We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Alora Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Alora Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 102: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Arrived at the Grand Alora after a long drive. Saw a billboard which said it is Alor Setar's first 5-star hotel, which left me very eager to check-in. Hotel looks new and the concierge immediately helped with unloading the bags - excellent! The parking garage was a bit tight and difficult to maneuver (later found out that the lights were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zahir Z
JohnnTing, General Manager at Grand Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing a review based on your recent visit. We are deeply sorry that we have failed to meet your deliberate expectations during your stay. We can ensure you that a thorough review based on the issues that you have mentioned above will be carried out extensively. If you have the opportunity to visit us once again, kindly...

Ampang, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice rooms good breakfast very friendly and attentive staff very helpful. The pool needs maintainance as the wooden floor is coming off n tiles in the pool at the edges is broken hence might hurt users.this is

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krazite
JohnnTing, General Manager at Grand Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings and thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Renovation and repair works are underway with the matters that you highlighted. We will be happy and ready to accommodate you once again in the near future. Thank you.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place to stay in alor star, well i can say one of the best. New hotel in town with nice and helpful staff. Food is average which can get something better outside. Drawback is the parking bays where its inconvenient to look for the lobby tho its marked. Construction for the convention centre is still going on which its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John J
JohnnTing, General Manager at Grand Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings and thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us, although we are terribly sorry that the on-going construction caused a bit of an inconvenience. We will also look into other matters per your suggestion. We hope to accommodate you once again in the near future. Thank you.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice place. Breakfast improved tremendously from the last time around. Rooms sound proof, n bed, pillows duvet very comfortable. Definitely my choice in Alor setar. Lots eateries down the road. Room service good food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anusha80
JohnnTing, General Manager at Grand Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings and thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope to accommodate you once again in the near future. Thank you.

Reviewed 12 December 2016

It has been a while since I visited Alor Setar. In fact, most of my visits here have been day trips for business, not needing us to get hotel accommodation. This time around I had to attend a wedding ceremony and thought perhaps I would do a slow drive with the family and enjoy the view. May be this wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tkzrea
JohnnTing, General Manager at Grand Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing a review based on your recent visit. We are deeply sorry that we have failed to meet your deliberate expectations during your stay. We can ensure you that we will carry a thorough review based on the issues that you have mentioned above. If you have the opportunity to visit us once again, kindly ask for...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Our journey up north was delayed due to several incidences. However, the easy & fast check-in process to our hotel room soothed our nerve especially the driver. Furthermore, the hotel's strategic location allows us to have our dinner without having to drive out. There's also convenience store nearby and TESCO hypermarket is situated opposite the hotel. The room meets our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruzaime Effendi Z
JohnnTing, General Manager at Grand Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings and thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope to accommodate you once again in the near future. Thank you.

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

booked 2 rooms and stayed for 3 nights using traveloka apps with a cheaper rate and discount voucher. due to the peak season, we weren't able to get connecting rooms nor in the same level. we got a room at level 6 and level 13. the view is great and the amenities are complete in the upper floor. the staffs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nur Zuriaty Z
JohnnTing, General Manager at Grand Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, we thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We also value your constructive comments and we will look into the matter indefinitely. We hope to accommodate you once again in the near future. Thank you.

Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed 9 November 2016

They have everything, but management is yet to be an international standard. I am not saying they are no good, but Alor Setar is not really a town for tourist attraction, and hence, it is not easy for them to keep it up to standard. And hence, It is rated as 5 star, perhaps the amenities are there, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
JohnnTing, General Manager at Grand Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing a review based on your recent visit. I am deeply sorry that we have failed to meet your deliberate expectations during your stay and i will ensure you that we will carry a thorough review based on the issues that you have mentioned. If you have the opportunity to visit us once again, kindly ask for...

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for One night, and our first impression was that the room was too Gloomy, dark and dull... In additional the room does not suit with the price, On top of that I wanna complain about the Sauna , whirlpool, steam room and the locker for men and ladies. The whirlpool is very attractive with the colorful lights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny F
JohnnTing, General Manager at Grand Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing a review based on your recent visit. I am deeply sorry that we have failed to meet your deliberate expectations during your stay and i will ensure you that we will carry a thorough review based on the issues that you have mentioned. If you have the opportunity to visit us once again, kindly ask for...

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Room was spacious and clean. Bathroom with shower only, no bathtub. Parking is complimentary. Surrounding area just outside the hotel are a few choices of eatery (cafes and also Malay stalls). Just opposite the hotel is Tesco and to the side is Maybank.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marlboro20s
JohnnTing, General Manager at Grand Alora Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing a review based on your recent visit. I am deeply sorry that we have didn't meet any of your deliberate expectations during your stay. We will continue to improve, if you have the opportunity to visit us once again, kindly ask for my assistance so that i could provide you with the utmost assurance of what...

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alor Setar hotels
3.1 km away
TH Hotel Alor Setar
TH Hotel Alor Setar
#2 of 23 in Alor Setar
79 reviews
3.2 km away
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
#12 of 23 in Alor Setar
103 reviews
2.6 km away
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
#7 of 23 in Alor Setar
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
#3 of 23 in Alor Setar
86 reviews
3.2 km away
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
#13 of 23 in Alor Setar
30 reviews
0.1 km away
The Leverage Mergong
The Leverage Mergong
#9 of 23 in Alor Setar
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Alora Hotel, Alor Star comprises 235 distinctive guestrooms including of 19 Suites, for guests requiring the very highest levels of luxury, the hotel provide access to our Alora Club Lounges. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Alora Hotel

Address: No. 888 Persiaran Bandar Baru | Lebuhraya Sultanah Bahiyah, Alor Setar 05150, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Kota Setar District > Alor Setar
Price Range: RM183 - RM246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Alora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Grand Alora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Alora Hotel Alor Setar, Malaysia - Kedah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Alora Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Alora Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Convenient location”
 of 5 bubbles zahirz2017, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“higher floor would be excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Azmnu, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor at the middle to get good WiFi connection”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor for good view”
 of 5 bubbles PakNgoh, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I love the room facing the view of paddy field.”
 of 5 bubbles travelsaja, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay