We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru

Save
Share
88 Jalan Ibrahim Sultan Stulang Laut, Johor Bahru 80300 Malaysia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$42
US$24
View Deal
SAVE US$18
eDreams
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Official HotelUS$42
Expedia.comUS$24
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (256)
360
Panoramas (72)
Room & Suite (181)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 15/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru
Updated 15/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#106 of 192 hotels in Johor Bahru
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ideally situated in the capital city of Johor in Southern Malaysia, a mere 5 minutes away from the main causeway link to Singapore, Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru (formerly known as The Zon Regency Hotel by the sea) boasts 400 rooms and suites and features one of the largest MICE facilities in the region. Adjacent to Iskandar Malaysia, the southern development corridor - famed for its tourist attractions such as Legoland Malaysia and Puteri Harbour Family Theme Park, the hotel and its integrated duty-free-zone is home to an array of shopping, dining and entertainment options.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Indonesian, Malay
353Reviews11Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 42
  • 58
  • 117
  • 55
  • 81
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Xyl wrote a review Dec 2020
9 contributions
+1
The room and facilities are old. Food not nice, price expensive and portion is small. Ask for more white rice but told to top up.. No TV program such as HBO for entertainment Wifi not stable. Trove hotel is new and much much better than this
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
cheong90 wrote a review Jul 2020
258 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
1. Not well maintained. 2. Limited staff. 3. Bad carpet smell. 4. Old furniture in the room 5. Parking seems dangerous as it really dark. 6. The light and air conditioner are not fully switch on 5/10 overall satisfaction
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Amalina Taufik, Other at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru
Responded 4 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Greetings from Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru! We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate hearing from our guest as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. Further to your review, we are deeply regret for the disappointment that you have faced and appreciate you for bringing this issue to my attention as it is only through guests such as yourself who take the time to share their feedback that we are able to continually monitor and enhance our level of guest experience. Again, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and we are truly appreciate your understanding as we continue to improve our customer experience. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and I do hope I have an opportunity to personally welcome you back to our hotel in the very near future. Thank you and best regards.
Read more
shakeela wrote a review Mar 2020
Singapore, Singapore4 contributions
I like the efficiency of the hotel staff from checking in,attending to my request and resolving the issue although it was late at night.The view from my hotel room was amazing and easily located next to a shopping centre.I enjoy my time in the bathtub.Will definitely come back for their suite instead.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Amalina Taufik, Other at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru
Responded 4 Oct 2020
Dear Shakeelapsrveen, Greetings! Thank you for penning your thoughts and experience of our stay at our establishment and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, generally and that our team members welcomed you gracefully. Rest assured it has been shared with the respective department for further rectification. We appreciate your feedback as it able us to be better in serving our valued customers. Thank you and have a nice day!
Read more
JIMZA_LUK wrote a review Mar 2020
Bangkok68 contributions10 helpful votes
Located less than 15mins from Johor Bahru city centre. Hotel is located within a duty free zone in Stulang Laut. Its anhuge building and lots of rooms. Booked a standard room with large bed. Room facility is good with bath tub,wardrobe, some of toiletries kit, a safe box and cable television. Unfortunately the condition of room looks old and its about time to change or refurbished. Bed is towards its end of life span, wall paint peeling off, carpet looks dirty, curtain certainly need a fresh one, toilet facility is also required to be renewed. Its within a duty free zone and expect some noises after closing hours. Lots of pub and clubs surrounding the hotel. Will consider tonstay again if they refurbished thebrooms and facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Amalina Taufik, Other at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru
Responded 4 Oct 2020
Dear Jimza_luk, We are delighted to hear that we have left a good image of hospitality and you have had a comfortable stay at our establishment. We are glad to know that the facilities and room amenities were as per your expectations. We will also be looking into the suggestions of improvement you have made for us, we will definitely share your comments with the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again in not too distant future, we hope. Thank you and best regards,
Read more
VanZammy wrote a review Jan 2020
Toowoomba, Australia12 contributions6 helpful votes
Pros : Cheap, its below RM100 a night standard room for a former 4 or 5 star hotel. Location wise isnt too bad, some eateries within short walking distance. Plus for people who goes there for Bars as there are a few bars/clubs below the hotel. Grateful for Duty Manager Azrin who manage to solve some bug issue with the room I stayed in, resolved my problem very professionally. 7 eleven, starbucks, some chocolates and liquor store below the hotel. Decent buffet breakfast for RM20. Restaurant F&B staffs are friendly. Convenient for those catching ferry services to/from Indonesia. Nice swimming pool area. Cons: Condition of the hotel room is below average, only thing thats clean are the bedsheets, pillow case and blanket. Very dirty carpets in the room, bathroom is worn out, towels doesnt smell fresh. My room had a serious pest problem. Hotel lifts doesnt seem to work too well. Bars and pubs below the hotel attract certain crowds hanging around the area, probably not very family friendly. The mall attached to the hotel is very run down with many closed shops. Conclusion: I personally wouldnt stay there ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from amalinataufik, Secretary to General Manager at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear VanZammy, Thank you for taking time to share the comments of your recent stay at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru. We are most concern to note of your encounter during your recent visit and we truly regret the negative impression reflected. We wish to inform you that the we are currently working on the enhancement plan for both the hotel and the mall. We hope there will be another opportunity on your next visit to Johor Bahru to provide you a better experience. Wishing you a pleasant day ahead.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$18 - US$41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
regency johor bahru, regency hotel johor bahru
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
ZON Regency Hotel by the sea
LOCATION
MalaysiaJohorJohor Bahru DistrictJohor Bahru
NUMBER OF ROOMS
400
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru
Which popular attractions are close to Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru?
Nearby attractions include Ayu Best Buy Shop (0.05 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jang Won Res Korea BBQ, Tai Son Seafood Restaurant - The Zon, and Restoran Woon Kiang.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Indonesian, and Malay.