We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1-Stop Midlands Park Jalan Burmah, George Town, Penang Island 10350 Malaysia
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$47
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/07/22
Booking.com
US$33
View deal
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
Official HotelUS$49
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (319)
360
Panoramas (34)
Room & Suite (192)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 14/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 14/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#55 of 135 in George Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Home to discerning business and leisure travellers, the Berjaya Penang Hotel is conveniently located as part of the lively ‘1-Stop Midlands Park’ business and entertainment centre. With enchanting cultures, heritage and tantalizing food all around, the Penang Island also heralds in a golden opportunity to make business a true pleasure.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian, Malay
520Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 99
  • 162
  • 162
  • 49
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
yuxin h wrote a review 20 Jun
3 contributions
This is a terribly maintained hotel. The air condition controls are broken, the hairdryers are removed or stolen in some rooms, the interiors are shabby, the bathroom doors are rotting, It is unfriendly to the disabled and seniors. The bathrooms do not provide anti-slip mats, the elevator access is from the car park. There are big koi fish in the car park that have no room to swim - they are literally forced into a small space. The internet is weak. Plus: the staff - they are doing everything they can. Lovely people. But seriously find another hotel - don’t waste your money here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamachi Kalimuthu, Guest Services / Front Office at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear yuxinh2019, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards We are truly sorry to hear you endured some inconveniences while staying with us. All the your comments taken note and we assure you that necessary measures are being taken to rectify this to ensure that service standards are improved in future. Your comments have been directed to departments concern to be looked into. For your information, we have done some basic refurbishment, whereby we have replaced and done such as new carpets, new mattress, new pillows, new lights, repaint furniture and change upholstery, fresh coat of paint in the room and reglazed the bathtub. We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future. Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia
Read more
Cookie Monster wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
+1
No early checkin although we have informed them and was told that it is possible to check in early. Broken furniture everywhere in the room, AC not cold, toilet and wardrobe door not usable, crack and water damage paint.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamachi Kalimuthu, General Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2022
Dear Cookie_Monster520 We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards We are truly sorry to hear you endured some inconveniences while staying with us. Regards to early check in, we do consider and it is subject to availability. For your information, we have experienced a very high occupancy with back to back situation. This is one of the reason why the rooms are not ready for early check in. All the other comments taken note too and we assure you that necessary measures are being taken to rectify this to ensure that service standards are improved in future. Your comments have been directed to departments concern to be looked into. For your information, we have done some basic refurbishment, whereby we have replaced and done such as new carpets, new mattress, new pillows, new lights, repaint furniture and change upholstery, fresh coat of paint in the room and reglazed the bathtub. We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future. Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia
Read more
Shafiq Ghazie wrote a review Nov 2021
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia452 contributions339 helpful votes
I arrived around 530PM: sadly room was not even ready (Jr Suite). Had to wait around 30 minutes later for the room (6PM). I would understand if they were under staff (if it is still around 4PM: but hello it is near to 6PM ok). Simple apology wont do much. Got the room on level 21. Room is super dated: but separate layout seems decent. Lighting is OK, and so does the AC. Toilet is super small; basic toiletries were provided. I know it is weekend: super packed. But hey please take note of the SOP. No one check's/verify my entry at the main door. Also I noticed if you park and enter from the car park: basically no Mysejahtera scan is needed. Not sure how you verify vaccinated and non vaccinated guest. To make things worse: only 2 lift (out of 3) were functioning. People lining up and enter the lift and get crowd (over the 4 pax limit). I manage to tell the reception lady: but she wont do anything. Odd. The hotel personnel not even care to advise or check on this matter. I even had to take the stairs down to the lobby (scary). Breakfast on Sunday was ciaos. Would advice the hotel to deploy SLOT method for the breakfast (to manage crowd / limit). Food were average. Coffee tasted funny on Monday (not sure why: seems over burned). Monday was better no crowd as people back to work. Lunch at Coffee House Menu for lunch or dinner is kind of cheap. Food tasted OK: but I feel some minor improvement needed to the taste and presentation. Staff were decent and friendly. Funny thing is their house keeping and maintenance staff were friendly and attentive. They deserve some credits. Would strongly recommend some urgent improvements: 1. Properly enforce SOP (get some one to check each guest entering the building: status of their MySejahtera / temperature etc. 2. Front desk staff need some further training (communication and crisis management). 3. Parking - get some staff to ensure traveler / visitor status (MySejahtera) 4. Slot base time for breakfast (if the hotel get super packed) Best wishes to this hotel...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Junior suite give you extra space
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamachi Kalimuthu, General Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2021
Dear Mr Shafiq, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We are truly sorry to hear you that the checking in process was late due to the rooms was not ready in time. For your information, we have experienced a very high occupancy with sudden picked up and it was back to back situation. Your comments has truly inspired us to re train the front desk staff. Nevertheless, we will re look how to overcome this situation in future and at the same time we have been reminded all staff on duty that the appropriate procedures to follow. You also commented on the lift , due to some technical issues our maintenance team was really working very hard to fix it. Regards to your comment on breakfast time at restaurant, we have been addressed to the department head concern for immediate rectification to ensure this issue do not re occur. Once again,our sincere apologies and we are very much hope that you will afford us the opportunity of welcoming you and family back to Berjaya Penang Hotel and same time restore your faith in our product and service. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia.
Read more
Hida wrote a review Jan 2021
5 contributions
We arrived early (2.00+ pm) & waited untill 4 pm to check in (usually check in 3.00 pm) The staff didn't give clear explanation what happening untill we asking what's going on. Not very satisfied with the sevice. The hotel room is ok but the incidence already spoil our mood.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamachi Kalimuthu, General Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2021
Dear Hudayati, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We are truly sorry to hear you that the checking in process was late due to the rooms was not ready in time. For your information, we have experienced a very high occupancy with sudden picked up and it was back to back situation. Nevertheless, we have taken note on your comments and will re look how to overcome this situation in future. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia.
Read more
nazrul wrote a review Sep 2020
Miri, Malaysia648 contributions119 helpful votes
Location is good. Not far from the main attractions in Penang (anyway Penang is small). Room is decent. Furnishings are old but that is ok. All are functional. Staffs are friendly. Hotel is clean. Reasonably priced too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamachi Kalimuthu, General Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Dear nazrul6898, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback . We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We are delighted to learn that your recent stay with us was generally to your satisfaction. We appreciate your acknowledging our staff and we will definitely pass your comments on our staff’s friendliness, level of service and also their response to your needs to our team. We pride ourselves with seeing to our guest’s comfort and goal is to ensure we provide exceptional service to all guests. We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future. Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Penang Malaysia
Read more
JMK wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Except for unavailable elevator from parking to lobby, there isnt any issue. The room is clean and well maintained the staffs are frinedly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel either for business trip or leisure. Keep it up.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamachi Kalimuthu, General Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded 4 Aug 2020
Dear Dr JKAMK, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We appreciate your acknowledging our staff and we will definitely pass your comments on our staff’s friendliness, level of service and also their response to your needs to our team. Glad to know too that you are generally happy with your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves with seeing to our guest’s comfort and goal is to ensure we provide exceptional service to all guests. Regards to the elevator, only one entrance was allocated due to RMCO for proper monitoring. However, for emergency use, we do arrange to use service lift, whereby we have put up a proper signage with arrows from car park to service lift. We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia.
Read more
Wan wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Good room and food. Friendly staff. Room very clean. Food very delicious. Facilities are very good. Very good price. Very good location. Swimming pool are big.Suitable for family and business. Worth for vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamachi Kalimuthu, General Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded 4 Aug 2020
Dear Wan Travelling, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We appreciate your acknowledging our staff and we will definitely pass your comments on our staff’s friendliness, level of service and also their response to your needs to our team. Glad to know too that you are generally happy with your recent stay here. We pride ourselves with seeing to our guest’s comfort and goal is to ensure we provide exceptional service to all guests. We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia.
Read more
Eva T wrote a review Feb 2020
East Java, Indonesia21 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed here because of the hotel's proximity to the Penang Adventist Hospital which is just across the street. The hotel feels old and tired. They updated the carpet and some bathroom appliances but that is not helping a lot. The room was clean but the mattress of the king sized bed was really bad. Laying down I could feel the wires! The padding is worn-out. The mattress needs to be replaced. The temperature of the air-conditioning could not be adjusted. It was simply cold. The key card which is normally needed to start the electricity in room was not working. When we entered the room the air conditioning was already on and we found that we always had to switch off all the lights by hand when leaving the room - as well as the air conditioner - because the extraction of the key card did not do it. The breakfast buffet had a good variety of food. For lunch and dinner there are a lot of restaurants in the area and two shopping centers with more upscale venues nearby. A number of staff have worked here many years. Most are really friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from KalaKalimuthu, Front Office Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Dear Eva T, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed our location and that it allowed you to conveniently reach to Penang Adventist Hospital, shopping malls and nearby restaurants. Glad to know too that you were impressed with varieties of selection of breakfast served and it is value for money. Noted on your comments that the hotel is older, it is well maintained by our staff as we have preventive maintenance works to meet our guests comfort and it is ongoing. We have also taken note of your feedback's to the bad condition of the mattress and uncontrollable air condition temperature . We assure you that necessary measures are being taken to rectify this to ensure that service standards are improved in future. Your comments have been directed to departments concern to be looked into. We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia.
Read more
CharmingSr wrote a review Feb 2020
Penang, Malaysia33 contributions30 helpful votes
Rate reasonable but room very small. Obstructive view for Standard view. Needs refurbishment. Breakfast nothing much. Weekend buffet dinner was disappointing with limited items. Lifts are very slow. Staff are however friendly and smiling.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KalaKalimuthu, Front Office Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear CharmingSr, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed our location and that it allowed you to conveniently reach Penang Adventist Hospital. Noted on your comments that the hotel need refurbishment and lifts are slow, it is well maintained by our staff as we have preventive maintenance works to meet our guests comfort and it is ongoing. We assure you that necessary measures are being taken to rectify this to ensure that service standards are improved in future. We have done some basic refurbishment, whereby we have replaced and done such as new vinny flooring , new mattress, new pillows, new lights, repaint furniture and change upholstery, fresh coat of paint in the room and re-glazed the bathtub. We appreciate your acknowledging our staff and we will definitely pass your comments on our staffs' friendliness, level of service and also their response to your needs, to our team members. Noted too on your comments that the limited choice in breakfast and buffet dinner. We have shared you concern to our chef and necessary action will be taken to further improve in selection of breakfast and buffet dinner. We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia.
Read more
matthji wrote a review Feb 2020
Bangkok, Thailand236 contributions116 helpful votes
I stayed here 3 nights, purely to get my Thailand visa from the nearby consulate. If you're here for this purpose then Berjaya Penang is ideally located. The consulate is just 15 minutes slow walk from the hotel and very easy to navigate to (2 straight roads). The Gurney malls are only 8-10 minutes walk in the other direction, too, so you can easily go do a bit of shopping, get food etc whilst waiting for your visa. My 4 star review is a bit subjective as it's 4 star based on what I needed the hotel for (a bed near to the Thai consulate). However, if I was holidaying in Penang (which I have on 5 previous occasions), I wouldn't choose this hotel. Yes, the hotel is a bit old and not keeping up with the more modern 4-5 stars but it does the job as long as you're not the kind of person to pick holes in everything or take photos of every little imperfection. Expect a fairly good hotel, in a fairly good location (excellent if you're here to get a Thai Visa) and fairly good service. Downstairs from the hotel is a 7-11 and Family Mart (30 seconds further down). There's also a taxi stand directly outside and a mall next door with KFC and some Asian food cafes. Breakfast is, again, good as long as you don't expect a Marriott-Style spread. There's toast, croissants, juices, cereal, porridge, fruit, cold meats and cheese, coffee, tea plus about 8-10 hot dishes to choose from, like noodles, rice, mixed vegetables etc. There's enough choice to fill you up for the morning. Couple of tips to the manager reading this... - welcome drink - bring it to the guests as they check in. When I checked in, I didn't even know where to get this from with the voucher you gave me. It's a nicer gesture bringing it to guests as they check in. - At check in your front desk staff should explain the services. I hadn't a clue where breakfast was, what times, what floor the swimming pool was or even what floor my room was on. I was just given my key card. It wasn't rude but you could improve on this very easily. - breakfast - all 3 mornings I had to go looking for your breakfast staff to give them my breakfast voucher. Have someone greeting guests as they come in for breakfast and thanking them when leaving. There's a lot of small details that could turn you into a proper 4 star as, for now, you're definitely a good 3 star but really not more. All hotel owners should stay in a decent (Marriott/Hilton for example) hotel to see all the things they should be doing. Anyway, I'll be back here if I need another visa, for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KalaKalimuthu, Front Office Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear matthji, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards We are pleased to hear your nice comments about your comfortable stay and you have enjoyed the location of the hotel. Always nice to know we succeed in making our guest having a successful and memorable stay with us. Noted on your comments that the hotel is older, it is well maintained by our staff as we have preventive maintenance works to meet our guests comfort and it is ongoing. We assure you that necessary measures are being taken to rectify this to ensure that service standards are improved in future. We have done some basic refurbishment, whereby we have replaced and done such as new carpets, new mattress, new pillows, new lights, repaint furniture and change upholstery, fresh coat of paint in the room and re-glazed the bathtub. Noted on the comments regards to customer service at front desk and cafe. We will re look into training for our associates and necessary action will be taken to improve our service standard. We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future. Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$27 - US$44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
berjaya hotel georgetown
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Georgetown City Hotel
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandGeorge Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
320
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Berjaya Penang Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Colonial Penang Museum (0.5 km), Church of Immaculate Conception (0.3 km), and Eva's Homemade Soft Nougat (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gravity, Rooftop Bar, G Kelawai, Penang, Bella Italia, and Huey&Wah.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Berjaya Penang Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Berjaya Penang Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Indonesian, and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting George Town (3.9 km), Armenian Street (3.8 km), and Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion (3.4 km).