We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Leopard Rock Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mutare
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Leopard Rock Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 219: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I had a great romantic weekend get away at Leopard Rock for the weekend of January 6-9th 2017. The room was clean, bed comfortable and the meals were delicious. We had good conversations about religion in the Chapel with its amazing views of the mountains. Toured the Castle and had a drink at whiskey at the top....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nrussell1512
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review and we are glad that Leopard Rock did for you what it is supposed to do: bring families and couples closer. With respect to your concerns about the staff working hours, since the staff live on property, they often work split shifts. Claris is great and always happy to help. Beyond split shifts,...

Harare
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We used to be very regular visitors to Leopard Rock, sometimes once a month. The views & crisp fresh air are hard to beat. A few years ago the previous owners let the standard of the hotel drop drastically, resulting in us finding new places to visit. Today we have returned en route from Gonarezhou & have found with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JedKariba
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks and noticing our efforts to improve the hotel. Your observation about the number of plugs is absolutely correct and we will be updating the rooms with new multinational plugs shortly. We had allocated funds for the purchase of televisions but sadly while we were given a license to import them duty-free we were not...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited Leopard Rock a day before Christmas hoping for the magic service I last saw 3 years ago. However what I found was nothing short of of a disaster zone in the making. The gate required a $20 charge per vehicle, which was in fact a voucher that we could use to purchase food and beverages in the hotel......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShapiroMak
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for using the opportunity to tell us how you fee about Leopard Rock in your first and only review on TripAdvisor regarding your "day visit" to Leopard Rock. Your visit to the hotel, without a confirmed reservation on the 24th was particularly unfortunate. We had published a notice in local papers and the web/email publications. Clearly you and...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Leopard Rock is set in a beautiful part of Zimbabwe. We were very impressed by the rooms and the food was delicious! We played some golf, went for sundowners at the castle and managed to go for a walk in the forest. It was unfortunately raining when we were there, so we didn't head to the viewing platform, but will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kas1307
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Leopard Rock. We do hope to see you again in the near future and hope that you will enjoy the Hotel on a clear day!

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whatever you do, don't book Leopard Rock for lunch or dinner if you are a visitor not saying in the hotel. We were invited by friends to the hotel for Christmas lunch. We were all looking forward to a very nice occasion, such as one might have at one of the best hotels in the country: good food, good wine,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irene212016
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

It is very kind of you to rate us four stars despite this experience. I would like to investigate this and find a way to make up for the experience. I hope you will communicate with me directly on my email shashs@leopardrockhotel.com so I can appropriately apologize for this experience and do what I can to make up for it.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Leopard Rock Hotel is located in the Eastern Highlands of Zimbabwe where there are beautiful mountains and rainforests. The area is called Vumba from the constant mist found in the area. The Hotel has a world class golf course, casino and beautiful British style rooms. There is also an old castle which believed to have been built as a hiding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor Molife R
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Well the Queen of England never hid in the Castle but then Queen Mother did visit and make some memorable remarks. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to host you again in the near future.

Masvingo, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Situated away from Mutare City, in the Vumba Mountain terraces, the Hotel was designed in an excellent aesthetic technique. The beautiful natural environment surrounding the Hotel complements the scenic massive hotel building and an amazing golf course. Visitors can also enjoy game viewing. The weather at this site is amazing, it is always raining. The eco-tourists would experience the rain-forest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dnjerere
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed and kind review. We hope that you will soon return and that we continue to meet and exceed your expectations.

London
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

We loved our 2 night stay at this magnificent hotel! Sunset walks, enchanted Forrest walk, sundowners at the viewing platform, incredible service and food, wonderful bird life and animals! Golf course is in amazing condition, little playground for children, swimming pool etc. No hairdryer or tv in our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank collyrose
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review. Unfortunately all rooms are supplied a hairdryer on request. We have had an issue with currency allocation to purchase new televisions (the old ones were box TVs and embarrassing so we removed them). We hope to resolve this soon. In the meantime many have enjoyed the lack of televisions. Particularly romantic couples.

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Leopards rock is a small hotel with vast grounds. It is set in some of the loveliest scenery in the Vumba mountains. It offers a very challenging and scenic golf course, a game park, you must take sundowners and watch the game, a rain forest where you can hike to the base of Leopards rock, tennis and more. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matilda48
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you again soon and continue to meet and exceed your expectations.

Beijing, China
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Just a wonder, between reality and dream... luxury, wild animals and breathtaking scenery!!! I visited the place for 1 day and the game park at sunset, admiring wild animals from the platform. I could not believe seeing giraffes, zebras, antilopes, guinea fowls, etc., eating and wandering in a astonishing natural beauty and sunset... A natural wonder!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank umu3b
Samir S, Owner at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks. We hope that you will be able to return for longer and enjoy more of our hospitality.

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutare
21.5 km away
African Sun Amber Hotel Mutare
0.0 km away
Cresta Churchill Hotel
Cresta Churchill Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bulawayo
56 reviews
229.3 km away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#1 of 13 in Harare
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Flamboyant
Hotel Flamboyant
#1 of 1 in Masvingo
19 reviews
41.4 km away
Musangano Lodge
Musangano Lodge
#1 of 9 in Mutare
152 reviews
7.8 km away
Eden Lodge Vumba
Eden Lodge Vumba
#2 of 7 in Mutare
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Leopard Rock Hotel

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the Bvumba Mountains - part of the Eastern Highlands of Zimbabwe, the Leopard Rock Hotel provides an extraordinary fusion of natural beauty and world class hospitality. Its old world charm and its internationally acclaimed 18 hole PGA golf course as well as numerous activities which can help you connect with its exceptional surrounds make it an ideal getaway. No wonder the Queen Mother described it this way, "There is nowhere more beautiful in Africa." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Leopard Rock Hotel

Address: Eggardon Road | Vumba, Eastern Highlands, Mutare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Manicaland Province > Mutare
Price Range: RM1,875 - RM5,358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopard Rock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Leopard Rock Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Beira, Sofala, Mozambique
over a year ago
Bulawayo, Matabeleland North, Zimbabwe

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Leopard Rock Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front facing rooms have good views”
 of 5 bubbles nrussell1512, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The hotel still charging the same luxury hotel prices, historical brochure pictures and far from present day reality... 1 star service”
 of 5 bubbles ShapiroMak, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I did not stay the night.”
 of 5 bubbles irene212016, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best rooms overlook the golf course”
  • Bathroom area
  • Bathroom
  • Bathroom area
  • Room area
  • Bed
  • Room area
 of 5 bubbles vic2rmolifer, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side provides the best views of scenic mountain range opposite the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles dnjerere, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5