We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

G Hotel Kelawai

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for G Hotel Kelawai
See the most recent reviews
Showing 335: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on two occasions and the hotel was impeccable! The rooms are spacious and I absolutely love the shower head in the bathroom. The views at the sky bar was breathtaking, with the perfect addition to take a deep on those hot days! All in all, I did enjoy my stay, however given what happened...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hamza B
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience on TripAdvisor. I was really sorry to read the less than satisfactory departure experience. To fully understand the details of what happened, I would appreciate if you could send an email to peipei.soo@ghotel.com.my and so we may better understand and to resolve this directly with you. Once again, thank you for...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in Penang at the G Hotel. Fantastic place to stay, and very comfortable with beautiful rooms and super comfortable beds. Only problem we experienced is the fact we had no wifi for 3 days and the hotel didn't seem to be in any hurry to fix it. We could also hear comments from many other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LesleyWoo
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was sorry to read that you had encountered some challenges with the internet connection during your stay. The hotel has an onsite Internet Technical service department to ensure of smooth connectivity so I was surprised to learn of your experience of no internet. I...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's right behind G Hotel Gurney, about 250m walk from the original G. But it's a world of difference! The peace and quietness you enjoy here feel so much more relaxing. The layout of the lobby area is not that great. It seems like it was partitioned 50% from the ground floor area. Why they wouldn't use the full area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ling101028
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay in G Hotel Kelawai. G Hotel Kelawai does give our guest a unique alternative to G Hotel Gurney. All in house guest are entitled to use all the facilities at each of our properties – which are located...

Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is still quite new so all amenities are in great condition. A wonderful modern room with a comfortable bed. Front desk both at lobby and executive lobby is very friendly and accomodating. Shopping malls around the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DitaPerry
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and for posting your positive feedback. It is our great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michael Hanratty General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location of the hotel is near by the malls and also food stall ( hawkers of Penang food start at 6 p.m ) The swimming pool is on the 24th of the hotel which there is also the Gravity Roof Top Bar , must go to this floor , you can see a very beautiful view of Penang from here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yanti Y
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at G Hotel Kelawai. I was sorry to read that your request for a Twin Bedded room was not pre-arranged for your arrival. I have discussed this with our Front Office Manager to avoid similar inconveniences in the future. I do apologize for this. We do...

Perak, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

C/in on 21th, c/out on 22nd. My friend booked the room from one of his ex coworker who now working in G Hotel Kelawai. He get confirmation from her that the rate is RM400++, but when we check in and the bill show RM700++. We can't get clarification since she is not on duty on that period and the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wan1105
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with the rate you paid however all our rates are in relation to the demand within the Penang marketplace and our product offering. Each of our 208 guest rooms are furnished with Italian furniture, Herman Miller...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location - between the two malls - Gurney Plaza and Paragon Good rooms - with free minibar (1coke, 1sprite, 1lychee drink, 1 soymilk, 1 chocolate) Good service Good pool on the rooftop Friendly staff Modern Hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arjungupta101
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are lucky to have such wonderful associates who work very hard to provide great guest experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michael Hanratty General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good interior and cozy friendly service. Breakfast is abundance of choices. Like to stay there again when i go for penang. Modern hotel with good interior design, if you like modern minimalist. This g kelawai is a great choice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank albert k
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and for posting your positive feedback. It is our great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michael Hanratty General Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

G Hotel Kelawai is without doubt one of the best five star hotels on the island. We were impressed by the beautiful contemporary yet timeless design. The rooms were large (with much light) and also tastefully furnished. The tv was humongous, the only downside was that many channels were non-hd and therefore not that scrisp. The breakfast was very good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devin T
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at G Hotel Kelawai. It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michael Hanratty General Manager

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights in February and was upgraded to the Club Floor. The room was clean and spacious, but the tiles were slightly stained. The Club Lounge offers free evening cocktail from 6pm to 8pm but the food spread is quite limited. This also true for breakfast as compared to full breakfast spread at the Coffee House. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at G Hotel Kelawai. We have noted on your comments of the stained tiles and the offerings at the Executive Lounge and will look into how and where improvements can be made Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming...

706 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (388)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (225)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (265)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (17)
Viewed
Executive Premiere King Bed (22)
Viewed
Executive Twin (19)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Premiere Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (84)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.2 km away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 82 in George Town
1,545 reviews
3.2 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 82 in George Town
3,321 reviews
3.4 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 82 in George Town
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
769 reviews
8.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
3,602 reviews
4.3 km away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
G Hotel Kelawai tagged as "Style...Redefined" is where iconic design and cutting edge lifestyle set the stage for exclusive and extraordinary experiences. The hotel houses rooms that are uniquely inspired by innovative design to create energizing space for guests to play or work by day or mix and mingle by night. In addition to that, it will also accommodate three trendy and stylish food and beverage outlets - Spoon; a coffee house, 2PM; lobby lounge and Gravity; a 24th floor rooftop bar that are set to fulfil guests' gastronomic appetites. There are a total of 208 rooms namely 143 Deluxe rooms that are 35sqm, 20 units of Executive Room at 35sqm, 43 units of Executive Premier at 45sqm and 2 units of Executive Premier Suite at 82sqm of which all are crafted to be elegant yet casual. The rooms aim to personify an opulence that is bespoke from its clean architecture, to its interior design and even the thread count in the sheets. Feel right at home, and at the same time, in worlds apart. For the first time, G Hotel is proud to introduce the Serta Bed, the world's best mattress, providing superior support for the best sleep experience ever. In addition, Herman Miller work chair, designed for comfort, inspired by innovation & created for the environment. Amongst others, Appelles products for your showering comfort, 55" Smart LED TV, infinity swimming pool & many other new services and products to complement your stay. Also to make your stay better, G Hotel Kelawai offers a fully equipped gymnasium, business centre and roof top infinity pool. The gymnasium also allows you to use state-of-the-art equipment to break that sweat. You can enjoy the scenic view while working out with our personal trainers should you need any assistance or guidance. For those who have the love for water, the infinity pool on the 24rd floor gives you a chance to take in what Penang has to offer while having a dip. Fathom in the picturesque Penang when you go for a swim as there is a 360° view of the island including the view of the iconic Penang Bridge. At the same time, guest can enjoy a night out with drinks to match and view that intoxicate at the rooftop bar - Gravity. Poised at a vantage point, visit the pinnacle of luxury and bring your lifestyle to the peak with panoramic views of Penang's heritage past. Jive to the coolest tunes, sip on the newest mixes and party the night away. Make your special event a memorable one with the meeting facilities available. For small groups such as company meetings, there are classroom seating rooms being named 'Forum'. They can be used for separate functions or events that are organized by different organizations. If there is a large group gathering, these meeting rooms may be combined for a bigger space in order to accommodate everyone. Meanwhile, the business centre gives guests a chance to go online and do daily tasks. Excite and awaken your senses at our cafe - Spoon that plays host to a myriad of cuisines. Whether it is a casual brunch or a quiet dinner for two, enjoy a wide variety of food cooked fresh. With no compromise to quality ingredients, embark on a culinary adventure set to tantalize your taste buds with culinary fare from around the globe. Carefully crafted and delicately decorated, the lounge - 2pm is the spot that appeals to everyone. Whether it is a cup of freshly brewed coffee with a quiet book, or maybe something stronger to take the edge off after a long day, the lounge is poised to appeal to all. So sit down, relax, and live in the moment in your own cosy and quiet spot. G Hotel Kelawai is located at the prominent location on the bustling Jalan Kelawai, noted to be one of the busiest streets in Penang. Jalan Kelawai is famous for a diverse array of attractions ranging from traditional temples and local eateries to upscale restaurants, boutiques and jewellers. Located within walking distance from the hotel, Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon, just about everything Penang has to offer is right at your doorstep for unimaginable convenience. Within mere minutes is also Gurney Drive, home to the congregation of roadside iron chefs. Allow these local fare maestros to take you on journey of gastronomical proportions and sample almost all that Penang is famous for. Open for 24 hours round the clock stomach stuffing, you'll be screaming for reprieve before the week is out. ... more   less 

Additional Information about G Hotel Kelawai

Address: 2 Persiaran Maktab, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: RM421 - RM717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G Hotel Kelawai 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your G Hotel Kelawai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G Hotel Kelawai Penang/George Town
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from G Hotel Kelawai staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
2 months ago
Singapore, Singapore
2 months ago
Johannesburg, South Africa
Singapore, Singapore
5 months ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from G Hotel Kelawai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't take the room at the end of the aisle of the floor”
 of 5 bubbles yantiy2015, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 11th floor and it was quiet, however the air conditioning unit seemed to be a little noisy for me as I am a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles S6433BKfionab, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“executive rooms”
 of 5 bubbles hermafitz, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms and executive rooms are exactly the same”
 of 5 bubbles Holy-ung, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask what you want and if available you will surely get it.”
 of 5 bubbles ShenoyR, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5