We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Planet Lodge

Show Prices
#3 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Planet Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Planet Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 286: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stayed at Planet Lodge for two nights before we left on our safari to recover from jet lag. It was a lovely spot to spend time with beautiful gardens, great food and a relaxing atmosphere. It was nice to be out of the hustle and bustle of Arusha which is a short taxi ride away.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 22Col
PlanetLodges, Owner at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 22Col, Thank you for your kind words. I could not agree with you more that; "Planet Lodge is a lovely spot to spend time with beautiful gardens, great food and a relaxing atmosphere." We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay. Asante sana! Kind regards, PL Team & Management

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 July 2016

If you arrive in Mount Kilimanjaro on the KLM flight, you get in at about 7.45 pm. Immigration can take a while so you will need to stay in the Arusha area. The Planet Lodge hotel is a very good choice. It is far away from the hustle and bustle of 'African' Arusha and if it is your first visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stalex24
PlanetLodges, Owner at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Stalex24, I could not agree with you more on "The Planet Lodge hotel is a very good choice." We appreciate you choosing us and always glad to provide a "quiet and good place to relax from your flight or to prepare for your flight back home." Karibu tena rafiki! Kind regards, PL Team & Management

Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful rooms very private and clean swimming pool is good surrounding by nature. We stayed inside for two days without going out because we got everything we needed inside. Nice view of Mount meru easy to go any side of town from the lodge Breakfast is fantastic am going back soon 😃

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiango K
PlanetLodges, Owner at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Kiango K, We highly appreciate your kind words! Asante sana and we are looking fopward to seeing you here again. Karibuni tena, PL Team & Management

Auckland
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Away from the hustle and dust of Arusha, set in the outskirts, this hotel offers a nice place to relax. The rooms are set in a beautiful garden, they have a balcony (on the left side with garden view, on the right side against a wall). The rooms are very clean and spacious with AC and ensuite bathroom. The shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sun005
PlanetLodges, Owner at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear sun005, Asante sana for your kind words. We are encouraged by your review... asante sana! Kind regards, PL Team & Management

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We arrived at Planet Lodge after long days of travel and were so thankful for such a welcoming staff who was quick to give us a towel and juice, and carry our bags to our room. The rooms were large and clean, with plenty of space for 3 in the triple. The shower was fine (warm, but could have better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifer7902015
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jennifer7902015, Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay. The feedback on shower pressure is also noted and we are working on a more permanent solution to avoid downtime. Karibu tena! - Your Friends at Planet Lodge

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Our room and the gardens were quite lovely and the staff was very attentive! The food was also quite good. I never used the pool but it looked like a nice place to relax. The one issue was the internet, which was often spotty and slow, but that was my experience everywhere I traveled in Tanzania no matter how nice...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lkellogg29
PlanetLodger, Front Office Manager at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Hello lkellogg29, It was our pleasure to have you here. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Asante sana! - From Your Friends at Planet Lodge

Reviewed 6 July 2016

We stayed here for one night before the start of our 10 day safari with Easy Tours. Easy seems to use this hotel a lot because their head quarters is right next door. We were greeted at the front desk with warm towels and juice, which was amazing as we had just arrived after 26 hours of travel. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer W, Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to share your feedback here. We are encouraged to know you found our services great and the team very accommodating! We'd certainly hope to see you again when life brings you our way. Best regards, Eva for Planet Lodge Team

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We spent 2 nights at Planet Lodge before our Kili trip. Firstly the staff are fantastic - everyone is so friendly and keen to please. We had some great conversations with the restaurant staff. I was tempted to come back just for the staff. The gardens and layout is also lovely. The rooms are clean, large and comfortable. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dikiwi
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dikiwi, We appreciate you choosing us and your feedback. I am sad to know that the shower was dissapointing... The Maintanance Supervisor looked into it and it seems that during your stay we had some power fluctuations which disabled your room's pressure pump. Undoubtedly that is not a big problem and had you shared this with front desk by...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Our stay with Planet Lodge was arranged through Easy Travel, our 8-day safari facilitator (their office is located just next door to the Lodge). Planet Lodge is a comfortable respite from the bustling craziness that is Arusha. The property is gated and features a pool and a lovely garden with labeled plants and flowers. Rooms are one-half of a round...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CompassWhistle
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Hello CompassWhistle, Asante for choosing us and your constructive feedback especially around having more "Tanzanian" options and shower pressure. Our chefs are working on a "local menu" and it is in the final stages of developement b- to be introduced in July. Rest assured, this menu has several local delectable vegetarian and non vegetarian dishes. In the meantime, clients can...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We stayed a total of 3 nights at Planet lodge. One before our safari and 2 after. It was the perfect spot to catch our breath after several weeks travelling throughout Africa. The garden is lovely and a peaceful haven. The staff were helpful and friendly and no request was too hard. Our room was a good size and was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orangelion19
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Orangelion19, Thank you for your kind words. We certainly appreciate your definitely recommending PL to anyone going to Arusha. Kairbu tena, Eva for Planet Lodge Team

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
0:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
5.1 km away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
832 reviews
14.1 km away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
378 reviews
5.8 km away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 42 in Arusha
80 reviews
4.2 km away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
128 reviews
6.9 km away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 42 in Arusha
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Planet Lodge

Address: Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Price Range: RM415 - RM1,159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Planet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Planet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arusha
#5 Business Hotel in Arusha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Planet Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Eden Prairie, United States
Eden Prairie, United States

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Planet Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room away from the road (dust and noise)”
 of 5 bubbles Alexsas777, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good. The pool is inviting if you have time.”
 of 5 bubbles benicha56, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No idea on pricing since this was a package put together by our travel agent.”
 of 5 bubbles hkillary, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we were in an outside bungalow and certainly never heard any noise.”
  • We stayed in Unit 28 which was clean, comfortable and close to the pool.
 of 5 bubbles LornePark, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms look similar. Lower numbers nearer restaurant and reception.”
 of 5 bubbles ElizabethH326, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay