We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hakodate Kokusai Hotel

Rakuten TravelUS$266*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Hakodate Kokusai Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
Start your review of Hakodate Kokusai Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have book this hotel via agoda. It is about the 500 meters from the JR Hakodate Station. The hotel is the same direction with Hakodate Morning Fish Market. No shopping place nearby. The East building is old. The room size is 27 sq. m. at 15,000 Yen. The nice picture shown above would be west Builing with nice view....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oat O
Management response:

This time thank you for staying at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel. During a stay, might I enjoy sightseeing in Hakodate? In addition, please use our hotel when you come to Hakodate.

Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The twin room was old and cramped. There was a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the room, although we booked a non-smoking room. No explanation was provided by the hotel. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and toiletries were good. However, one could say the same of a three or four star hotel, but we were expecting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeSnow
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel. We are delighted that you liked our cleanliness in the guest room as well as our comfy bed and toiletries. However, please accept my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in our service. I will address your concerns to every...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The distance of the hotel from JR station is about 7 min, exactly one tram station away. Room size is as expected, small room a four feet bed for double bed and additional one ft free space for luggage. Room is clean and tidy. Shower water temperature infrequent. Pillow and bed are a bit hard. Didn't use the hotel wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kar P
Management response:

Thank you very much for being a guest at Hakodate International Hotel this time. During the Golden Week period, Hakodate city was very crowded, could you have fully enjoyed it? If there are opportunities to come to Hakodate again, I would like to invite you to Hakodate International Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again from the customer.

Japan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An old hotel with lower services. A long waiting line for breakfast buffets. Bad internet connection. Unthinkable welcoming reception. Though the breakfast is ranked at the 4th position, so said, it's really at an average or a less in this price range.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CG0007
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in our service. I will address your concerns to every member of our hotel and management team to focus on progressing our hospitality for your memorable stay with exceptional service. It...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a double room for three nights. The entrance and lobby looked nice but the room was a different story. The room was a bit dated. There was supposed to be an air con switch, but it turned out to be for the heating system (not sure if it's because it is still cool in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K C
Management response:

Thank you very much for staying at HAKODATE KOKUSAI HOTEL on this time. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is located just right between the morning market and the Kanamori red brick wearhouse. The easiest way to go from Hakodate Airport to the hotel is by Airport Bus Stop No.3. It parks right in front of the hotel at the 5th stop. The Hakodate JR station is within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank coco711
Management response:

This time thank you for staying at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel. During a stay, might I relax relaxedly? In addition, please use our hotel when you come to Hakodate.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a western hotel and its great advantage is good location. Located on a quiet street, it is about 7 min walk from JR station and the very interesting morning market. Staff are friendly and helpful, able to communicable in English (though limited). One side is facing the bay with a great sea view. Parking on site but costs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanmalaysia_11
Management response:

This time thank you for staying at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel. During a stay, might I relax relaxedly? I get words of the praise about the correspondence of the staff, and all the staff are glad very much. Thank you. However, I am very sorry to make you feel unpleasant when I relate to the air conditioning of the room. In...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Within 10-15mins walk from Hakodate station the location is great. The staff are friendly and the hotel room clean but if you're looking for atmosphere you won't find it in the East wing. The room is spacious by Japanese standards but it's like staying in an institution. Drab drab drab! The view from our room 330 would have been good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NormaG50
Management response:

This time thank you for staying at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel. I am very sorry to show construction work average from the room, and to trouble it. The construction becomes going to continue until about the autumn of 2018 and causes a visitor a nuisance very much. Please come to the play again to Hakodate if you renew it. I wait...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Room was slightly disappointing - small & dated. Location was great though. Just mins walk to JR station, morning market, Hakodate Bay Area and most tourist attractions. Overall a pleasant stay but the room in the east wing definitely need makeover :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KLToo
Management response:

This time thank you for staying at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel. I really regret what you were not satisfied with when you relate to the room. However, sightseeing in Hakodate felt relieved with the state that you were able to enjoy. In addition, please use our hotel when you come to Hakodate.

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Our second trip to Hakodate, and we chose to stay at this hotel again. Gorgeous big twin room - book the deluxe room instead of the standard. Value for money, definitely. Close to the sights and food - morning market great for seafood and also the red brick warehouses for shopping, sightseeing and bay cruises. In all, really good hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ming Rong G
Management response:

This time thank you for staying at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel in the second Hakodate trip. During a stay, might I relax relaxedly? It is nice very much to have been satisfied with the area of the room. Thank you. As far as you seemed to be able to enjoy sightseeing in Hakodate, too and are glad. In addition, please use...

837 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (452)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Other (294)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (321)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Double Bed Room (49)
Viewed
Imperial Suite Room (100)
Viewed
Japense Western Style Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (17)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakodate hotels
Yunokawa Onsen
La Vista Hakodate Bay
La Vista Hakodate Bay
#1 of 96 in Hakodate
1,466 reviews
Hotel WBF Grande Hakodate
#6 of 96 in Hakodate
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yunokawa Onsen
Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei
Hakodate Danshaku Club
#4 of 96 in Hakodate
209 reviews
Comfort Hotel Hakodate
#10 of 96 in Hakodate
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hakodate Kokusai Hotel overlooks the breathtaking Hakodate Bay. In addition to its elegantly designed features, Hakodate Kokusai Hotel is ideally located making it suitable for both business and sightseeing. Your room will be a perfect base to explore the city, as we are situated near Hakodate Mount (twenty minutes walk to the ropeway station), at a walking distance from Asaichi Morning Market, the West Ward, which is famous for its church buildings, and the Goryokaku Ward (twenty minutes by streetcar). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hakodate Kokusai Hotel

Address: 5-10 Ote-machi, Hakodate 040-0064, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate
Price Range: RM447 - RM1,293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hakodate Kokusai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hakodate Kokusai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hakodate
#3 Family Hotel in Hakodate
#4 Business Hotel in Hakodate
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hakodate Kokusai Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
San Francisco, California
Los Angeles, California
Toronto, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hakodate Kokusai Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“West Building is better”
oato2015, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor”
  • double room
956karp, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose rooms in the West Wing and faces the ocean.”
AC416-2015, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get the Deluxe Twin Room”
CripTic, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Non smoking room is a must for non-smokers”
Viperal, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Rakuten Travel
US$266* /night
View Deal
Cancelon
getaroom.com
HotelQuickly
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates