We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
No. 36 G-01 Jalan Sungai Ujong, George Town, Penang Island 10100 Malaysia
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (216)
Room & Suite (80)
Dining (19)

About

#41 of 136 hotels in George Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Kimberley Hotel is a new hide out in Georgetown, woven by the history of the city that located in Penang UNESCO Heritage side, which was renovated into a comfortable, classic stay. The contemporary and classic designed hotel holds a total of 118 rooms which are uniquely decorated with vibrant undertones and ambiance selections, adorned with fusion furniture style, reflecting the great Asian exotic culture.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Indonesian, Malay and 1 more
295Reviews25Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 68
  • 130
  • 62
  • 18
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
David TN wrote a review May 2022
Singapore48 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
PROs - Spoil by the food from breakfast to supper. All within walking distance. - Strong water shower and consistent hot water at all time. CONs - Fake window view. (No view, just the opposite room window within arm length) - Very noisy in the morning when the house keeper doing their round pushing the trolley/ carts. The room is cozy, good bed, soft pillow. Had a good sleep after long walk.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jeff_Kosty wrote a review Mar 2020
Bangkok, Thailand49 contributions6 helpful votes
I stayed at this hotel 9 February through 12 February 2020. I go to Penang every 3 months for a Non-Immigrant Business visa for Thailand. For the past two years I have stayed here and never had a problem. The room is too small for a chair, so when I brought a beer home I sat on the bed. I spilled a little. The hotel fined me five times the retail price of the sheet, as if I'd stolen or ruined it. I agreed to pay only on the condition I keep the sheet (after all, I paid five times its value for it). I got it home, popped it in the washing machine with some oxygen bleach and viola! It's pure white, as if new again. Either the hotel don't how to do laundry, or this was a money grab. As money grabs go, it was pretty stupid: the sheet cost the equivalent of a day and a half, and last year alone I stayed 12 days. At best, this policy combined with lack of basic laundry knowledge is short-sighted. At worst, a lame scam. Oh and the main elevator smells like cat piss, and has for years. Oh. And just in case it still sounds good, be advised that the walls are paper thin, and the place is typically beseiged by loud tour groups who stay up late and wake up early. I will never, ever stay at this hotel again. Do yourself a favor and AVOID IT, in spite of the excellent location.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shifah Faizah, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Responded 29 May 2020
Dear Jeff_Kosty, Thank you for sharing your feedback, the time and efforts bringing this to our attention.Do allow us to take this opportunity in extending sincere apologies on the unpleasant experience you have encountered during your recent stay with us. Upon received your comments, immediate action had been taken by our Housekeeping team to ensure our quality standards are maintained and also reinforce our high guest service standard to avoid recurrence and future disappointment to our guests. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience cause. " To Give The Best Accommodation Experience "
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A Y wrote a review Dec 2019
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam26 contributions5 helpful votes
2D1N in Penang for a foodie trip and picked Kimberley for its location. A walk away from all the food and heritage area. If that’s what you intend, this is a recommended hotel. Front service is helpful but not attentive enough. Checked in for 3 pax but room was ready for 2 pax only. When we remind the front office, they were clueless but managed to get the 3rd bed ready when we return. Thanks Note. Their shower cubicle we have does not have a drain hole so it flows out to the whole bathroom before reaching the drain hole. Don’t put the floor towel inside the bathroom, a mistake we made. Place it outside the bathroom.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SharifahQaseh, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Responded 31 Dec 2019
Dear A Y, Thank you for choosing Kimberley Hotel on your recent stay and taking time to share your feedback with us. While we are grateful and appreciative of your compliments, we have taken note of your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our service and to better meet the expectations of all our guests. One again,Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay. Cheers! " To Give The Best Accommodation Experience "
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnnArmstrogn wrote a review Dec 2019
Kuching, Malaysia74 contributions73 helpful votes
The Kimberly hotel at the edge of Penang's UNESCO's World Heritage Centre provide easy access to the 21st and the 18th and 19th century worlds. The room which I had was mostly taken up by the bed and it was a tight squeeze between it and the writing table. What was easily visible was clean, but I had to search for an item that had rolled under the bed and there were the beginnings of dust bunnies. The breakfasts, which were included in the price of the room, were disappointing. The selection of food was limited and the restaurant was packed. We waited until 9:30 - 9:45 before going for breakfast because there was no place to sit. The staff, in this sea of people, were noticeably calm and collected. They were polite and efficient, as were those working on the registration counter when large numbers were checking out and attempting to check in. I arrived early and left my bags in the hotel before checking, but they were left in the registration area, rather than a secure room. The pluses for this hotel are its location, and despite being new, it has kept the essence of historical Penang.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the street and one that has a balcony that can be used.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from SharifahQaseh, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Responded 31 Dec 2019
Dear AnnArmstrogn, Thank you for staying with us.We are sincerely grateful that you have taken the time and effort to share your experience. We have taken note of your comments cleanliness and will informed Housekeeping team for immediate rectification. Further to your comment regarding breakfast, Our Food and Beverage Manager and her team will be more prepared in advance as hotel is running high occupancy and are working closely with the kitchen team, to take immediate actions to ensure our high food quality standards are maintained. In addition, All bags guest left at reception counter will keep inside the luggage room once reception counter free of guest. One again, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Cheers! " To Give The Best Accommodation Experience "
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fantasy1912 wrote a review Dec 2019
Brunei-Muara District, Brunei Darussalam5 contributions2 helpful votes
I booked two Standard King rooms for 6 nights and had a terrible experience. 1. The rooms were very small. Smaller than it looks in the pictures. It feels dark and cramped. The room would not be able to fit two big luggage. There was no space for two persons to walk in front of the bed even if you squeeze! 2. Soundproof is terrible and I believe that applies for every room since it's a heritage building. I could even hear a cough from next room. So you could imagine all the noise from the hallway and banging of doors. Don't forget the honks from cars since it's quite near the main road. 3. There were big and small FLIES coming out from the toilet EVERY SINGLE DAY. 4. There were ANTS on our table since the day we checked in! 5. No amenities provided = NO hand soaps, NO slippers (you have to pay RM10 per pair! I don't mind if the room's floor is clean but it's not!), NO metal spoons (they give you PLASTIC stirrers), NO safe box, NO water bottles (Hotel keep saying they are trying to protect the environment but I believe giving your guests 2 bottles upon check-in should have made guests feel better!) 6. The toilet is very small. Shower and toilet is seperated by a curtain which makes the toilet even more cramped. When you shower, the whole toilet floor is wet and the curtain gives a bad stench because it's always wet. 7. Room cleaning is terrible. There were footprints on our bed sheets. Our room was not swept because I could our floor was still dirty after returning. Toilet rolls were not refilled eventhough we took our the toilet roller and put it on top for them to see. Turns out, they were not observant enough! Even our rubbish bins were not checked - our rubbish was not thrown. 8. WORST of all, the hotel did not give us the flexibility to change two standard rooms to a bigger room eventhough it could fit all of us. That was the worst feeling ever as we endured 6 days in that small room. The hotel would have made our experiences better! In summary, I don't understand why anyone will be able to accept staying in the Standard Room. At that price, we could have booked somewhere else with bigger space and be given all the amenities! It was an awful experience and it spoiled our holiday mood. Why ask your customers to book the Deluxe Room next time when you couldn't even satisfy them with your basic Standard room. There was no care and thought given to your guests. For me, there will be no next time in Kimberly Hotel Georgetown!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book Deluxe Rooms or more. Otherwise, don't stay here!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SharifahQaseh, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Responded 30 Dec 2019
Dear Fantasy1912, Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience on our hotel’s facilities and services during your recent stay. On behalf of the Hotel, please accept our apologies for the slightly unpleasant experience you had during your stay. Firstly, we have taken note regarding the pest issues and we have raised these issues to our Housekeeping & Pest Control team, as to review our current standards and for immediate rectification to ensure all room are carefully inspected. In addition, we have also taken note of your feedback concerning the amenities, we do provide filtered drinking water at each floor and guests are free to refill as much as they would like. About the cleanliness, we are looking into this seriously and corrective action will be performed accordingly. We were unable to change your two standard rooms to one bigger room as it could be the peak season where the Hotel is fully occupied, our apologies. We are working hard to ensure all our guests will have a pleasant stay at our hotel and we appreciate your feedback as it is important for us to strive better. Once again, do accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused and thank you for staying with us. Cheers! " To Give The Best Accommodation Experience "
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
faludafabia wrote a review Dec 2019
Mumbai, India97 contributions71 helpful votes
The Kimberley hotel is very clean and the location is good. However, the amenities at the hotel were very poor. There was no water provided in the rooms, no toiletries, and they didn't have an adaptor at the reception either. The room was way smaller than I thought it would be, can't swing a cat in there. The hotel's positive point is its excellent restaurant, the Auction Rooms, which has a very nice atmosphere and great staff - especially Mr. Jamal. We were some of the people who got stranded at the Penang Hill for more than 3 hours at night, and the staff at the restaurant was very understanding in the morning when we were late for breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from SharifahQaseh, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Responded 22 Dec 2019
Dear faludafabia, Thank you for sharing your feedback , the time and efforts bringing this to our attention.Do allow us to take this opportunity to explained more detail. All standard room no fridge,limited amenities and it's upon request. We suggest to you to booked Deluxe category for next future visit. Hotel is on a mission to reduse the usage of plastic bottles for a cleaner and greener environment, Hotel provided dispenser water every floor. Hotel selling adaptor at reception counter the cost is RM15. Thank you very much for compliment to our staff Jamal, its always great to read our staff have been recognized for their hard work, we have a wonderful team. Once again,thank you and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Cheers! " To Give The Best Accommodation Experience "
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Solo scorpio wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown is a medium sized hotel strategically located in the heart of Georgetown. Komtar bus station is just a stone's throw away. Restaurants and street foods are all within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel has a pretty decent nicely decorated clean room with all the necessary amenities. The bed is comfortable, water pressure is superb and a good selection of satellite tv channels. The hotel also has a restaurant The Auctions Room which serves daily breakfast,lunch and dinner. Despite the lack of variety of food on the breakfast buffet you will always be well taken care of by the restaurant staff led by Azhar and his team. Also the staffs at the reception are all well trained and committed in their works and they always greet you with a smile. Above all, the Skyview at the rooftop of the hotel has an amazing Komtar (the tallest building in Penang) view.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SharifahQaseh, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Responded 29 Nov 2019
Dear Soloscorpio, Thank you for your great feedback and it is very comforting to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel.We have taken note of your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. One again,Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay. Cheers! " To Give The Best Accommodation Experience "
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Inchek Piko wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
came here with my wife for short vacation. You cannot expect to much for what you pay but i think it worth it. It came with breakfst 👍.For those who come with personal transportation please note that hotel parking is very limited. On peak hour you need to park tepi jalan. Dont forget to get parking coupon or use app penang smart parking
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SharifahQaseh, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Responded 29 Nov 2019
Dear inchekp, Thank you for choosing Kimberley Hotel and sharing your feedback with us! We are glad to have you here in our home and enjoyed our service and location in the heart of Georgetown. One again, on behalf of Kimberley Hotel team, thank you and all of us look forward to welcoming you back. Cheers! " To Give The Best Accommodation Experience "
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Majolicamaniac wrote a review Oct 2019
Fort Valley, Virginia18 contributions37 helpful votes
Hotel is located near the heart of China Town.....Dozens of dining options are within a 5 minute walk. At the end of the block there is a night market. The hotel is a nice budget hotel with very professional staff.. I would recommend to others without any hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from SharifahQaseh, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Responded 29 Nov 2019
Dear Majolicamaniac, Thank you for choosing Kimberley Hotel and for giving us time writing a wonderful review! We are glad to have you here in our home and enjoyed our service and location in the heart of Georgetown. One again, on behalf of Kimberley Hotel team, thank you and all of us look forward to welcoming you back. Cheers! " To Give The Best Accommodation Experience "
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grace P wrote a review Oct 2019
Jakarta, Indonesia42 contributions5 helpful votes
We choose to stay in this hotel based on recommendations from our friends The hotel lobby has a old but modern vibe Good points : -in the middle of Georgetown, Kimberley night market is only 100 meters Chulia night market is only 5-7 minutes walk. Tai Tong dimsum restaurant is only 150 meters -Upside Down museum is also very near around 150 meters -nearby shopping mall : Komtar, 1st Avenue, and Prangin Mall (-/+ 100 meters) -they reduce plastic bottle waste by providing water dispenser, bring your own tumbler when you go -basic amenities : shampoo, bath gel, towels is provided they can provide hair dryer, hair cap etc by requests only What needs improvement : -the cleanliness is okay but not the best there is strange smell coming from the shower curtain -some stains on the room wall -they do not put separator in shower area and closet area so when you bath the water will reach the closet -the room aircon is not cool enough -hotel wifi is very slow, and mobile connection is also slow in this area, I don't know why Other things : -our room is a bit small, if you want more space, take a closer look into the sqft area in room description Overall it is a very nice stay for us. The location is indeed the best!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SharifahQaseh, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Responded 29 Nov 2019
Dear agnes_grace, Thank you for your feedback.It is certainly a great pleasure to have received your feedback and thank you for the time you have taken to describe and give your comments, While we are appreciate your compliments, we also have taken note on your feedback and it is indeed disheartening to learn of the inconveniences you had to endure in what would be otherwise a hassle-free gateway.Please accept our sincere apology for the less than ideal guest experience. One again,Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay. Cheers! " To Give The Best Accommodation Experience "
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$21 - US$35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandGeorge Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
115
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Which popular attractions are close to Kimberley Hotel Georgetown?
Nearby attractions include Penang House of Music (0.3 km), Tech Dome Penang (0.3 km), and Sun Yat Sen Museum (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kimberley Hotel Georgetown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yin's Sourdough Bakery and Cafe, Junk Cafe, and Cafe Lagenda.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kimberley Hotel Georgetown?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Indonesian, Malay, and Tamil.
Are there any historical sites close to Kimberley Hotel Georgetown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting George Town (0.6 km), Armenian Street (0.5 km), and Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion (0.7 km).