We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
18 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250 Malaysia
E-mail hotel
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
Priceline
Official Site
Agoda.com
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (102)
Room & Suite (29)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#40 of 135 hotels in George Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ascott Gurney Penang is situated along a scenic waterfront promenade that is among the most popular locales in Penang; Gurney Drive has been lauded as one of the top streets to visit worldwide. Our luxurious collection of serviced apartments promises a convenient stay in the heart of a multicultural, social and commercial hub in Georgetown, just a hop, skip and jump away from the Old Town UNESCO World Heritage Site. If you love the allure of old-world charm, explore iconic historical landmarks such as Cheong Fatt Tze – The Blue Mansion, Fort Cornwallis, Khoo Kongsi and Kapita Keling Mosque; all of which are a short 5- to 10-minute taxi ride away from Ascott Gurney Penang. Foodies are sure to be thrilled with a stay in this bustling part of Georgetown that is fondly referred to as the ‘all-day hawker capital’ of the country. Being the multicultural city that it is, the cuisine here draws on the best of many worlds, having been influenced over the centuries by Malay, Chinese, Peranakan, Indian, European and Eurasian culinary traditions. Along the waterfront, you’ll find an extensive array of hawker outlets that serve a gamut of mouth-watering local cuisine. Among them is the Gurney Drive Hawker Centre - renowned for its delectable seafood dishes, located a 5-minute drive away from Ascott Gurney Penang. For shopaholics, Gurney Walk is linked to Ascott Gurney Penang, alternatively Gurney Paragon Mall and Gurney Plaza are a quick 3- to 4-minute minute taxi or Grab ride away. And for those who want to enjoy picturesque hillside views, an excursion to Penang Hill is in order; hop on the funicular that climbs the hill, taking passengers past lush trails, sweeping views and gardens full of flowers. Ascott Gurney Penang is set the new standards for sophisticated living, providing its guests with top-notch comforts that helps them feel at home while on their travels. The first internationally-branded serviced apartment in Penang, the serviced aparmtent has 271 apartments that range from studios to Two-Bedroom apartments with fully furnished kitchenettes, built-in washers and dryers. Connect with loved ones back home using our complimentary Wi-Fi before you head out to explore Georgetown for the day. Complementing the elegant rooms will be an all-day-dining restaurant, pool bar as well as business and recreational facilities which include banquet facilities, meeting rooms, infinity swimming pool, gymnasium, residents’ lounge, children’s playroom, children’s playground and dedicated outdoor barbeque areas.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Kids stay free
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Public wifi
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Babysitting
Indoor play area for children
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Landmark view
Pool view
Show more
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay
32Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
hclee01 wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore28 contributions1 helpful vote
Property is located at Gurney Drive, which is pretty convenient to travel around for sightseeing and food. Room is clean and well equipped with amenities for a comfortable stay. Bed and pillow is comfortable for a good night sleep. Breakfast is served at Level 1 restaurant and it can get busy on weekends, and may be difficult to find an empty table for breakfast. Suggest to go earlier to get a table and more food selection. Housekeeping service is okay with the bed made and rubbish cleared daily. However, the used empty drinking glasses are left impact without cleaning and return to the shelf. Staff service is good, in particular for Mr Rain Chan, who periodically checked in with us to make sure that our stay is a comfortable one. Pretty good personal touch, leaving us very pleased with the stay. Overall, hotel hardware is pretty good and will be excellent if the service level such as housekeeping can further be improved upon.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Ang, General Manager at Ascott Gurney Penang
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Lee, We are glad you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Your positive commendation certainly means a lot to us ! Please know we are so grateful you have chosen us for your trip in Penang Malaysia and hope to welcome you back again soon. Warmest regards, Sharon Ang General Manage
Read more
seejong85 wrote a review May 2022
kuala lumpur8 contributions11 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Wonderful 3D2N stay with Ascott Gurney Penang. Ascott is forever my top favourite when im travelling. Thank you for arranging and preparing the welcoming arrangement for my partner. And very thoughtful of you to allow me to late check out (in view of my evening flight on the day of my check out, so i get good rest before heading to the airport) Enjoying the cleanliness and the seaview from our room! Bathtub view is marvelous, definitely give 100% to Ascott Gurney Penang. Thanks for everything throughout my stay, including the customer services at the counter, and the room services staffs. And i love the washing machine and dryer. It helped me with my laundry, as I gym Everyday. It takes about an hour to completely washed and dry out my all my sweaty laundry immediately after my gym. TQVM
