We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst

Booking.comUS$66*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$75*
US$66*
US$75*
US$66*
US$75*
US$66*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
See the most recent reviews
Showing 466: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 August 2015

This Inn is ideally suited for the cross-border shopper. It has been considerably upgraded as a "Plus+" property, while maintaining its rates at reasonable levels. I love the fact that this is entirely a non-smoking property.The staff are truly excellent. They strive to make their guests feel welcome and important, and they are successful. The WiFi works flawlessly and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PGshopper
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for returning to our inn and writing a review about your stay. We really appreciate your loyalty and return visits with us. Thank you for mentioning our great location close to all the major shopping in the area. Our Canadian visitors like yourself do seem to enjoy the proximity to the area malls as well as our good...

Slade, Kentucky
Reviewed 8 August 2015

A tote containing valuable items was left in the room. Sean, the manager, priority mailed it to me. He was great! The Plus room's details including the snacks in the refrigerator and the bed linens were lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GretelKY
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for deciding to stay with us and taking the time out of your schedule to write a review about your stay. I am so glad your belongings got back to you quickly and safely. We always so our best to get our guests back anything they may have left as quickly as possible. Also, it is great to...

Markham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2015

The room smelled like someone died in it, and on top of that my family and I were having asthma attacks because of the smell of cigarettes, not cleaned out of the room. At night, it was awful to breathe and the smell lingered everywhere. Even if I was paid to stay there, I would never go again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria Z
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review about your stay. I am very sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel. Our hotel is 100% smoke free and unfortunately not all of our guests abide by our rules. We have a very detailed plan for when this occurs. I am sorry that we failed to...

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We have enjoyed this lactation hospitality for the past eight years. Shawn and his staff know us by first names, and provide clean comfortable rooms. RRI is close to many restaurants and shopping within a few minutes drive. We recommend this RRI to our friends who will travel through Buffalo. We have never been disappointed. 😀 🇨🇦

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterCoulen
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write about your experience with us. We appreciate you mentioning our clean and comfortable rooms, great location, and friendly staff. Myself and my staff look forward to your visits and thank you for recommending us to your friends. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Keswick, Canada
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I'll start with the three positives. The staff was friendly and quick. The room was pleasantly decorated. Check in was quick and friendly. Now.....upon entering our room, the dampness and strong musty smell was just HORRIBLE. The laminate flooring was all sticky and the floor was and felt so dirty. The loud air conditioner was a mere 3 feet from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Painterzplace
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review about your stay. First I want to thank you for mentioning our friendly staff, nicely decorated rooms, and our quick and easy check in. I am very sorry about the issues you had during your stay. I will make sure to share your comments with my staff so that this...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 17 July 2015

We just needed a place to crash with two beds and the airport Red Roof was booked. We came here and was very glad we did. It's a "plus", so it's renovated (or new, not sure). Instead of the carpet all over, it's only carpet next to the beds, and wood floors otherwise. The nightstand between the beds had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BKB02
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. We appreciate you mentioning our laminate flooring, new bathroom fixtures, and comfortable beds. We are happy to see that not only did we meet your expectations but exceeded them. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Thanks again...

Syracuse
Reviewed 17 July 2015

We where looking for an inexpensive hotel room just to sleep in for a few hours after the Rolling Stones Concert. This hotel was 100 times better than anticipated. Rooms where small but modern with laminate floors, new bathroom fixtures and comfy beds. We had a king bed in our room and it has a small desk and drawer space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaylad2006
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review about your experience. We appreciate you mentioning our flat screen tv's, comfy beds, and new flooring. I hope that you had a great time at the Rolling Stones concert and am glad that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 July 2015

This property is one of Red Roof Inn's remodeled PLUS+ locations. Although a bit more pricey than their older somewhat unpredictable properties, this budget chain's new PLUS+ concept is a welcome addition to this class of hotel. The bath was fresh & clean with granite counter tops . The bed was comfortable, nice lighting, flat screen TV, mini fridge, and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen Robert S
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing such a great review about your stay. We truly appreciate you mentioning our clean bathroom, comfortable bedding, the nice lighting, flat screen tv, 100% smoke free policy, and snack box provided in our Premium Room. Since we rolled out the Red Roof Plus + concept our guests have really enjoyed the upgraded...

Youngstown
Reviewed 12 July 2015

For a $137 after taxes and fees, this hotel isn't worth what you pay. However, it is cheaper than most in the area but offers no frills. Check in process was fast and smooth. We arrived to our room and found the AC had not been left on. It was rather warm. We fired up the AC and set it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skapp02
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your experience. We appreciate you mentioning our clean rooms. I am sorry that you did not find that our hotel was a good value. As you mentioned we are more affordable then most other hotels in our market. Although we do not serve breakfast we keep our...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The room is pretty average with ok beds. This hotel location does not serve breakfast which is a little disappointing. However you get round the clock coffee in the lobby. Easy check-in and check-out process. Could be much better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SirishTA
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and writing a review about your stay. We appreciate you mentioning our quick check in and out process. We do our best to make sure we get our guests into their rooms as quickly as possible. Although we do not serve breakfast we do have an alternative in our new Premium...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
3.8 km away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
1.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
2.8 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 16 in Amherst
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst

Address: 42 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Price Range: RM235 - RM613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn University At Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Red Roof Inn Amherst
Amherst Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amherst
#4 Family Hotel in Amherst
#6 Business Hotel in Amherst
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Eatontown, New Jersey
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay at this hotel.”
thefeeka, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“every room we have stayed in has been perfect....”
U9154KCpaulag, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Business class nice!”
tammyfrank63, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“first floor room”
Bluelion137, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I prefer the Master King rooms with the large work area, micro, fridge, etc.”
bradh797, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$66* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$66
PricelineUS$66
TripAdvisorUS$66
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates