We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Save
Share
33 New Lane (Off Macalister (Off Macalister Road), George Town, Penang Island 10400 Malaysia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
StayForLong
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (952)
Room & Suite (529)
Dining (92)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 22/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Updated 22/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#28 of 133 hotels in George Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled amidst the vibrant city life and heritage charms of George Town, Penang, Sunway Hotel Georgetown Is the preferred 4-star hotel for business and leisure travelers to the Pearl of the Orient. It is easily accessible to major commercial and business hubs as well as the numerous tourist attractions and farmed hawkers centres. The iconic Penang Bridge, Ferry Terminal and the Penang Internation Airport are just a short drive from the hotel. Sunway Hotel Georgetown has the honour of being location in a UNESCO World Heritage site as well as within walking distance from the renowned KOMTAR Building. Sunway Hotel Georgetown has been recognised as a 2020 Travellers’ Choice award-winner for hotels. Return to the safety of your home away from home, as Sunway Hotel Georgetown is also a proud recipient of the Clean and Safe Malaysia certification.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Radio
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Indonesian, Malay
1762Reviews49Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 427
  • 848
  • 321
  • 108
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LVINVIN wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Doing the self check in was mention my room isn’t ready yet, and head to the counter and check in was super fast at 3pm. Room was super clean and worth it with the amount i paid for it, bathroom is clean too. Received two parking summons for park in-front of the hotel in the parking box. But it doesn’t a matter. Staff was friendly and polite upon arrival. Will be staying in your hotel again soonest.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown. We are glad that you are happy with our services. We are sorry for the inconveniences caused due to the high demand for car parking, rest assured that our Security team remains committed to assist, ensuring the safety of our guests and vehicles. Thank you for making us your preferred choice of accommodation in Penang. Please recommend us to your loved ones, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, The Management
Read more
Feeyona wrote a review Dec 2021
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia97 contributions34 helpful votes
I’ve paid almost RM1200 for 2 nights for 2 rooms (that’s almost RM300 per night) but the overall quality of the hotel room and service was way below my expectations. I checked in late at almost 5pm but was still asked to wait for 20 mins before I could enter my room. The receptionist claimed that they needed time to replenish the bathroom toiletries etc. I’ve also booked 2 deluxe king size bedroom but was only given 1 king size bed and the other was said to be queen because they claimed that they ran out of king size. But when I entered the room it was twin bed. Dishonest or what you judge it for yourself. I’ve also requested for a babycot earlier via Agoda but was not being responded to. So I asked again upon check in. They earlier said there will be a baby cot provided but ltr informed saying that they do not have any at that moment. I insisted for one for the following night of which they obliged but the mattress didn’t seem too clean as it was ‘sandy’! When I entered the room, half drank mineral water was still placed at the bedside table. Disgusting or what? And when I went into the bathroom, the body wash liquid bottle was empty. So what was being replenished? I don’t know. Hotel also didn’t come with any free breakfast which I think isn’t worth it. Swimming pool is really small as well and nothing to shout about. The only good thing was the location and the staff were rather friendly and probably the late check out given. Don’t think I’ll ever stay here again. Save your money for newer hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Feeyona. Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown. We are glad that you find our location strategic. Your feedback on our services, and facilities is very much appreciated. Please allow us to clarify that, the room assigned will be based on room availability upon guest arrival. We believed your impression of being given a Queen bedroom was due to miscommunication, as the hotel only offers King and Twin bedrooms. We are sorry for the inconveniences caused due to the time required for the room to be ready for check-in, as well as our Housekeeping services. Rest assured that the above issues have been highlighted to our team members, with a stern reminder to ensure our rooms are fully sanitised and safe for guests in the future. We promise to ensure the similar does not happen in the future. Thank you for your patronage and hope this experience will not mar your impression of our hotel, as we remain committed to serve you with enhanced services. Regards, The Management
Read more
stcs83 wrote a review Dec 2021
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia20 contributions23 helpful votes
Staffs are friendly. Room is clean and located at a very convenient location. Food stalls just around the corner. Must try the local food. Just about 5 min walk to Penang Time Square. Asked to make up the room but no one came. Otherwise would give a 5 stars
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Limited parking space. Park your car and take a Grab
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown. We are glad that you are satisfied with our services and find our location strategic. We view your comment about your request not being attended with concern, rest assured that this has been highlighted to our team, in order to avoid the similar from happening again in the future. We hope to welcoming you again soon, as we are committed to proof that we are capable to meet our guests' expectations. Thank you for your trust and we look forward to see you soon. Regards, The Management
Read more
Adam Abdullah wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Check in & check out were fast. Staff is friendly. Special thanks to Night DM Faiq for his assistance during the stay. Cons : parking spot very limited, if you came back hotel late there will be no parking spot. No in room dining. Buy food before came back to hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Adam Abdullah, Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown. We are glad that you have enjoyed our services. Your feedback on our parking facility and F&B services is very much appreciated. We are sorry for the inconveniences caused due to the high demand for car parking. Our Security team remains committed to assist, in order to ensure the safety of our guests and vehicles parked around the hotel. As the hotel is currently optimising our F&B services, ensuring all other areas are taken care of for better guest experience, your understanding is highly valued. We have vending machines available in our cafe for guest's convenience as your comfort remains our priority. Thank you for your patronage and support. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, The Management
Read more
Sathish wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions
This hotel has very poor management for parking. Any traveller going by car should not select this hotel. I feel parking lot is provided based on tipping. Staffs are happily saying "Sorry" just to manage that moment and forget after some time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown. We would like to thank you for spending time out of your busy schedule to write us a review. Your feedback about our parking facility is very much appreciated. We are sorry for the inconveniences caused due to the high demand for car parking. Please allow us to clarify that our parking bays are made available based on a first-come-first serve basis, our team members are assisting at our level best, ensuring the safety of our guests and the vehicles. All our staff are treating all our guests equally. Nonetheless, we will be reminding our team to be more alert on our guest requests, with the aim to provide convenience to our guests. We hope this experience will not mar your impression towards our hotel, as we are committed to serve and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thank you. Regards, The Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$44 - US$70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sunway hotel georgetown
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandGeorge Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
250
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Which popular attractions are close to Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang?
Nearby attractions include Hin Bus Depot (0.3 km), REX Custom Tailor (0.3 km), and Komtar (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kraffmen, Tribute Retro Cafe, and Soul Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Indonesian, and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Armenian Street (1.2 km), George Town (1.3 km), and Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion (1.3 km).
Does Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.