We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
10, Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200 Malaysia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
ZenHotels.com
US$160
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (5878)
360
Panoramas (21)
Room & Suite (1488)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 13/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 13/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#19 of 135 hotels in George Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bowling offsite
Children's television networks
Kids pool
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay, Tamil
4805Reviews97Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,155
  • 1,079
  • 342
  • 149
  • 81
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
srtraveler2015 wrote a review Yesterday
South Riding, Virginia10 contributions1 helpful vote
The ocean view suites in the Victory Annex are unparalleled in the sea front experience! Loved listening to the waves and relaxing on the balconies. Wonderful service from each staff member we encountered, especially Liza. Thank you for an unforgettable stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
dbasha wrote a review Jun 2022
230 contributions316 helpful votes
My family and I stayed at the E&O for 3 nights recently, the first time in 12 years. The refurbished heritage rooms were lovely, as were the grounds, facilities and sea view. Staff competence levels were regrettably inconsistent, and the extra beds were remarkably small compared to many other hotels. All in all though, this hotel is undoubtedly one of the best choices in Georgetown.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Fikiwiki wrote a review Jun 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia94 contributions86 helpful votes
Absolutely appalling. We got here at 1pm, we even told them we'll be here at 1pm as we took their pick up service from airport, yet said room isn't ready and will be ready in an hour. 2.5 hours later, ROOM IS STILL NOT YET READY. LIKE WTH!!! And we have a young infant with us and they decided to just take their time cleaning the rooms cause the housekeeping people were busy eating. THEN they had the audacity ti tell US to go BUY drinks at their cafe. Wow. You should be treating us, not make us buy YOUR stuff cause you're slow in YOUR service. Oh also, we have a 6 month old who needs diaper changing, thank you for the slow service and making her wait in her dirty diaper for your convenience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Fraser, General Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thankyou for your honest comments about your checkin on 24th June, yesterday, and I apologise if you were offended by having to wait for your room. We have been experiencing very high turnover of rooms due to occupancy levels being high and this does sometimes cause a delay in rooms coming back. We do not purposely leave families waiting and I am sorry you think we do, perhaps our communication of you having to pay for your own drinks was not handled correctly as it is our policy always to treat guests to drinks if they have to wait, again i am sorry. I do hope you have been having a comfortable stay since you have been staying... Regards Management
Read more
Wonderboy wrote a review Jun 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1 contribution
I went to this place on 15th june 2022 for 4 days 3 nights visit. Its a beautiful place inside the hotel in busy town. Everything inside is really beautiful, loved the concept of the echo lobby. The deluxe suite twin was really nice and clean. Everything was going on as plan until came the 3rd day of our stay, we went to the pool and slowly it started to drizzle. I see no one in the pool, there were few guest relaxing on the chair under the umbrella. I asked the staff if i can get into the pool, he said NO because worried there might be a lightning, we said ok and ask him if he can open up the umbrella so we can sit and chill, he said NO again because of the wind (though the wind was not strong at all) at the same time he said this, few guest is sitting and relaxing under the umbrella. so i left to my room. as i get into the balcony, i saw few new guest arrive at the pool and the same guy setting up the chair and umbrella for them. they even went to swim. i asked him why are you letting them, he said the rain stop!!!! That night i went and complain to the receptionist, he said will get the chain manager to speak to us first thing in the morning. unfortunately NO ONE CAME AND APPROACH US about it!!!! WHAT A POOR MANAGEMENT!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Fraser, General Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thankyou for your honest comments and I apologise if my staff offended you over this incident. I have takent this matter up with my Management and I assure you there was no intention on the staffs part to upset you, he was thinking of guest safety at the time. I do hope you will come to stay at the hotel again in the future. Regards Management
Read more
Garylim007 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I had high expectations for this famous iconic hotel in Penang. Had been a business traveler to most 5 stars hotels past 10 years. It is such a shame how such a nice designed property is really let down by very poor one star service by its staff. When we arrived, hotel staff at multilevel carpark ask us to park at heritage wing, upon reaching heritage wing, the staff there shouted ‘parking full!’, ask us to go back to at multilevel. After check in, our luggages was left at lobby for more than 2 hours even after 3 times urgent reminders from room to the front desk! Was told all staffs are very busy and asked me to wait. There no introductions of room or hotel at all. Had to walk down to lobby to complain and saw all the staffs standing and chatting, doing nothing. Asked the guy if we can have a lounge with coffee to wait while waiting for luggage but said had to wait till 6pm. In room coffee machine was not working, staff promised to fix it but nothing happened. Ended up stuck in room from 3-530pm just to wait for luggage. Bar table in room was so full of dusk. Fruit basket had only 2 green apples. Complimentary whisky was not filled up, vodka and gin was ok. Complimentary lounge only serve local can beer, no draft or even bottled beer.. there was only 3 types of food/canapes, disappointed. Asked for additional bottled water, ice to room but gave up after waiting for half hour, had to go down again to collect. Was told by front desk Sarkies breakfast is until 11am, we were there at 1030am and no more food. Same as Planters Lounge, no more food. Requested for late check out due to all these delays, was rejected outright by front desk, no apologies. What is the point of paying almost rm1000/night for this nice hotel if we cannot enjoy it?? Our supposedly anniversary celebration was totally ruined by the very poor service. I feel there was no motivation in your staffs and the management must bear the responsibilities, failing so will bring more unhappy guests. If you are saying you were full and were out of staffs, we have checked out of Parkroyal Penang and was immensely satisfied with their service and hospitality. It’s the people that brings out the shine of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Fraser, General Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay with us, i have taken the liberty of writing separately to you wiht regards to your issues above. Best regards Management
Read more
christinejY8967US wrote a review Jun 2022
Port Stephens, Australia59 contributions33 helpful votes
We stayed at three different hotels on this trip to Penang and Langkawi. This hotel was the most expensive and the service the worst. Negatives: We asked if we could check in early, told to come back at 2.30, so we did 3 o’clock the normal check in time came and went, after waiting an hour in the lobby at 3.30 my husband went up to the desk and after another 5 minutes our room was ready, we had to buy our own coffee while we waited. When we got to the room which was beautiful and opened to the sea there were empty beer cans in the bush next to our outdoor chairs.These are no big deals but given its reputation and price I would have expected more, the staff were ok but certainly did not go out of their way, except for the coffee guy in sharkies who was brilliant. They were many other little things about the service which is disappointing. The contrast in service was huge between the other hotels, so a big disappointment. Positive: The room was beautiful as was the location and pool,bed comfortable. We loved Malaysia but won’t be returning to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Fraser, General Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thankyou for sharing your feedback of your recent stay with us. i apologise that you had to wait for your room which would have been due to high occupancy in the hotel at the time of your stay and also for the beer cans in the garden. I have spoken to housekeeping to be more careful. We do hope you decide to come to stay with us again soon as I am sure you will be comfortable with our service . Thankyou Management
Read more
Julie M wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore2 contributions1 helpful vote
Second time at this beautiful hotel. We had a ground floor premier suite in the Heritage Wing. The room was nicely decorated with a lounge area opening onto the terrace. The bathroom was large with a big tub, but no bath foam as the amenities were in the shower and not movable. That was disappointing as a bath with no bubbles is pointless! The menu was almost identical in all the restaurants, pool and in the room. It was quite limited but ok as we only stayed for 3 nights. Staff were all great, very friendly and professional. I also loved the Heritage Wing pool. It was never very busy despite the hotel being full when we arrived. We will definitely be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Nicholas P wrote a review May 2022
Brisbane, Australia9 contributions
I love this hotel - I’ve stayed here three times now and it’s one of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed at I love the heritage style and the hospitality Stayed here with a group of six and we all loved it A great happy hour A great pub And great service….
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Stewarty16 wrote a review May 2022
Singapore, Singapore82 contributions31 helpful votes
The building, rooms and pool area are just stunning. You are transported back in time to an age of old world glamour. What’s missing to take it to the next level is great service with a smile. The exceptions to this were in the Farquhar bar (different manager I wonder?) and the chefs cooking behind the counters at breakfast! Talking of breakfast, the extensive selection is great and delicious at Sarkies, However this is let down by service staff who looked truly miserable. The noise level when busy is bad too, as whilst a lovely room there are no curtains or soft furnishings to cushion the noise. Dear management, please also improve your cocktail hour. The canapés were just sad and there were in fact no cocktails offered?! All in all a nice idea, poorly executed. Despite all that I would still recommend the place, with expectations managed, and I will return in the hope of improvements made, as this iconic spot deserves it!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Fraser, General Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thankyou for your comments, we shall seriously look at the sound levels in Sarkies which is as you know our very busy buffet restaurant, indeed very popular with all who eat in there. I apologise about the service staff not looking happy. i think this may be the current level of casual staff we have in there who maybe nervous perhaps, I will look at making sure this is improved. Thankyou for highlighting about the cocktail hour, which is in fact an hour where we serve house wines, beers and spirits to certain guests in house. I will look at the canapes served and see where we can adjust where necessary. I do hope you come to visit us again so we can perhaps renew your confidence in our services Regards Alison Fraser
Read more
Packidge wrote a review May 2022
Penang Island, Malaysia139 contributions103 helpful votes
The other reviewers have already said much of what I wanted to say but I would just add that in a 5-star hotel you expect things to be spotted and dealt with the management long before the clients ever need to complain. I know lockdowns will by used to excuse this drop in standards but lockdowns were also the perfect time for the management to get the hotel ready for the return of normality. One petty example is the shower caps, which have all started to bio-degrade. Despite asking twice for shower caps that didn't fall apart on opening the packet they just kept giving out the old stock. I would mention also that the aircon in our room was stuck on freezing cold so we had to open the windows to allow some warmer air in (although one window was stuck closed). We never got the daily fruit which was supposed to be included nor was the mini-bar ever re-stocked. We took breakfast both days in Palm Court but, despite having many staff, the service was slow and the a la carte breakfast was really not up to par. We had the afternoon tea there one day but for some reason they allowed a group of noisy Indian men to come in and drink their beers thus spoiling the ambience for everyone else. E&O is a very special place in Penang and this wonderful 5-star building should provide a wonderful 5-star experience. It doesn't.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Fraser, General Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thankyou for your honest comments which we take very seriously. I shall follow these up with my department heads to ensure we improve Best regards Alison Fraser General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$139 - US$197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
eastern and oriental hotel, eastern oriental georgetown, eastern oriental hotel
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandGeorge Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
232
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Eastern & Oriental Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Street Art in George Town (0.4 km), Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion (0.2 km), and The Camera Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Eastern & Oriental Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Eastern & Oriental Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Eastern & Oriental Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Eastern & Oriental Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Eastern & Oriental Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indigo Restaurant at The Blue Mansion, Kimpo Famous Roasted, and Mews Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Eastern & Oriental Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Eastern & Oriental Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Eastern & Oriental Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Eastern & Oriental Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Eastern & Oriental Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Eastern & Oriental Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Eastern & Oriental Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.