canberra
norwich, uk
London, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Conwy, United Kingdom

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Goldi Sands staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“PAY EXTRA FOR A SEA VIEW and be prepared to still argue with the reception”
 of 5 bubbles Shrimp50, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It's purely a lottery”
  • The best view I could get from my 'cell'
  • The barred windows and outlook
 of 5 bubbles binonatrip, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 207-223 on the top floor facing the sea.”
  • Kept very clean with new sheets and towels every day
  • Our room near the beach
 of 5 bubbles bowerhill, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea or Pool view is essential - though there are only a very few rooms without.”
 of 5 bubbles G6275SLjohnj, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the sea view rooms were taken, long term reservations, avoid roadside rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles geordiecarver, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5