We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Regency Hotel Alor Setar

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Start your review of The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
 Click to rate
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Normal hotel with a nice but not large breakfast spread. This is a huge old stool hotel so don't expect anything modern or out of ordinary. Do not park near the entrance or under the trees as there are loads of birds dropping. And I mean loads.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank korndamned
Regency A, Manager at The Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review

3. Hi there korndamned, Thank you for your feedback. We understand the issues you have raised and we shall look into it diligently. We value your input and response in ensuring that we provide service that is second to none. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and we shall rectify the matter to improve our services.

Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on Dec 15th for one night as we're utterly exhausted after more than 5 hours drive from Krabi. Walked in around 11pm, the front office staffs were accommodating. Got a room at Level 4, its a smoking floor I guess given the stale, awful smell wafted right after you came out from the lift. Liquid shampoo and bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nurulkhysan H
Jerai Hill R, Manager at The Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review

Dear Nurulkhysan H, Thank you for your recent visit and stay at our Hotel. We thank you for choosing to stay with us. Pertaining the several items that you have raised, we have taken note and shall further improve our service to ensure utmost guest satisfaction. Nonetheless, our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We value your comments and shall...

Alor Setar, Malaysia
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Good location for meeting in the centre of town. Walking distance to 7E and City Plaza shopping centre. Food is ok. All major banks are also here. Parking is available. Famous among government officers. Newly renovated. Offers good buffet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbbszaman
Regency A, Manager at The Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review

Dear Mr mbbszaman, Thank you for your feedback and review pertaining our hotel. We are glad that you are happy with the accommodation, restaurant and our services. We appreciate your positive comments and hope to see and serve you again in the near future. Best Regards

Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Stayed here for one night and room size is average. open the window and the view was nothing special. Had some trouble searching for the complimentary drinks as it was hidden inside the cupboard and fridge. The access card was not functioning well and I had to go to the reception to had it fix. Several of the tv channels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KenChuah
Regency A, Manager at The Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review

"""Dear KenChuah, Thank you for your recent visit and stay at our Hotel. We thank you for choosing to stay with us. Pertaining the several items that you have raised, we have taken note and shall further improve our service to ensure utmost guest satisfaction. Nonetheless, our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We value your comments and shall take...

KL
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Had a business trip in Alor Setar. Stayed for 1 night in this hotel. Hotel is located in the middle of alor setar town and surrounded by shopping malls. Further improvement is needed:- 1. Bathroom was not so clean 2. Aircond was not cold 3. Suggest to provide body wash / shower cream instead of bar soap 4. Breakfast needs...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank i_az
Regency A, Manager at The Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review

"Dear i_az, Thank you for your recent visit and stay at our Hotel. We thank you for choosing to stay with us. Pertaining the several items that you have raised, we have taken note and shall further improve our service to ensure utmost guest satisfaction. Nonetheless, our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We value your comments and shall take...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Pros -Located in the city of Alor Star - many facilities available eg; banks, shops, restaurants CONS - towels provided were dirty. - the hotel was too quite. Not many people were staying there. So its kinda creepy - i always have an issue with the pillows provided. It was too soft. Not comfortable for me. - television channel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nitaf_15
Regency A, Manager at The Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review

Greetings from The Regency Hotel Alor Setar, First and foremost, I would like to apologize for the delay in response to your review, however I would like to take this opportunity to personally thank you for your continued patronage of our Hotel. Thank you very much for your feedback pertaining matters highlighted, we regret the inconvenience and take serious view...

Ampang, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Stayed for only 1 night due to business trip. My company just located opposite the hotel so its quite convenient. The room- its bed and bathroom were clean & tidy and I have no complain at all. Only thing to comment is the sound proof need to improve as you can clearly listen the door closing sound of other rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dav_Goh
Regency A, Manager at The Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review

Dear Mr Dav Goh, Thank you for your feedback and review pertaining our hotel. We are glad that you are happy with the accommodation, restaurant and our services. We appreciate your positive comments and hope to see and serve you again in the near future. Best Regards

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Hotel's cleanliness is acceptable. Service level needs a bit brushing up, but perhaps it was a festive period, so there were fewer operational staff. Breakfast was a generous spread and acceptable. Guests probably complain on parking facilities, due to its location surrounded by bazaar shops, but still manageable. Room was comfortable, and nice view of Alor Setar.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank iamsuhaini
Regency A, Manager at The Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review

Dear Mr nuzam, Thank you for your feedback and review pertaining our hotel. We are glad that you are happy with the accommodation, restaurant and our services. We appreciate your positive comments and hope to see and serve you again in the near future. Best Regards

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

From check in into room all was pleasant. Employee very helpful. first room impression were pleasant too. Restaurant employee are attentive and feel welcome. Breakfast ok. overall this hotel are worth staying and recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hishamhisham
TheRegencyTgTuan, Manager at The Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review

Greetings Mr Hisham, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at The Regency Hotel Alor Star. We are pleased to know our service and accommodation were to your liking. We always strive to ensure best customer service and satisfaction. We would like to thank you for your feedback and shall continue to provide the best to our customers....

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Good service, good room, good location. The interior of the hotel is nice...checking in was fast and easy. It is located at the town centre...however they are not many restaurants surrounding the area so you have to get a cab to try local eateries.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Intan R
Regency A, Guest Relations Manager at The Regency Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review

Dear Intan R, We would like to thank you for your feedback pertaining our Hotel. We are pleased to know that our accommodation and service were to your liking. We value your feedback and would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Regency Hotel Alor Setar. We hope to see and serve you again in...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alor Setar hotels
3.2 km away
Grand Alora Hotel
Grand Alora Hotel
#1 of 23 in Alor Setar
116 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
#15 of 23 in Alor Setar
107 reviews
9.1 km away
TH Hotel Alor Setar
TH Hotel Alor Setar
#2 of 23 in Alor Setar
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
#6 of 23 in Alor Setar
102 reviews
0.8 km away
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
#3 of 23 in Alor Setar
97 reviews
3.8 km away
AST Hotel
AST Hotel
#7 of 23 in Alor Setar
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Regency Hotel Alor Star and experience a new level of 3-star service, friendly hospitality and irresistible Kedahan charm. Located right in the heart of town. Public amenities and conveniences are all round and close by.Besides the museums and art galleries nearby, do stop by Pekan Rabu, the famous town market and bazaar where fresh local produce, cultural handicrafts and reasonable prices delight visitors and tourists daily.So whether you are striking up valuable business opportunities, organising a special event, conducting meetings or retreats, enjoying the multi-cultural experience of busy Alor Star, or making a casual weekend getaway, The Regency Hotel Alor Star will be part of a warm and memorable trip. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Alor Setar

Address: Lot 134-141 | Jalan Sultan Badlishah, Alor Setar 05000, Malaysia (Formerly Hotel Grand Continental Kedah)
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Kota Setar District > Alor Setar
Price Range: RM145 - RM154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Alor Setar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Regency Hotel Alor Setar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar Malaysia - Kedah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Regency Hotel Alor Setar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“tried asking for non-smoking room but the reception told me all rooms are smoking rooms...”
KenChuah, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Request room on the west side for the better-version view of the town.”
iamsuhaini, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Take the deluxe room...spacious”
744intanr, 28 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Please avoid 3rd floor and to the management please fix the lift.”
klepot, 29 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a room not facing the front street”
Lyrebird6, 26 Sep 2012 | Read review
5 of 5