We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Sentral Georgetown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sentral Georgetown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 307: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We stayed here for 5 nights after moving on from the beach. It's a nice hotel good size room with fridge. IT's on the edge of Georgetown. Breakfast is a little restricted for Western tastes but there's toast and they make omelets to order. Great Wi-fi here and the housekeeping is excellent. There's a small row of beautifully renovated shops...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
HSGeorgetown, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your 5 nights stay with us. Indeed, it was our pleasure to be of service to you. We certainly look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

check in 3pm on 29/08/ for a holiday trip for 3D2N...6pm go batu feringgi having dinner...8pm go 1st Avenue which near hotel to walk walk...back hotel around 10pm...when reach hotel we have been inform by security that parking lot was full...so i ask my brother to ask front office where should we park...wad v get is just park any place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Khai Lun N
HSGeorgetown, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. With regards to the car park, we sincerely apologized for the respond given to you by our staff. We agreed that the car parking space is limited in the hotel but we...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Location of hotel is good .Service is bad. Extra bed do not provide even though paid. Booking since a month ago, when the time checked in, extra bed not in the room. Call for the extra bed, they take almost 45min to come and just start to do set up. I asked the housekeeper and he answered that he does...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank himmanshu
HSGeorgetown, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. It was very disturbing to learn that your stay was unpleasant and would like to extend our sincere apology for the inconvenience that you had experience as a result of our service...

Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Good location, very near to ZimSum dimsum restaurant and street food stalls. Just walk less than 10 minutes to komtar bus station and nearby malls. The hotel staffs were quite nice and helpful. Capital One Leisure in the lobby is an advantage, you can hire cars and plan your trip there. The only minus thing was the poor wifi, easily...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ida L
HSGeorgetown, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. Hotel Sentral Georgetown is located in the heart of Penang and getting around is convenient. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, it was our...

Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

Staff friendly, but before we did the booking online, we requested for king size bed, but they just gave us two single bed...the bedroom got a bit smelly~ Location very nice...got a lot of penang foods around it!!! 10 mins can reach 1st avenue by walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bei L
HSGeorgetown, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. Our hotel is located in the heart of Georgetown where moving around is very convenient. With regards to the smell in your room, we had informed the Housekeeper regarding this. She had...

Reviewed 8 August 2015

If you just want to stay a night for rest , here are your choice ! Nice service staff but my room aircond was leaking, due to it was not effected temperature thus I never requested for a room changing as we are damn tired ..... by the way not bad for breakfast , is buffer style. Great for staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calvin O
HSGeorgetown, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral Georgetown Penang! Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. It is nice to hear that you are happy with our staff services. With regards to the leaking air cond, we sincerely apologized for the inconveniences caused. We hope this incident...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

So slow.. almost unusable... too many people are logging in and the WiFi is not locked. Anyone can use. Should improve on this as travellers need Internet badly to browse and plan our days. Other than that.. hotel is quite pleasant and helpful customer service. Special thanks to Ririn in front office desk. She has been a great help.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boyke W
Kuching
Reviewed 29 July 2015

this hotel is located right at georgetown but smaked in the middle of other buildings. not far from the main road. it gives an advantage of being quiet and at the same time easily accessible to public transport. check in was fast and easy. the guy name Shariff was extremely helpful and courteous. the rooms are clean but there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank az412
Steelton, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 19 July 2015

This hotel is very nice compared to the Sentral in Kuala Lumpur. The rooms have been newly renovated and are extremely clean. the staff is very courteous and helpful. The food buffet was ok but could use some improving. Capital One Leisure's in the lobby will help arrange all your tours and transportation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

It was good to stayed at Hotel Sentral Penang. Superb location with good din zum restuarant and street food nearby. Just 5-10 minutes walk to Komtar. Very convenient. 1 thing I don't like about this hotel is smell. Someone smoking next door and smell was very strong.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aor A

452 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (213)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Family Room (35)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (29)
Viewed
Executive Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Superior Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 km away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#28 of 79 in George Town
196 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 79 in George Town
857 reviews
0.1 km away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#25 of 79 in George Town
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Merchant Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#42 of 79 in George Town
76 reviews
0.4 km away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#36 of 79 in George Town
65 reviews
0.8 km away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 79 in George Town
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral Georgetown

Address: No 12 Lorong Kinta, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: RM147 - RM249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sentral Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sentral Georgetown Penang/George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Sentral Georgetown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sentral Georgetown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Triple room are large enough...”
  • my triple room - 518
 of 5 bubbles Julintari, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for non smoking floors”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“avoid the rooms close to elevator”
 of 5 bubbles tjongfeet, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Request higher floor facing behind of the hotel, as there are some open Karaoke opposite of the hotel till midnight.”
 of 5 bubbles Manwkn, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“middle or facing the main road”
 of 5 bubbles hnyew, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay