We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dreamcatcher Travelers Refuge

Save
Share
No. 3 Lebuh Klang, George Town, Penang Island 10200 Malaysia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (2)

About

#9 of 211 Specialty lodging in George Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bed and breakfast in a heritage building in the middle of Georgetown with a mix of fusion and Kampung style.
Read more
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Shuttle bus service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Malay
90Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 71
  • 14
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jalee123 wrote a review Feb 2018
Vancouver, Canada76 contributions27 helpful votes
Stayed here for 4 nights recently. Private room, had a mosquito net, fan, no AC. Room was quite small, had a small chair in it. Bathroom kept clean, communal. Chill area on main floor comfortable and cooler than room upstairs. Offered laundry service for 5 RM. breakfast was toast peanut butter small bananas, coffee and tea. Location is great, close to love lane and other restaurants. Staff were friendly and accommodating. We stayed over Chinese New Years so likely raised the price, but was expensive for what we got
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
EatBetterNotLess wrote a review Oct 2017
5 contributions5 helpful votes
BED BUGS!! And even worse, yes it's worse, a really rude and super aggressive manager/owner guy. I woke up with bites and also a Belgian girl had bed bugs on the outside of her suitcase and when we told the guy he literally yelled at us. He said they hadn't had them in a while and someone brought them in and everyone stayed out too late (although that had nothing to do with the topic at hand). Honestly, I should have called the POLICE. My Belgian, French and Malaysian roommates and I all left. One girl was shaking and crying because of the way he yelled, for over 10 minutes while she was getting her stuff together, in our faces!! Horrible experience. Minus that, the bottom floor area is cool, it's close to the main bits, the cleanliness was mediocre at best, beds are squeeky .. and the horrible mans fiance, who apologized for him, was sweet. I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from RaneeHamzani, Manager at Dreamcatcher Travelers Refuge
Responded 13 Oct 2017
Hi! You did say it yourself that you checked your mattress for bedbugs when you checked in, and your mattress was clean. As for the Belgian girl, I checked it together with her on the day she checked in, because she mentioned that she's really scared of bedbugs and we asked her to hold on to a bedbug spray,just to make her feel comfortable. She found a bedbug outside of her suitcase,after 6 days of staying with us. Also you mentioned that it could be the other guest/s who stays in the same room with you, that brought in bedbug, after she got bitten and moved from the previous hostel to our hostel. The girl you mentioned, was crying because she was unhappy/frustrated finding the bedbug outside of her suitcase. I am sorry of the misunderstanding that happened on the day. Everybody got worked out because of this creature :) As I told you, we hardly have any issue with bedbugs, and saw this things happening to you nice people, my guests, frustrate me and I do hope the money we gave you for washing your bags and clothes is enough. Thank you for pointing it out to us, this bugs issue and gave us suggestions on how to kill them, through your experience working in a hostel.
Read more
Marsi wrote a review Aug 2017
15 contributions4 helpful votes
This hostel has a very mellow vibe! There is a big common room in the ground floor with enough space to hang out with others! The bathrooms are very clean and get cleaned regularly and the beds are comfy! Don't expect a big party hostel, it is very small and calm but that makes it even more enjoyable! Recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Michael-Thomas93 wrote a review Aug 2017
16 contributions4 helpful votes
The Dreamcatcher Hostel is a very nice and friendly place: *great location *friendly staff *nice community area (with one computer) *clean rooms *wifi everywhere *very chilled atmosphere *only 2 showers
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Anne T wrote a review Aug 2017
Victoria, Australia122 contributions88 helpful votes
It's the lovely, comfortable downstairs lounge area that makes Dreamcatcher such a nice place to stay. There's books, computer, plants and a cat...and comfortable chairs and cushions. Dorms are small and clean but get very stuffy if your room mate decides to turn off the a/c in the night. The private rooms are at the front of the building and get some street noise. The beautiful wooden floors can be noisy if people thump like elephants. Bathrooms are clean and well maintained. There are hot showers. There is a laundry service, simple breakfast and very good WiFi. Staff are warm, welcoming and helpful. This is a quiet, relaxed place which will not suit those who like to drink and party in their guesthouse.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Catherine A wrote a review Jul 2017
Whitstable, United Kingdom12 contributions2 helpful votes
Staff are so lovely here and the decor great however didn't get a good nights sleep as you're able to hear any movement throughout the hostel. Once we eventually got to sleep we were then woken bright and early to someone watering the plants downstairs squeezing a plastic water bottle.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Azwan H wrote a review Jul 2017
Sungai Buluh7 contributions2 helpful votes
This hostel is really awesome. The infrastructure is really old school and it can reminds you back about the colonial era. If you want to have your own privacy, this is really not your place. But if you want to make some new friends along your journey in Penang and this is the correct place for you to stay. The receptionists are very very friendly and very very helpful. This place is near to most of the visitors attraction. So, it is easier for you guys to walk around.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Boong wrote a review Jun 2017
Bangkok, Thailand39 contributions10 helpful votes
First I booked just for 1 night, but after spending a night there, I quite impressed so I decided to stay for another night. The rooms are quite small but it's cozy enough. the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hostel located at Lebur Chulia, in the heart of George Town, it was very convenient for travelling to other attractions, especially if walking is your favourite.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
Helpful
Share
christina230 wrote a review May 2017
12 contributions4 helpful votes
Dreamcatchers is located in a great location in George Town, close to many sights & attractions. We shared a 4 bed room with our friends, which was fun. Bathroom facilities were very nice with waterfall showers. Hot water ran out really quickly though and one of the showers was out of order. I found the staff to be a bit unfriendly & quite unhelpful. When I asked one of the girls for dinner recommendations, she couldn't help me?! You're better off not having breakfast. Breakfast was terrible & not well looked after - toast with 3 mediocre spreads, hot water for coffee/tea and if you're lucky sliced oranges that taste weird. We decided not to have breakfast and go out for delicious Penang food instead. However, the shared common area is very nice & spacious and the guests were social & friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
natalieannwee wrote a review Apr 2017
Singapore, Singapore18 contributions6 helpful votes
My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and we had a good sleep in almost every day. We had a private room without AC and it was cooling at night so it wasn't a problem. Naz was really helpful and accommodating and her cats are the cutest! The lounge area was cosy and quiet which was perfect for us. The floors are a little squeaky and there's not much sound proofing in the room but it's something that we got used to rather quickly. The hostel is clean in general and i really enjoyed my showers there. The location was so convenient we could get to places just by walking! There are also buses near the main road along Lebun Chulia. Thank you Naz for the lovely stay and I'll def be back when I visit Penang again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandGeorge Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dreamcatcher Travelers Refuge
Which popular attractions are close to Dreamcatcher Travelers Refuge?
Nearby attractions include Pinang Peranakan Mansion (0.4 km), Street Art in George Town (0.2 km), and Asia Camera Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dreamcatcher Travelers Refuge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Dreamcatcher Travelers Refuge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Dreamcatcher Travelers Refuge?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dreamcatcher Travelers Refuge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cheang Kee, Salsas Penang, and The Loft - Love Lane.
Does Dreamcatcher Travelers Refuge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Dreamcatcher Travelers Refuge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dreamcatcher Travelers Refuge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to Dreamcatcher Travelers Refuge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting George Town (0.4 km), Armenian Street (0.4 km), and Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion (0.4 km).