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Ang, General Manager at Ascott Gurney Penang
Responded 30 May 2022
Dear Dr See, Greeting from all of us in Ascott Gurney Penang ! We are thrilled to hear you and your family had an excellent stay and truly appreciate your kind praise that helps motivate us and my team to do their best on a daily basis. Looking forward to seeing you soonest! Be safe and take care. Kind regards, Sharon Ang General Manager
Read more
Liying Tay wrote a review Jun 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1 contribution
A new hotel, every part of the hotel is clean and tidy. Stayed in a 2-bedroom premier, the room is spacious, it has almost everything we need. Not forget to mention about their breakfast, I miss their taufufa a lot!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Ang, General Manager at Ascott Gurney Penang
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ms Li Ying, We are glad you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Your positive commendation certainly means a lot to us ! Please know we are so grateful you have chosen us for your holiday in Penang Malaysia and hope to welcome you back again soon. The team and the "Tau Fu Fa " are waiting for you. Warmest regards, Sharon Ang General Manage
Read more
Grace Yoong wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Great location with awesome service! Will definitely book my stay there again the next time I'm travelling to Penang be it for leisure or work. Kudos to Rain (one of the manager) there for facilitating and helping with the reservations!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Ang, General Manager at Ascott Gurney Penang
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ms Grace, We are glad you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Your positive commendation certainly means a lot to us ! I definitely convey your message to Rain and it will brighten his day. Please know we are so grateful you have chosen us for your holiday in Penang Malaysia and hope to welcome you back again soon. Warmest regards, Sharon Ang General Manage
Read more
Tony T wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I’ve really enjoyed my stay here. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I would say Ascott Gurney is the place to stay in Penang. Room is big and spacious with a kitchen. Location is excellent as it’s near to many place of interest. There’s a small mall beside for daily convenience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Ang, General Manager at Ascott Gurney Penang
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr Tony, We are glad you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Your positive commendation certainly means a lot to us ! Please know we are so grateful you have chosen us for your holiday in Penang Malaysia and hope to welcome you back again soon. Warmest regards, Sharon Ang General Manage
Read more
babitingz wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore33 contributions53 helpful votes
My friend and I booked Ascott Gurney Penang since they have newly renovated and re-opened in March 2022. However this was the worst decision ever. At 4pm, they only had 1 room ready for check in, when we booked 2 rooms. The hotel’s standard check in time is 3pm as stated. When asked why we could not check into both rooms, the reason was 1 of the room is not clean yet. When we went to the room (2405) that was ready, it was horrifying. There was rubbish everywhere in the room and a stench. I could not believe my eyes. It was not clean at all. When told about this, the staff (Wen) came up to check the room and agreed that she will change the room for us. However, they took another 15-20 minutes to find another room. There was no service recovery or compensation made to us for the terrible waste of time. We were brought up to another room and that was it. Strongly recommend NOT TO BOOK this hotel. The management and cleanliness standard is HORRIBLE. Given a choice, I would not even have rated a one star
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Ang, General Manager at Ascott Gurney Penang
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Our Valued Guest, Thankyou for sharing your experience with us about your stay with us recently. I would like to extend my sincere apologies if you were offended by having to wait for your room. The team was strive to give you a room first to rest despite the the hotel have been experiencing very high turnover of rooms due to high occupancy level and this does sometimes cause a delay in rooms coming back. We do not purposely leave our guests for waiting and this is definitely not the standard we are known for. With regards for the dirty room, It was my Associate accidentally overlook the status as the room was not clean yet. I am sorry for all the inconvenience cause again. We hope you will give us another chance again for better experience and please do reach out to me for your future booking, I will be more than happy to look after you personally. Wishing you have a good start of the week ! Best Regards Sharon Ang General Manager
Read more
Zein0105 wrote a review Jun 2022
Ampang, Malaysia4 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location. Worst front desk ! 1) Checked in and informed of difficulty to find the lift to hotel lobby. Bad signage. Peggy from front desk insist that she is right. There are 2 lifts ! Only 1 is with the sign on the other side of building. 2) Upon checking out, requested for invoice to be emailed. Did not send ! I had to call again to request 3 days later ! Dear GM Sharon, pls get more experienced personell. Only Nabil and the young Chinese guy with glasses were good.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Do not expect much from them.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Ang, General Manager at Ascott Gurney Penang
Responded 1 week ago
Dear En Zein, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and all other platforms which I have responded to you accordingly. Once again, I was sorry to read of your experience and on behalf the team & I, we would like to extend our sincere apologies and this is definitely not the level of service we have known for, We do hope you will give us another chance to serve you again and reach out to me personally and I am glad to serve you personally. Wishing you have a good start of the week ! Best regards. Sharon Ang General Manager
Read more
Julian L wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore87 contributions91 helpful votes
Stayed in a 2-bedroom Premier. Huge apartment, with master bathroom facing the open straits. Has all the typical amenities of an apartment, even utensils for cooking etc. Location along Gurney Drive, although not exactly walkable (under hot sun) to Gurney Plaza or famous Gurney Drive food centre, but very quick ride via Grab to these places. There's a fantastic fish head curry place and other food nearby (5 mins walk), and the building is right next to a small mall with a cafe etc. Breakfast is so-so, and nothing to shout about, but then again, who stays in Penang to eat hotel food?! Recommended hotel for business and families.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Ang, General Manager at Ascott Gurney Penang
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr Julian, We are glad you have had a wonderful stay with us. Your positive commendation and recommendation for the foods within the neighborhood certainly means a lot to us and all our valued guests ! Please know we are so grateful you have chosen to stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon. Once again thank you for your support and have a great day ! Best regards, Sharon Ang General Manager
Read more
Eddie Y wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Best service and upgraded property! The hotel was wonderful. It was even better than expected. The price was amazing. There were great restaurants within walking distance. Would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Ang, General Manager at Ascott Gurney Penang
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr Eddie, We are glad you have had a wonderful stay with us. Your positive commendation certainly means a lot to us ! Please know we are so grateful you have chosen us for your holiday in Penang Malaysia and hope to welcome you back again soon. Warmest regards, Sharon Ang General Manager
Read more
Edmond C wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore31 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
A very memorable stay with my girlfriend. We stay in the studio premiere, the room got almost everything, like kitchen utensils, a large bathroom with appelles shampoo and body wash. They also served a birthday cake to someone who birthday. Not very crowded for now, so you can really chill at the swimming pool. Studio Premiere come with Breakfast, the breakfast also impressed me, because they do have herb jelly 🥰 (龟苓膏) and tau fu fa. Nearby Ascott has plenty of local food, you wouldn’t say NO once you tried on Ascott Gurney Penang. Sincerely hope the Ascott management team can continue maintain the cleanliness and ensure the kitchen utensils are clean in future 👍👍
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Ang, General Manager at Ascott Gurney Penang
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr Edmond, Thank you for staying at Ascott Gurney Penang and sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you were impressed with many aspects of your stay and especially our chef efforts with extra ordinary breakfast menu by adding the the herb jelly 🥰 (龟苓膏) and tau fu fa. I will definitely share your message to the team and will make everyone so happy. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future. Kind regards, Sharon Ang General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$94 - US$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandGeorge Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
271
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ascott Gurney Penang
Which popular attractions are close to Ascott Gurney Penang?
Nearby attractions include Laser Warzone (0.4 km), Sand Art Corner (0.4 km), and Lobby Lounge (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ascott Gurney Penang?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ascott Gurney Penang?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Ascott Gurney Penang?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Ascott Gurney Penang?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ascott Gurney Penang?
Conveniently located restaurants include Orinea by Farquhar Mansion, Song River, and Northam Beach Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ascott Gurney Penang?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Ascott Gurney Penang have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Ascott Gurney Penang offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Ascott Gurney Penang have airport transportation?
Yes, Ascott Gurney Penang offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ascott Gurney Penang?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ascott Gurney Penang offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.