We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The African Tulip

Jumia TravelUS$195*
View Deal
#1 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$195*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The African Tulip
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

897 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 809: English reviews
Start your review of The African Tulip
 Click to rate
Plymouth
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is lovely, there is a large communal space which is comfortable and relaxing, and the majority of the staff are polite and helpful. The rooms are also comfortable and relaxing, as well as particularly spacious. If I were to have a complaint, I was taken advantage of in the restaurant, trying to get to grips with the numbers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 257ben
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at The African Tulip Hotel. It is good to read that you found your room to be comfortable and relaxing. On behalf of the entire hotel, I would like to apologize for the experience that you had at our restaurant. We are highly perturbed by the experience you have shared “re: billing...

Fort Frances, Canada
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 8 March 2017

I recently returned from Tanzania after climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro, and a 4 day safari. African Tulip was our home base. We stayed before our climb, after our climb and after the safari prior to our flight to Zanzibar. Everyone at the African Tulip made us feel like this was our home. They held our luggage for us between trips, always...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Knapps4
About Hotel's Favourite Review
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very happy to read that The African Tulip is your home away from home. Thank you for staying with us again, it is always a pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you for all your kind words and for this fantastic review, we all really appreciate it. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for several nights 3 times either side of our safari and trek to Kilimanjaro. The facilities were very comfortable with large rooms. The staff friendly, responsive and helpful, even with little things like how to get to the local gym (free for hotel guests)- one staff member escorted me there. Management went out of there way to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roger P
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night before setting off on safari. We were very impressed with all the facilities. Fast and free internet, a really good drench shower, good air conditioning, free safe. The rooms are really spacious and the hotel is very well kept. The food selection was good. The hotel is in a quieter part of arusha. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickandNic
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here the night before starting safari. The hotel and room was nice two double beds. The pool and area was lovely - nice and relaxing. The food was lovely - best Indian food we had in Tanzania.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidaygoer37
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the second time that we have stayed at the African Tulip Hotel as part of an African Safari. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. After a long flight to Africa the welcome drink is exactly the welcome that you need to feel you are among friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John747_12
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at The African Tulip for two nights before we headed out on Safari. It was the perfect place to recover from the long trip. The beds were very comfortable, the food was very good and the people were very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for being our guest; it was a pleasure having you here at The African Tulip. It is very good to read that you enjoyed your room, food and the services provided. Thank you for this wonderful review and we all look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Melissa Amsi

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent one night at the Africa Tulip and absolutely loved the hotel. It's authentic and very boutique. We love the food and pool. Staff was great too! Our room was wonderful with a patio are to relax on!! So charming! We hope to be back! Jane And Joey

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Congratulations once again on your honeymoon! Thank you for staying with us at The African Tulip. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and the patio it came with, the food, pool and the services provided. We certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back the next time you are in Tanzania! Warm...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really enjoyed staying at the African Tulip. The room is very clean and comfortable and the staff is very professional. The food is really good, most home made and very fresh! With a big variety and not the standard menu. Also, they provide shampoo, conditioner, body cream and shower gel, and they are very nice products! Hairdryer is also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank digiolaura
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at The African Tulip Hotel. It was a pleasure for our team to serve you. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, amenities and the food offered at our restaurant. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Melissa...

Burnet, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very attractive hotel. Staff was very pleasant and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. Staircase to upper floors and did not see elevator. Area seemed secure as I walked to Barclays Bank alone and felt safe.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzanne L
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at The African Tulip Hotel. It is good to read that you enjoyed your room and services. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind regards, Melissa Amsi

446 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (418)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.3 km away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
545 reviews
18.2 km away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
412 reviews
5.1 km away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Arusha
250 reviews
1.8 km away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
58 reviews
2.5 km away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Price Range: RM935 - RM1,017 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The African Tulip staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The African Tulip staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms have a minibar, mine didn't”
257ben, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“If you have any issues bring it up with staff at the front counter and they will do their best to help.”
RogerP572, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“The rooms of the top floor has birds outside the window in the morning.”
John747_12, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“If you need a desk, ahead of time it they can provide it.”
digiolaura, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
60ankid, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Jumia Travel
US$195* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates