We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
See the most recent reviews
Showing 319: English reviews
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Located in a strategic place, not to far (about 10 minutes) from KK airport, and in the opposite of Imago Shopping Mall. The room is spacious, comfortable, clean and quite. Breakfast is good, with many variance item of food & bread, this breakfast place rather crowded with tourist. Staff & receptionist helpful & friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timmy_Tjondro
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Timmy_Tjondro, It was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities, as well as the services provided by our dedicated team members. We have shared your comments with our teams, and they...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 24 October 2016

stay here for 3 nights. the room was good with clean toilet. I like their breakfast buffet. location wise was good too. about 10minutes to KK water front. the pool area was clean too. recommended for family with small kids.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbak85
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear sbak85, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! We are indeed delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us and appreciated the overall facilities at the hotel and most of all, the unparalleled level of service and hospitality provided by our hardworking team. We look forward to your next stay and sincerely...

Brunei Darussalam
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Convenient location for those travelling with own car. good access to city centre and airport. Breakfast is rather crowded with tourists mostly from China the few times we stayed there. So most of the time, we choose to have breakfast outside hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freddie T
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Freddie T, It was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience. Thank you again for sharing...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights, the bedroom was nice but the bathroom and bedroom floor was dirty, the soap dish has obviously been used as an ash tray and hadn't been washed and there was mould in the shower. We were given only one towel and one pair of slippers and no gowns for the both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank becw647
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear becw647, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that you were pleased with your comfortable room, our attentive & friendly staff, our diversified culinary fares, and our complimentary WiFi access. We, at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu ensures that all valued guests received...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Ming Garden is situated near to KK International Airport. It is just opposite Imago Shopping Mall, the newest and largest mall in KK for now. However, there is no pedestrian link unless you walk a distance to the traffic junction which is just beneath the coastal highway. They provide shuttle services but it only covers certain points which is Centrepoint,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swee L
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Swee L, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, KK! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. The location of our hotel is a main concern to most of our guests and we apologize sincerely should this caused you inconvenience during your stay. To...

Johor, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2d1n for a short break. The hotel room is great, we are satisfied with the view and cleanliness. Various of breakfast choices, and the staff were very helpful to arrange the table for us (5 adults & 1 kids) Swimming pool is located at Level 4, changing room and towel collection counter is just beside the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianaMHGhazie
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear DianaMHGhazie, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. We are happy to know that you had a great stay with us and that you were pleased with your clean & spacious room, breakfast selections, and our large...

Malaysia
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised . It is one of the new Chinese hotels coming up all over the world . Plus points ; Check in was a breeze and was very pleasant . Many lifts to access to the rooms Rooms are nice , big and spacious . All are good working condition Room service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMalaysian
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear TravellingMalaysian, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and satisfactory stay with us and appreciated the overall facilities at the hotel and most of all, the unparalleled level of service and hospitality provided by our hardworking team. We've taken note on some of the concerns being raised...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Room: Spacious,adequate lighting, air-condition was ok, bed and pillow comfortable. Bathroom : Adequate toiletries so is good, shower is separated so is good as the floor is not all wet. No bathtub if you like one. Corners of the floor below the sink are slightly stained so not sure because of age or just not clean properly. Location: Opposite two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SharineC
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear SharineC, Warm greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience. We are delighted to read that you are overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and services. Thank you...

Reviewed 16 September 2016

Asked for a bowl send to the room. Bowl came with sharp edges I mean broken edges on one side. Called them again asking to change the bowl. They answered just use that bowl. That's the last bowl they have. I can guarantee it's a lie!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren T
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Darren T, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay. On behalf of the entire team I would like to apologize that your experience was not all that it could have been. We try very hard to ensure guest comfort and appreciate valuable feedback...

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We had booked and paid full for 3 units of promenade service apartment. When we had checking to the hotel. Discovered the hotel was so filthy and nasty. So we had no choice have to move to Ming hotel without any refund from promenade service apartment. Ming hotel has good service. Hotel is nice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle l
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, It was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities, as well as the services provided by our dedicated team members. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to...

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (199)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
2.7 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,101 reviews
1.0 km away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#16 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
1,904 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
553 reviews
2.1 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Address: Lorong Ming | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: RM209 - RM369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Orbitz so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floor to see the view surrounding hotel Check some website before book, different website has different promo (Traveloka, Agoda, etc)”
 of 5 bubbles 134evatan, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Premier experience highly recommended”
 of 5 bubbles 205ar, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Junior suite is a better size.”
 of 5 bubbles debwhatley, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the 10th floor, which is the club floor and it was worth the extra few dollars.”
 of 5 bubbles Richie1010, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms, not the apartment suites”
 of 5 bubbles attw, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay