We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

G Hotel Gurney

Save
Traveller (1342)
Room & Suite (628)
Dining (188)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good39%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“executive floor”(89 reviews)
“shopping mall”(122 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,774)
There are newer reviews for G Hotel Gurney
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,621 results
Traveller rating
695
644
180
49
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
695
644
180
49
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive floorwelcome ice creamshopping mallsea viewkit kathotel penangfree mini barfood centrebig shoppingmodern designbatu ferringhilocal foodupon checkchecking inhotel lobbyextra bednight market
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 1,621 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Stayed here for almost 1 month. Enjoyed very much . Due to long stay they provided access to Executive lounge on weekends where drinks and snacks are complimentary. Opposite to beach and surrounded by Malls on both sides, it has...More

1  Thank Akshita A
Response from PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel GurneyResponded 23 February 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney recently and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michael Hanratty...More

Reviewed 1 February 2018

The hotel's condition was tip top however the staffs aren't friendly and helpful. What makes it worse was the fact that a handful of them aren't able to converse in English nor understand it. This isn't acceptable for a high class hotel catering to foreigners....More

Thank Rubenesk K
Response from PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel GurneyResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney recently and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to read of your poor experience at the hotel and I do sincerely apologize for this. I have discussed your comments with our Training Department...More

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Just checked out from the hotel. Stay one night at the Executive Floor due to a short business trip. I chose this hotel was because of it's location, and multiple-award winning reputation. The hotel has aged a bit since it was opened in 2007. It...More

Thank Tedbeh
Response from PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel GurneyResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney recently and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Early last year we did complete a 10 Million USD refurbishment of all guest rooms,...More

Reviewed 27 January 2018

The hotel overlooks the sea and in front of the main road, but it is not noisy.The hotel is next to two shopping malls and it is very convenient. The room we had was modern, spacious, with a big toilet. The bed was comfortable. The...More

Thank Lau_traveller
Response from PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel GurneyResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney recently and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michael...More

Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

One of the few hotels in Georgetown that has connecting rooms. They said the two rooms could accommodate 6 people. We used the sofa as a fifth bed as we didn't want to pay more for a roll away bed. Buffet breakfast great fuel for...More

Thank David G
Response from PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel GurneyResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney recently and posting your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Penang Island
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$115 - US$197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in George Town
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#3 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$115 - US$197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in George Town
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#3 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (1342)
Room & Suite (628)
Dining (188)
Pool & Beach (125)
Amenities (52)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Permanent_Tourists
31 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Balan3 | Reviewed this property |
As far as i know, Yes they do....
1
Vote
Chris F
23 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Rita F | Reviewed this property |
Bad luck, I think. Even sheraton would have similar situation.
1
Vote
bentandbongs
19 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from AthieDev | Reviewed this property |
I didn’t come across anything like that
0
Votes
Room Tips
"High floor, sea facing"
Read review
"Try and get a sea facing view."
Read review
"Corner rooms are more spacious and can comfortably fit another extra bed with partial view of the waterfront."
Read review
"Book an Executive Room it worth the extra $$"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing