We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

G Hotel Kelawai

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for G Hotel Kelawai
See the most recent reviews
Showing 335: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I love the location that it is just right beside the malls. I travelled with my elders and this location is great because the hotel offers buggy service to the next door mall and from there, you'll also get access to local food area. The services from the G Hotel staffs have always been pleasant. After having stayed on both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenzl
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. G Hotel Kelawai offers a new and different option from the G Hotel Gurney and gives our guest a broad choice of facilities. Apart from this, guest at either property have full usage and cross signage benefits at both hotels. We do look forward to...

singapore
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here during my trip to Penang . The bell boy and security staff is friendly and nice but the front desk manager is a little arrogant . Read on trip advisor that there are rooms with sea view . Decided to ask them if they can arranged for me a room with sea view . Quoted from the male...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank tommyfang
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was really sorry to read the less than satisfactory arrival experience you encountered and this is totally not acceptable for our usual high standard of services Please rest assured that your feedback has been raised to our Resident Manager and corrective measure will be taken to prevent any other guest being similarly inconvenience in the future. Our...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I recently had a 3 day stay at the G Hotel Kelawai for work. It seems to be a brand new hotel that is spotless inside with very modern rooms. The hotel found out that my spouse was going to be accompanying me and upgraded our room to include fresh rose pedals scattered about the entire room. The staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tala W
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, I am always pleased to hear that our guests were impressed with the services as well as the quality of the hotel facilities. I was delighted to read that your stay was fantastic especially the excellent services rendered by Jordon and we all look forward to...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Associates I encountered especially in-room dining and bell/door were all very polite, efficient and non-intrusive. Room 1938 was very comfortable and well-designed. I was let down a bit by the inconsistent cleaning - on the 3rd day sheets were not changed despite placing the card on the bed, floor not cleaned and some amenities not replenished. There were also minor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sakura27
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. It was good to know that overall you enjoyed your stay however I was sorry to read that you had encountered some shortcomings in terms of room cleanliness and maintenance issues. You have my assurance that your comments have been raised to our relevant departments...

Reviewed 8 January 2017

A great hotel with great staff who are always ready to help. Since the moment I have arrived in this hotel, they offered me and my family some ice cream as a welcoming thing and since i have booked the executive room, they took me to the exclusive lounge to check in which happens to be the same place where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Michael Hanratty General Manager

Reviewed 8 January 2017

Great food, amazing staff ! Having a great night at Spoon Cafe ,the food was nice and fresh & the staff was so amazing especially Shopna & Siva, thanks both of them make a good arrangements to us! We're enjoy it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evenlin Y
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for feedback while dining in Spoon Restaurant recently and we are glad to read that you had a great dining experience and your comments have been shared with Shopna & Siva, to let them know that their effort to provide excellent services are being appreciated. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Nordic design hotel with minimalist flic flac, ample rooms, nice bath. Great pool on the rooftop, although no umbrellas for the sunbeds, so one cannot spend more than 60 min at the pool side. On the other side, if there were umbrellas, probably the first guests to arrive would just hang out there the whole day because of the stunning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Li3z
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, The team and I would like to thank you for providing your feedback to us on TripAdvisor. We have noted on your comments of the availability of only one hanger in the bathroom and we will definitely look into this and make the required improvements. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Stayed a week and it was worth the extra amount to get a corner room with a tub. It was spacious and well kept ( except for the massive finger and face print on the mirror behind the sliding door of the bathroom which I had to clean after waiting two days for the cleaners to clean). Most of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Msceebae
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First and foremost, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory experience. We do take guest comments seriously and I was sorry to learn of the few aspects which left you feeling disappointed. We have investigated your comments and this has been shared with the respective departments to immediately implement improvements, training and...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Stayed here for three nights while visiting family over the holiday. It's a business-oriented hotel in the commercial section of Penang, and they do just about everything right. Great rooftop pool and executive lounge, modern and comfortable rooms, and friendly, helpful staff. Food options are almost all buffet style, which means at least it's plentiful. Unfortunately, the wifi connection is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank majawat
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience on TripAdvisor and we are glad to have the opportunity to respond to your concerns. We are very sorry to read the poor experience you had with the internet connection and rest assured that I have shared your feedback with the IT Manager to ensure it is looked into urgently and...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

This is one of the few hotels which has very prompt service when it comes to housekeeping. Whenever we called for something- water, body wash, towels etc... it came very promptly! Room was very comfortable, the wifi was a bit slow though. Had to reset it a few times to get it going. Fantastic location right next to Gurney Paragon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cykocyn
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for sharing your positive review on TripAdvisor and the team was delighted to see your feedback and I thank you for recognizing their efforts. We have noted your comments on the WIFI connections and rest assured that I have shared your feedback with the IT Manager to ensure it is looked into...

706 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (388)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (225)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (265)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (17)
Viewed
Executive Premiere King Bed (22)
Viewed
Executive Twin (19)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Premiere Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (84)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.2 km away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 82 in George Town
1,545 reviews
3.2 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 82 in George Town
3,321 reviews
3.4 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 82 in George Town
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
769 reviews
8.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
3,603 reviews
4.3 km away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
G Hotel Kelawai tagged as "Style...Redefined" is where iconic design and cutting edge lifestyle set the stage for exclusive and extraordinary experiences. The hotel houses rooms that are uniquely inspired by innovative design to create energizing space for guests to play or work by day or mix and mingle by night. In addition to that, it will also accommodate three trendy and stylish food and beverage outlets - Spoon; a coffee house, 2PM; lobby lounge and Gravity; a 24th floor rooftop bar that are set to fulfil guests' gastronomic appetites. There are a total of 208 rooms namely 143 Deluxe rooms that are 35sqm, 20 units of Executive Room at 35sqm, 43 units of Executive Premier at 45sqm and 2 units of Executive Premier Suite at 82sqm of which all are crafted to be elegant yet casual. The rooms aim to personify an opulence that is bespoke from its clean architecture, to its interior design and even the thread count in the sheets. Feel right at home, and at the same time, in worlds apart. For the first time, G Hotel is proud to introduce the Serta Bed, the world's best mattress, providing superior support for the best sleep experience ever. In addition, Herman Miller work chair, designed for comfort, inspired by innovation & created for the environment. Amongst others, Appelles products for your showering comfort, 55" Smart LED TV, infinity swimming pool & many other new services and products to complement your stay. Also to make your stay better, G Hotel Kelawai offers a fully equipped gymnasium, business centre and roof top infinity pool. The gymnasium also allows you to use state-of-the-art equipment to break that sweat. You can enjoy the scenic view while working out with our personal trainers should you need any assistance or guidance. For those who have the love for water, the infinity pool on the 24rd floor gives you a chance to take in what Penang has to offer while having a dip. Fathom in the picturesque Penang when you go for a swim as there is a 360° view of the island including the view of the iconic Penang Bridge. At the same time, guest can enjoy a night out with drinks to match and view that intoxicate at the rooftop bar - Gravity. Poised at a vantage point, visit the pinnacle of luxury and bring your lifestyle to the peak with panoramic views of Penang's heritage past. Jive to the coolest tunes, sip on the newest mixes and party the night away. Make your special event a memorable one with the meeting facilities available. For small groups such as company meetings, there are classroom seating rooms being named 'Forum'. They can be used for separate functions or events that are organized by different organizations. If there is a large group gathering, these meeting rooms may be combined for a bigger space in order to accommodate everyone. Meanwhile, the business centre gives guests a chance to go online and do daily tasks. Excite and awaken your senses at our cafe - Spoon that plays host to a myriad of cuisines. Whether it is a casual brunch or a quiet dinner for two, enjoy a wide variety of food cooked fresh. With no compromise to quality ingredients, embark on a culinary adventure set to tantalize your taste buds with culinary fare from around the globe. Carefully crafted and delicately decorated, the lounge - 2pm is the spot that appeals to everyone. Whether it is a cup of freshly brewed coffee with a quiet book, or maybe something stronger to take the edge off after a long day, the lounge is poised to appeal to all. So sit down, relax, and live in the moment in your own cosy and quiet spot. G Hotel Kelawai is located at the prominent location on the bustling Jalan Kelawai, noted to be one of the busiest streets in Penang. Jalan Kelawai is famous for a diverse array of attractions ranging from traditional temples and local eateries to upscale restaurants, boutiques and jewellers. Located within walking distance from the hotel, Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon, just about everything Penang has to offer is right at your doorstep for unimaginable convenience. Within mere minutes is also Gurney Drive, home to the congregation of roadside iron chefs. Allow these local fare maestros to take you on journey of gastronomical proportions and sample almost all that Penang is famous for. Open for 24 hours round the clock stomach stuffing, you'll be screaming for reprieve before the week is out. ... more   less 

Additional Information about G Hotel Kelawai

Address: 2 Persiaran Maktab, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: RM421 - RM717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G Hotel Kelawai 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your G Hotel Kelawai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G Hotel Kelawai Penang/George Town
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from G Hotel Kelawai staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
2 months ago
Singapore, Singapore
2 months ago
Johannesburg, South Africa
Singapore, Singapore
5 months ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from G Hotel Kelawai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't take the room at the end of the aisle of the floor”
 of 5 bubbles yantiy2015, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 11th floor and it was quiet, however the air conditioning unit seemed to be a little noisy for me as I am a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles S6433BKfionab, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“executive rooms”
 of 5 bubbles hermafitz, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms and executive rooms are exactly the same”
 of 5 bubbles Holy-ung, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask what you want and if available you will surely get it.”
 of 5 bubbles ShenoyR, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5